We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful place for all the family”
other travelers have booked this property
The Old Rectory
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Rectory
Looking into Rectory Cottage front door and patio Kitchen in Rectory Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
The Old Rectory
Looking into Rectory Cottage front door and patio
Kitchen in Rectory Cottage
KItchen in Rectory Cottage
Looking into Kitchen/Sitting Room of Rectory Cottage
Sitting Room in Rectory Cottage
Bedroom 1 in Rectory Cottage
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1 and en-suite bathroom
Bathroom in Rectory Cottage
Bedroom 2
Looking into Rectory Cottage patio
Patio
The garden in bloom
Enter a caption for your photo
View towards the River Usk
Peppa enjoying the view towards the River Usk
Collecting eggs
Sunrise view to the River Usk
A frosty morning at the River Usk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire, South Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CoffeeSee...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful place for all the family”
Reviewed September 18, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cottage with everything you could need. Great countryside location, Spotlessly clean, with really welcoming hosts in Kate and Liz.

The garden and house feel very safe & secure safe. Our kids had so much fun in the large fenced off & secure garden which had a trampolene, goal posts and a fun trip wire.

In keeping with the whole set up even the animals (2 Dogs a cat & several chickens).are happy and playful.

Would return again without a thaught. Thank you so much Liz & Kate.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The secure gardens and happy animals roaming around
Liked least: Nothing at all
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lahanddh
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A gem of a find - comfortable, tranquil and wonderful hosts.”
Reviewed September 16, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We spent 3 nights at the cottage and cannot wait to return. Liz, Kate and all the family made us most welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Set on the edge of a small hamlet with far reaching views and a field between the Rectory and the River Usk where you can walk freely, this was a real home from home. Plenty of room for us as 2 adults and 2 large dogs there is everything you could need to make your stay comfortable with a touch of luxury such as the king size bed which was a dream (or was it due to all the walking and climbing?!?!) The home made bread, fresh eggs, milk and personal welcome were all greatly appreciated and Liz even went out of her way to return an item we had left behind by driving the few miles to the Pub she had recommended for lunch on our departure - so thoughtful. Situated close to marvelous walks, world renowned eateries and local towns I don't believe you can get much better than this. Besides obvious reasons we also chose to stay here as it offered WifI, mobile signal and freeview t.v. all of which worked well. I can think of no negatives but so many positives for staying here, am I spouting? most certainly but I honestly feel our experience couldn't have been bettered!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Situation
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B
Richmond, United Kingdom
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic holiday cottage in the perfect location.”
Reviewed September 4, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We are just back from spending a couple of nights at Rectory Cottage, and wish we could have stayed for longer. Our 2 boys (7 and 5) loved the trampoline and zip slide in the garden, and had a great time with the chickens, cats and especially Pepper the dog, they are already asking us when we can go back! The cottage is beautifully finished and has everything you could need for a very relaxing holiday. The walks from the cottage along the River Usk are amazing and we spent ages just skimming stones in the river. We are now planning our next trip back there... but will be staying for longer next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high quality finish of the cottage and the beautiful setting.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael J
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage with outstanding hospitality”
Reviewed August 23, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We were given a very warm welcome by Liz and her family on our arrival to the cottage. Awaiting us was a welcome basket with homemade bread and fresh eggs (which were delicious). The cottage was very clean, modern and cosy. Everything was provided for us. A very exceptional cottage, the best we've stayed in by far! The location was perfect, very quiet but only about 10 minutes away from the bustling town of Abergavenny. We enjoyed walking in the fields and by the river and the local walk up Sugar Loaf Mountain was a real treat. Our son loved the family dogs, cat and especially feeding the chickens and collecting their eggs. We also enjoyed the impromtu invitation to the 'Star gazing night' at the Rectory which was fascinating! Overall a thoroughly enjoyable stay and a lovely family. Would highly recommend the cottage and thanks again to the family for making us so welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage overall and location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob D
1 review
“Excellent village escape”
Reviewed June 28, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We had a very welcoming basket of eggs and home made bread on arrival which was a nice touch. The place was very clean with a well equipped kitchen. The ensuite bathroom was very large, the bath luxuriously big, and there was plenty of room for our small family. The location was exactly what we wanted - remote and peaceful. The only slight disappointment was there was no view from the place. I would stay there again!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and we look forward to having you all to stay with us again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frances W
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely walks and lovely accommodation!!”
Reviewed June 6, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Lovely accommodation, had everything we needed. Very tastefully decorated and furnished. Spotlessly clean. Kate and Liz made us very welcome, the freshly laid eggs and home made bread were delicious. Used as a base whilst completing on a purchase of a property in the area, and will definitely recommend to friends and family. Thank you for a lovely four days!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 27, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and we are so glad you completed on the house!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron C
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a nice place”
Reviewed May 19, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We had this lovely cottage/annex flat for two nights and were impressed by the quality of the facilities and fresh bread/eggs. Great location next to river Usk. The owner's dog is super friendly. My dog also had a great time staying there. Highly recommend for people travelling with a dog.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: no pub nearby
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing