We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful cottage with outstanding hospitality”
other travelers have booked this property
The Old Rectory
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Rectory
Looking into Rectory Cottage front door and patio Kitchen in Rectory Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
The Old Rectory
Looking into Rectory Cottage front door and patio
Kitchen in Rectory Cottage
KItchen in Rectory Cottage
Looking into Kitchen/Sitting Room of Rectory Cottage
Sitting Room in Rectory Cottage
Bedroom 1 in Rectory Cottage
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1 and en-suite bathroom
Bathroom in Rectory Cottage
Bedroom 2
Looking into Rectory Cottage patio
Patio
The garden in bloom
Enter a caption for your photo
View towards the River Usk
Peppa enjoying the view towards the River Usk
Collecting eggs
Sunrise view to the River Usk
A frosty morning at the River Usk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire, South Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Michael J
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage with outstanding hospitality”
Reviewed August 23, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We were given a very warm welcome by Liz and her family on our arrival to the cottage. Awaiting us was a welcome basket with homemade bread and fresh eggs (which were delicious). The cottage was very clean, modern and cosy. Everything was provided for us. A very exceptional cottage, the best we've stayed in by far! The location was perfect, very quiet but only about 10 minutes away from the bustling town of Abergavenny. We enjoyed walking in the fields and by the river and the local walk up Sugar Loaf Mountain was a real treat. Our son loved the family dogs, cat and especially feeding the chickens and collecting their eggs. We also enjoyed the impromtu invitation to the 'Star gazing night' at the Rectory which was fascinating! Overall a thoroughly enjoyable stay and a lovely family. Would highly recommend the cottage and thanks again to the family for making us so welcome.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage overall and location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob D
1 review
“Excellent village escape”
Reviewed June 28, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We had a very welcoming basket of eggs and home made bread on arrival which was a nice touch. The place was very clean with a well equipped kitchen. The ensuite bathroom was very large, the bath luxuriously big, and there was plenty of room for our small family. The location was exactly what we wanted - remote and peaceful. The only slight disappointment was there was no view from the place. I would stay there again!

Date of stay: June 2014
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and we look forward to having you all to stay with us again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frances W
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely walks and lovely accommodation!!”
Reviewed June 6, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Lovely accommodation, had everything we needed. Very tastefully decorated and furnished. Spotlessly clean. Kate and Liz made us very welcome, the freshly laid eggs and home made bread were delicious. Used as a base whilst completing on a purchase of a property in the area, and will definitely recommend to friends and family. Thank you for a lovely four days!!!

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 27, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and we are so glad you completed on the house!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron C
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a nice place”
Reviewed May 19, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We had this lovely cottage/annex flat for two nights and were impressed by the quality of the facilities and fresh bread/eggs. Great location next to river Usk. The owner's dog is super friendly. My dog also had a great time staying there. Highly recommend for people travelling with a dog.

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: no pub nearby
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ainsa59
Stockton-on-tees, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“High standard cottage in lovely secluded spot”
Reviewed May 16, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at rectory cottage for a weekend whilst visiting family in Wales. Fantastic little cottage for an escape. The cottage is spotlessly clean with all modern facilities with a very high standard of finish. The cottage maybe small but is laid out really well and there was ample space for two adults and our teenage daughter. The little enclosed courtyard was perfect for our little dog and fantastic quiet country lanes for walking. Thank you for the home baked bread and free range eggs on arrival.

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JA392014
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a find!”
Reviewed April 20, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We have just come back from a fantastic stay at The Old Rectory Cottage. The area is just beautiful, stunning countryside, with a lovely little church next door and small farm nearby - picture postcard and very peaceful. The cottage itself is spotless, beautifully done and very cosy. The bread, eggs and milk on our arrival was a lovely touch. Our 3 children (6yrs, 2yrs and 11mnths) had the best time and our eldest was very sad indeed to leave, as were we all. We had a very quiet car journey home! The kids loved the garden with the chickens, the trampoline, a tree swing and more. They loved spotting rabbits in the fields in the morning, the lambs on the farm and the two resident dogs were a huge hit.

But the main reason our stay was so memorable .. the lovely owners. Liz, Kate and the kids were incredibly welcoming and kind.

Highly recommend

Date of stay: April 2014
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maya D
Kortemark, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Rural Idyll”
Reviewed September 27, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We stayed at Rectory Cottage for the first two weeks of September and were made to feel extremely welcome by Kate and Liz, who very kindly supplied us with a welcome basket of freshly laid eggs and home made bread upon arrival. The cottage itself was spacious and immaculately clean and our little Yorkshire terrier relished the opportunity to play with Liz's dog Pepper. The cottage itself was well stocked with pots, pans and utensils, and I very much appreciated the soothing bubble bath - being 7 months pregnant at the time, it was sheer bliss to wallow in such luxury - thank you so much Liz! :)

I celebrated my 30th birthday during our stay and Kate and Liz gave me a little bag of goodies and a beautiful card, which was so very sweet of them both. Thank you both again.

My husband and I received some very sad news during our stay. Both Kate and Liz were wonderful, so supportive and helpful. We were very grateful to have them on hand and we greatly appreciated Liz's extra treat of freshly baked bread. We are both very moved by the amount of kindness and generosity that Liz and Kate showed us during our stay and we will, without doubt, keep in touch. We will definitely be returning, the location is stunning and the cottage itself is perfect. Thank you both so much for letting us stay in your beautiful cottage.

Maya and Gert x

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the scenery, the kindess and generosity of the owners.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. It was lovely to meet you both and we hope very much you will return. We can't wait to hear news of the addition to your family. With very best wishes, Kate and Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing