We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great property in a very quite location which has...”
other travelers have booked this property
The Old Rectory
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Rectory
Looking into Rectory Cottage front door and patio Kitchen in Rectory Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
The Old Rectory
Looking into Rectory Cottage front door and patio
Kitchen in Rectory Cottage
KItchen in Rectory Cottage
Looking into Kitchen/Sitting Room of Rectory Cottage
Sitting Room in Rectory Cottage
Bedroom 1 in Rectory Cottage
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1 and en-suite bathroom
Bathroom in Rectory Cottage
Bedroom 2
Looking into Rectory Cottage patio
Patio
The garden in bloom
Enter a caption for your photo
View towards the River Usk
Peppa enjoying the view towards the River Usk
Collecting eggs
Sunrise view to the River Usk
A frosty morning at the River Usk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire, South Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PGH28
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Great property in a very quite location which has easy access to "A" roads nearby.”
Reviewed June 18, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Vicki and I spent two nights in the cottage, along with her brother Geoffrey. Facilities are excellent and we had milk, bread and eggs (fresh laid by Kate's chickens) provided when we arrived. This is a great location and we were able get to the Brecon Beacons in less than 30 minutes. Strongly recommended and we will try and stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Facilities and location
Liked least: Stay was too short!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind words - it was lovely to meet you and hope the rest of your trip in the UK and France will be good.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rin S
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Step out of the rat race and into rural R&R”
Reviewed May 2, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

What an incredible place to stop and unwind! Rectory Cottage is absolutely gorgeous, and full of everything you could need for a comfortable stay in the country - TV, cooking facilities, comfy sofa, and even a selection of DVDs and board games to keep you entertained. Of course, it is the surrounding countryside that really sells this place and we so enjoyed walking through the fields - just at the right time of year to watch the baby lambs gambolling! - and down by the river, skimming stones and just enjoying the sheer beauty of nature. We weren't able to stay at Rectory Cottage long, but it was just the break we needed from our busy lives and we'd love to come back as soon as we can - not least to say hi to Liz and Kate and the boys, who are such lovely hosts: friendly, welcoming and with a genuine desire to make your stay a great one. Highly recommended all round.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Gorgeous countryside surroundings
Liked least: Not being able to stay for long enough!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 7, 2013
Thank you so much, what a wonderful review that makes us feel we must be doing something right! Please come again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 2, 2013 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting and facilities
Liked least: The holiday flat met all expectations
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 7, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, I do hope you can return soon.
Kate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sarah B
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful accomodation in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed April 22, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

The accomodation is an extended buiding off the main house at the end of a lane leading onto fields and the River Usk. The owners were very friendly and provided a lovely welcome basket including fresh eggs from their own chickens (delicious!) and home baked bread. The place is fresh, clean and beautifully decorated and accessorised. The kitchen is very well equipped - we cooked in each night and found everything we needed and more... Beds were comfy, it was always warm and the shower was just fabulous. We had a dog with us and we found this a great location for her - she could safely play in the garden and really enjoyed all the various walks we did in the area. We will have to return to do all the ones we did not have time for. This was certainly one of the best places we have ever stayed! NB the photo showing on the site is of the front of the owner's house - not the accomodation - this is out the back and on one level.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall comfort and home from home feeling of the place
Liked least: could not get Vodaphone signal
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 7, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, we do hope you will return again.
Kate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 20, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments. We hope to see you again soon!
Kate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Birry1
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A beautiful setting and lovely hosts”
Reviewed April 16, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at rectory cottage. It was well stocked with all the 'home from home' comforts and the little 'extras', like eggs from the resident chickens, were a welcome treat! Our six year old son thoroughly enjoyed the freedom of the secure garden and play equipment. He was particularly taken with all the animals running about too! We were very lucky with the weather and had lots of walks along the Usk close to the house. We were made to feel very welcome and thoroughly recommend a stay with Kate and her family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely area and facilities in the cottage
Liked least: We couldn't stay longer!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 17, 2013
Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We thoroughly enjoyed having you to stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon! Kate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayneh363
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A perfect Easter getaway”
Reviewed April 2, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We were warmly greeted on our arrival at Rectory Cottage by Kate Potts the owner...
We instantly felt right at home in this peaceful tranquil location!
The cottage has been furnished and decorated to a high standard and everything has been thought through!
Our two young sons were very impressed with the variety of books, games and DVD.s provided.
The fresh eggs, home baked bread and milk were a very welcomed extra touch after a long slow journey on the M4... The only small thing I was a little disappointed with was the view but that said everything else was perfect and wonderful!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All the little extras that Kate had thought of to make our stay wonderful
Liked least: Couldn't really see a view from the accommodation as such but a few moments down the lane you could
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 7, 2013
Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again.
Kate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing