We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
The Shepherds Cottage with patio in front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Shepherds Cottage with patio in front
You will never tire of the view View of the Skirrid
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
The Shepherds Cottage with patio in front
You will never tire of the view
View of the Skirrid
Lounge and stable door
Lounge and dining area
Cottage and view, barbeque and chimnea
View of the Skirrid
View through the window, forever changing
Winter wonderland, full central heating
Kitchen, micro wave, full size cooker, dish washer, washing m/c, coffee maker, the lot
Sunrise over Skirrid, always different
Mezzanine bedroom, double or twin beds
View of the lounge from the Mezzanine, modern TV, DVD player
Lounge and wood burner
Approach to the shepherds cottage
Relax on the patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire, South Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LouiseMas...
Fareham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed April 16, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Stayed for three nights with our two dogs. This cozy cottage is well equipped and comfortable. we couldn’t have wised to be in a better location. High up to see the beautiful views with amazing walks on the doorstep and close enough to the town if we needed anything. Didn’t want to leave!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 17, 2018
Thank you Louise - we really hope you come back to visit another time and hope we can do a little better on the weather front, one good day out of three isn't up to our usual standard!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gabs26
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pet friendly, charming stone Cottage stunning views.”
Reviewed April 1, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

What an amazing find, very welcoming hosts who could not do enough for us.
The Cottage is very well equipped with log burner and central heating, spotlessly clean!
On the edge of the woods convenient for walking and hiking locally or exploring the Brecon Beacons. Our dog absolutely loved it there.
The views are to die for especially in the morning when watching the sunrise.
Very much looking forward to going back soon!
Thank you to Sandra and Chris.
Gaby & Richard and Ollie

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 2, 2018
Thank you for the lovely review - it was a pleasure to meet you both and Olly, and we look forward to seeing you when you next visit the area
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 4, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2017
Thank you for the great review - it was a pleasure to meet you and I hope you will be able to return to see us sometime soon.
Sandra
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Heather R
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“very disappointed”
Reviewed April 23, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Lovely setting and great views from the cottage.The location is good for visiting Brecon Beacon area: a local canal trip from Brecon, a walk and watch the boats at the cafe at Goyre Wharf and walks on Sugar Loaf .We also had days out to Aberfan( visit the site of the 1966 disaster- very moving), Cardiff, Portcawl, Barry Island( Gavin and Stacy) and down The Rhodda Valley ( visit Tom Jones birth place) with its rows and rows of former mining houses on the steep valley hillsides all the way down the valley.
Abervagenny itself has much to offer with its Castle Gardens and Linda Vista, local shops, supermarkets and eateries of all kinds.
However, cute and clean with comfy bed as the cottage is, we were without running hot water and no central heating for over a week of our 2 week stay.
This meant we had to make up the log burner nightly after a day out if we wanted warmth in the cottage in the evening( log burners do not give out instant heat and will take over an hour to even to start to warm a room) No running hot water meant boiling the kettle for a wash or to clean dirty dishes. We did this for over a week!
Personally I found the owners ( Chris) attitude very blase and uncaring, even indifferent.
We were not even offered any real apology or recompense for the inconvenience or lack of basic services that we had expected and paid for. Overall very poor client service and sadly disappointing.
We would certainly visit the area again but would not risk staying at the cottage again

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 23, 2017
Ah Heather, what can I say. We can only apologise profusely for an unfortunate run of events. Having had to have our two much loved donkeys put down that week we probably took our eye off the ball. We ran out of heating oil – new tank and inaccurate measuring -and rang for oil immediately we found out but it was Good Friday, so no-one was available to talk to until Tuesday when they were less than helpful and we are still waiting. We spoke to you both several times, apologising and offering you the house facilities to use but you reassured us that the shower was still working, the dishwasher was available and that you could manage fine. You had also told us that you had switched the heating off early in your stay as you didn’t like it too warm and we honestly believed it wasn’t a problem for you, especially in view of the warmer weather we were having. Chris would happily have lit the fire for you each day which would have helped a little if only you had said.
As I have my leg in plaster I was not able to offer any help – which was quite frustrating for me. The low rating you have given us has taken us completely by surprise – we pride ourselves on service and always try and go the extra mile to help our guests. At no time did you indicate that you were so dissatisfied despite talking to us on a daily basis. We haven’t had anyone stay with a cat before and were very pleased that that side of things seemed to go well.
Please come again, when we will ensure everything will be spot on.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happybisc...
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The most perfect cottage to escape to”
Reviewed December 1, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

I don't know where to start - the cottage is chocolate box beautiful and the views are so stunning. Waking up every morning and being able to gaze across the valley was a perfect remedy to my usual morning view of bumper to bumper traffic on the M25.
We stayed for a week and I could have stayed for longer. Even when it was raining we felt cosy and warm inside the cottage.
The kitchen is well equipped and we prepared meals there most nights. It is only a few minutes drive to the town or you can enjoy the much nicer walk along some of the footpaths. If you like walking and being outside like we do then it is perfectly located and just a stone’s throw from a footpath that takes you towards Sugarloaf Mountain.

Chris and Sandra (and Jack of course) are really wonderful hosts and made us feel at home. They know the area well so it’s worth getting tips on places to visit (we really enjoyed going to Big Pit).
The drive to the house is a little steep, but I had no problems in my hatchback (and I am a nervous driver). Just take it steady! The view is worth it!
Many of my friends thought I was a bit mad to visit Wales in late November, but we have no regrets. Thank you Chris and Sandra for being so lovely! I hope we can return to visit you next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The rain
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 1, 2016
It gives us great pleasure when guests appreciate our little cottage - the adage "arrive as guests and depart as friends" seems appropriate. See you next year hopefully
Sandra
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
83spargo
Abbotsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent - Lovely place, Lovely people”
Reviewed November 6, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Cosy cottage, with wonderful views. Nice and warm in November, and the cottage is very well equipped.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 6, 2016
Thank you Alan, it was good to meet you both. Hope you managed to get your Dad's house sorted successfully and we look forward to seeing you another time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable, well equipped cottage in a stunning location.”
Reviewed July 20, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage has all that is required for a short stay. It's well equipped with all mod cons and is set in a stunning landscape. The market town of Abergavenny is a short distance away, albeit down a steep hill.

The cottage is within easy drive of several tourist attractions and for the more energetic and mobile traveller, a short but energetic walk through the woods at the rear of the cottage reveals breathtaking views of the Brecon Beacons.

The owners were friendly, attentive and helpful whilst not being intrusive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort, scenery
Liked least: Steep hill
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 21, 2016
Thank you Graham for your complimentary review and also for the wonderful aerial photos you took . Hope to see you again
Sandra
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing