We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and service”
Review of The Lamb & Flag

The Lamb & Flag
Ranked #21 of 102 Restaurants in Abergavenny
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Enjoy great food and accommodation against the stunning backdrop of the Brecon Beacons National Park
Cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

When we visited we had our dog with us so we had to sit out on terrace area which was a bit chilly, but on the plus side had a fantastic view. The food was good -there was plenty of choice - and out meals were very tasty when they arrived. The service was swift and friendly although we visited outside the main lunch hour "rush".

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pardrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Lamb & Flag, responded to this review, June 19, 2017
Thank you for your feedback here on TripAdvisor.

We are now regularly monitoring this site for customer feedback and thank you for taking the time to leave us this review previously.

We look forward to welcoming you back to give us another try and feel free to let us know what you thought.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    110
    48
    29
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely but starting to go slightly downhill”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I am a regular at the Lamb, it has a lovely atmosphere and good food (some of the best steak I have ever had). The outdoor seating is lovely with a stunning view. I usually go 7/8 times a year but sadly in the last year the service has gone slightly downhill.

Food is brilliant, drink is brilliant, interior is brilliant but staff are less than OK

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reenie90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Lamb & Flag, responded to this review, June 19, 2017
Thank you for your feedback here on TripAdvisor.

We are now regularly monitoring this site for customer feedback and thank you for taking the time to leave us this review previously.

We look forward to welcoming you back to give us another try and feel free to let us know what you thought.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abertillery, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely food service can be poor”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

On my first visit here was last summer, we selected a table outside as it was a lovely day, ordered drinks and was told there was an hour wait for food, which was fine we had all evening. On selecting our food about 10 minutes after drinks we was told at the bar that they was not taking orders which was annoying so we left and went to The Bayleaf Indian restaurant in Abergavenny town, on my second attempt at visiting the lamb and flag was a more positive occasion we arrived at 1pm and was told food may take an hour as there was a function going on which we was happy with, within half an hour we had our starter king prawn and calamari which was lovely so was the mains, good service this time and will try again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Lamb & Flag, responded to this review, June 19, 2017
Thank you for your feedback here on TripAdvisor.

We are now regularly monitoring this site for customer feedback and thank you for taking the time to leave us this review previously.

We look forward to welcoming you back to give us another try and feel free to let us know what you thought.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quality Food! ”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We came here as a party of 12. There were already a party of 15 + the pub was full anyway, so the staff were pushed beyond their limits yet still provided quality service, the food was great, top notch pub food borderline resturant food. Friendly atmosphere, Friendly staff. Will definitely be going there more often!

Helpful?
Thank studmonkey92
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
, Manager at The Lamb & Flag, responded to this review, June 19, 2017
Thank you for your feedback here on TripAdvisor.

We are now regularly monitoring this site for customer feedback and thank you for taking the time to leave us this review previously.

We look forward to welcoming you back to give us another try and feel free to let us know what you thought.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch in the Welsh Valley's”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Booked in with 3 adults, you young men and a toddler...... We were greeted with cheer and smiles and made to feel at home even though they were very very busy. The staff were very attentive but not pushy to get the orders taken. Two Roast Beefs and a Roast Chicken with a field of potato's and medium sized veg patch. 2 steak and Ale pie's and chips and Popcorn Chicken and Chips for Lucy and we were set. There was enough to go around and them some and with two hungry boys to feed and eat like lions it was a great meal. The play area for the little on was great and well thought out.

Great value for money with the meals and drinks we had.

Great service

Highly recommended

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy6026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Lamb & Flag, responded to this review, June 19, 2017
Thank you for your feedback here on TripAdvisor.

We are now regularly monitoring this site for customer feedback and thank you for taking the time to leave us this review previously.

We look forward to welcoming you back to give us another try and feel free to let us know what you thought.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lamb & Flag also viewed

Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 

Been to The Lamb & Flag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing