We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value”
Review of The Plas Derwen

The Plas Derwen
Ranked #32 of 101 Restaurants in Abergavenny
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Usk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We dropped in for a light lunch on the way to a party. A warm and friendly welcome and also a nice warm restaurant with log fires in the bar and minimal but adequate Xmas decorations. The service was good and unhurried, the food well presented and of ample portions. As a Brain's pub there was a selection of real ales. On leaving we were given two vouchers for BYGOF so we will definitely be back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    56
    21
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
mountain ash
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“lovely sunday lunch”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

came across this on the way to hereford, just turned up the abergaveny rd, looks lovely on the outside and even nicer on the inside, log fire burning, they had games in a room for children, we had the sunday lucnch, roast beef and roast pork with potatoes and large yorkshire pudding on the plate, they then bring you a bowl with 3 vegatables and more gravy, looked and tasted lovely.Didn't have a starter or desert so unable to comment on that....

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran
Level Contributor
212 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A good Pre Theatre Choice”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We recently visited the Plas Derwen for the first time and were pleasantly surprised. The restaurant was inviting and the staff very attentive and helpful. There was plenty of choice both from the A la Carte menu and the specials board and although we had only arrived at 6.00 p.m. and our theatre visit was to be at 7.30 p.m., we had a 2-course meal with drinks and coffee in plenty of time and at a reasonable price too. We are revisiting with our family in the near future for Sunday lunch.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Belpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 516 helpful votes
“Steak night”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The Plas Derwen has recently been redecorated and it looks much better. It is famous as a carvery but we tried their 2 steaks and a bottle of wine offer recently and I can recommend it as great value.We had a great night and we will return

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanddulas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Up Market Pub with Ideas of Grandeur”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Menu is dictated by Brain's Breweries but is interpretted with little imagination. Prices generally seem inflated for what is fairly ordinary fare. Pub has large restaurant area which is very comfortable; service can be slow and inattentive. Most times that I've taken friends there the place has been pretty empty. Draw your own conclusions!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank pdcmcnab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plas Derwen also viewed

Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 
Chepstow, Monmouthshire
 
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 

Been to The Plas Derwen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing