We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Llansantffraed Court
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Abergavenny
Certificate of Excellence
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect Wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We got married here in April. All I can say is - perfect!

The wedding coordinator, Lauren, deserves a special mention. She literally did EVERYTHING for me, and I had no stress on the run up to the day. The service was perfect, the venue itself is stunning, the rooms are beautiful and the good - WOW!!
Our guests still comment on how good the food was to this day, with many saying it was the best wedding food they've had :)

Perfect venue for the perfect day. We regularly return for evening meals and get treated like old friends which is amazing :) deserved 5 stars!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraBrosnanJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    121
    51
    23
    11
See reviews for
74
289
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Great value for money as Travelzoo deal for B&B included 7 course set taster meal for us both and would have paid almost the same for just B&B at The Angel. Staff couldn't have been more helpful and made us feel much more special than The Angel in Abergavenny.
Overall, a really lovely stay and would certainly recommend for the price we paid.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are nice. Stayed in room 19 a big corner room on the back with walk in shower rather th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snowflake3465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Llansantffraed Court is a hidden gem of a country hotel in rural Monmouthshire that deserves more culinary recognition. Over the past two years, the restaurant has changed hands and the kitchen is now made up of part of the team that made The Crown at Whitebrook so successful.

My meal of pigeon, sea bass and panna cotta was perfectly executed and the bread and amuse bouche left me feeling incredibly full and satisfied. This was washed down with a bottle of Saurus, a fantastic, Argentinian pinot noir. The service was faultless, our waitress was very attentive and the restaurant manager was able to give us real insight into the wine list and menu. The meal was also very reasonably priced in comparison with some of the more well known restaurants nearby.

In summary; for locally sourced, well presented food, in a beautiful setting with fab service, go to Llansantffraed Court!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Will D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

This was a birthday surprise - the taster menu was superb and the hotel stay matched it equally, the helpful and knowledgeable staff only added to the experience. Thoroughly recommend this Hotel Restaurant

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Its the second time that I have taken my staff to Llansantffraed for a Christmas Party and we will not contemplate going anywhere else. The evening was well organised, had a great atmosphere and we were all made made to feel very welcome. Lauren, the event manager, organises you and ensures that everything runs perfectly and her attention to you and your party is echoed by her staff. The staff were excellent and manage to provide a very high level of service whilst also making you feel very relaxed. The food was cooked to perfection and I agree with other reviews, you will not find better in the area. This is some feat when you are cooking for around 40 people and serving them all at once.

The experience begins as you drive up to the building and does not stop until you leave. If you havent paid Llansantffraed Court a visit then I would urge you to as you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirsten J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

We booked this place for one night on a special package that included a taster menu. This was a great find by brother in law.
This place is set in a beautiful location with only 18 rooms or so. The staff were extremely friendly. The restaurant boasts fine cuisine and a chef from a Michelin star restaurant. This was a little disappointing however should not be take as a reason not to visit as I am nit picking and a bit of a food critic.
The only thing I will say (and u hope the chef is reading this so as to take this as constructive feedback)
Course 2, was a cauliflower dish (done some 3 ways). However, there was very little florets on the plate. Almost worth not having at all. The whole dish was pretty bland given it was approx one bites worth
Course 3 was.pumpkin, goats cheese, and walnuts for crunch. This was tasty but then course 4 was a tower of vegetable with goats cheese and walnuts again. This was disappointing given it was almost a repeat. All dishes were well presented and very pretty, but the taste was just not there as well as courses being very similar. This was my only complaint. Hopefully the chef will take not of this and improve on this for the next set of vegetarians.

I would definitely go here again. Hopefully in the summer so we could enjoy more of the grounds.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rk888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We chose Llansantffraed for our November wedding after visiting several venues in South Wales. It really stood out from the bunch for several reasons - the staff were very professional but also friendly and welcoming, the food was top quality, the location we thought would look beautiful in autumn (it did), and we liked the idea of having the whole place to ourselves. I loved the place so much that I returned by myself to spend another night there during the wedding planning and once again sample their marvellous restaurant.

Staff: I can't think of a hotel with nicer staff. The dedicated wedding coordinator, Lauren, was a delight to work with. I was planning this wedding in just a few months, from another country, and was always sure that I could rely on her to answer any queries promptly. She is has a wealth of experience and an eye for detail, and thought of several things that hadn't even crossed my mind. Nothing seemed like too much trouble either. Lauren had already planned some leave which overlapped the date of our wedding but left us in the extremely capable hands of Charlott, who we had already met during our previous visit. We knew Charlott would be great on the day and indeed she was amazing, as was the whole team. We felt like we could relax and leave everything up to her, we were never troubled by details, any issues that arose were dealt with without fuss and with a smile.

Venue: The main suite is one large room flanked by two smaller areas with 3 large doors dividing them that open up completely. Someone looking for one large open room might not like it, but for us it was great - we could still see everyone but it had a more cosy and intimate feel, and kids could run amok in the side rooms without disturbing the rest. Our wedding guest list was less than 80, and we fit quite comfortably. Marquee hire is available for larger parties. During the room changeover, most of the adults stayed around the reception and bar and we didn't feel squashed as I initially worried that we might be. The grounds are really lovely and ideal for photos. There is plenty of parking available.

Accommodation: We've now sampled two different rooms - an Executive Double and the Raglan Suite. The suite is lovely, with a four-poster bed, views over the lake and a good sized bathroom with double sinks. The electric heater made some noises during the night but I switched it off at the plug, and although you can hear the background music through the floor they stop playing it at a reasonable hour. A previous reviewer complained about an uncovered window, but it is tiny and doesn't overlook anything so it didn't bother us at all. The double room we previously stayed in back in the summer had a double aspect of the surrounding mountains and was clean and comfortable. You should be aware that this is a country house hotel with character, so you might find the odd cracked pane in the old windows and indeed some of the furnishings are not new - but if that really worries you can always go to a soulless chain hotel. Several guests gave us positive comments about their rooms.

Food: We're quite particular about food, and the kitchen at Llansantffraed Court is consistently brilliant. We had dinner the night before the wedding as many guests were travelling from abroad, we were a party of about 28 and everything was fantastic from amuse bouche to dessert. Breakfast is always great with plenty of options from full Welsh cooked to porridge and a continental selection. On the wedding day the food was again excellent. One nice surprise was the portion sizes - larger than the restaurant servings, and they even came around offering extra servings during the main course. I wish I had been hungrier! We had several guests with dietary requirements and they were very well catered for. We chose cheese and charcuterie for the evening buffet which was a great spread of Welsh produce and very well received. So many guests commented on how much they loved the food, including one of the party who is a trained chef, and I'm sure the restaurant has gained a few new customers.

Entertainment: We booked the resident DJ, Darren. He was great. I'd met with him beforehand and he promised me that he wasn't a cheesy wedding DJ. He was right! After our chosen songs, he picked a mix that pleased everyone, young and old. I think some of the guests were reluctant for him to pack up at the end of the night.

Our expectations of Llansantffraed Court as a wedding venue were already pretty high from what we'd experienced before, but they even managed to exceed them. They gave us and our guests a truly memorable day for all the right reasons.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a double aspect. The Raglan Suite (bridal suite) is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DisplacedWelshie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abergavenny
4.3 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
5.8 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
10.3 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Beaufort Arms Hotel
Beaufort Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Raglan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
19.5 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llansantffraed Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llansantffraed Court

Property: Llansantffraed Court
Address: Llanvihangel Gobion, Abergavenny NP7 9BA, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Abergavenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Llansantffraed Court 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning Four Star Country House Hotel, Best Small Restaurant in the National Tourism Awards for Wales 2013, set in 20 acres of landscaped grounds. 21 Individually appointed luxury bedrooms, elegant drawing rooms and lounges, real log fires, traditional afternoon tea, fine wine cellar, an amazing restored victorian walled vegetable garden and breath taking views from every room. Close to the Wye Valley and the Brecon Beacons National Park, just 2 hours from Heathrow and 20 minutes from Junction 24 of the M4. Spoil yourself here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Llansantffraed Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llansantffraed Court Abergavenny, Wales
Llansantffraed Court Hotel Abergavenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing