We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice dinner and afternoon tea.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Llansantffraed Court
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Abergavenny
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
134 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Very nice dinner and afternoon tea.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

My wife arranged a stay here as a surprise for my birthday. We arrived just after lunch on a lovely sunny day and the building and grounds looked lovely as we drove up. After checking in we went to our room (9). It initially looked great (with an excellent view across the lake then over to the hills in the distance) but on closer inspection, as per a few of the previous reviews, we started to notice that things , except the recently done en-suite, were looking a bit tired. An example of this were the lights above the bed which were precariously hanging off the wall. We then went down for afternoon tea which was part of the package. It was really good with an amazing selection of sandwiches, cakes, cookies and scones all served by very friendly staff in the very pleasant lounge. We then went for a long walk around the grounds also taking in the amazing kitchen garden. We spent a very pleasant couple of hours sat in the gardens reading before returning to our rooms to prepare for dinner. Again as part of the package my wife had booked we were looking forward to the seven course tasting menu plus accompanying wine flight. I don't want to give too many details as it would spoil the surprise but the whole experience was amazing. The service was exemplary, the food was fantastic and the wine was brilliantly chosen to match the food. After a great night sleep (the bed was very comfy) we finished of our stay with a very nice breakfast. The array of choices on offer for breakfast was very good. I can't believe that the whole package was just £200, that's £200 for an overnight stay in an en-suite room with a great view plus afternoon tea for two and seven course tasting menu plus accompanying wine flight (five drinks including a sparkling to start and dessert wine to finish) for two plus full breakfast for two!! Amazing value. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Perhaps not room nine
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajk1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    121
    51
    23
    11
See reviews for
74
289
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oswestry
Level Contributor
221 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We are so often disappointed with places where their description promises plenty but they under deliver badly that it’s refreshing to find somewhere that actually over delivers.

This is an old mansion house, set in quite beautiful grounds and well off the main road so wonderfully quiet.

They obviously specialise in weddings, having one most weekends and also some mid-week and as most are with the exclusive use of the hotel a Friday/Saturday stay might be a bit of a problem. We however stayed Sunday to Wednesday and the place was all peace and tranquillity. Sunday we felt like the lord and lady of the manor as we were the only guests and you can imagine the service we received was second to none. The worst we had to ‘put up with’ were three other couples and as they were all delightful people it was really no hardship!

We opted for a dinner bed and breakfast package in the Raglan Suite, actually just a very big room; a suite has at least two rooms, excluding the bathroom, but excellent accommodation none the less. I can understand some of the negative comments on TA regarding the furnishings being ‘old fashioned’ BUT keep in mind it is an OLD house so they are all in keeping with the character of the property, if you want modern glass and plastic go stay at modern hotel! The furniture was clean, tidy and comfortable, what more do you want?

The package price was reasonable and when the quality of the food, the service and hotel in general is taken into account, very good value for money.

Food here, in the evening, is extremely good and anyone who has read many of my other reviews will know, I seldom say this. They have two AA rosettes and are hoping for a third this year, I think they deserve it.

Breakfast is another matter and whilst the component parts are all good, the sausages are not the best but not too bad, the cooking lets the whole down. Sorry, just not up to the standard of dinner but then it was a totally different chef.

Highly recommended for a ‘mid week' stay and we will certainly return for more, in fact we have already booked another ‘chill out’ break.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodieOswestry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We recently visited Llansantffraed Court for my birthday. It was a special occasion so, after enjoying a glass of champagne in the sunny garden, we opted for the tasting menu with the wine flight.

Each course was delicious, well thought out and seasonal. The accompanying wine matched perfectly. The lobster with peas, little gems and Carmarthenshire ham was one of the nicest things I've eaten in a while. Service was friendly and appropriate.

Will definitely go again, the food was as good as the other top restaurants in the area and probably better value.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cymraes_e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We booked the hotel through Travelzoo which included a one night stay, a 7 course tastermenu and breakfast. It was very good value for money. When we initially arrived at the hotel we were very impressed by the grounds and the overall look of the hotel. The staff on arrival were very helpful and accommodating. We stayed in a room overlooking the lake in the grounds. It was a lovely sized room and decorated in keeping with the look of the hotel, however, the bathroom was quite modern but did not look out of place. Could not find any fault with the food or service, Even though it was a taster menu the portions were more than enough and did not leave us feeling hungry afterwards. There was a very good choice at breakfast, cold and cooked, and everything tasted wonderful. Very quiet location and we didnt explore the area outside the hotel so would not be able to comment on whether there's anything to do.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level Contributor
179 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed here with my wife for a birthday treat. Lovely setting and can see why this is a venue of choice for small weddings. The rooms are a little dated with respect the furniture but everything works. I dislike showers in the bath where the shower curtain takes up a third of the space available. A screen or a convex rail just makes having a shower so much easier in my view! That said the soap and shampoo were of top quality. We like to sleep with the windows open and we were plagued by wasps so that did keep us awake a little.
All the staff were so friendly one was made to feel they actually were pleased to see you. Not one member of staff could be faulted and that takes some saying these days.
We had the taster menu which was part of the deal but also included the selected wines with each course. We have had many taster menus all over the country so we were looking forward to this. To this day the taster menu at Le Manoir is my benchmark. In my opinion a taster menu should be about showboating the chef's skills and originality with your senses being tickled, so to speak. This is the only part of the trip that disappointed. The food was cooked perfectly and presented well but lacked that little something to ignite the spark we were looking forward to. In our opinion the chef is a very good chef but not imaginative enough for a taster menu. His selection of wines, however, was the best by a country mile and worth the meal just for this alone.
That said the whole experience was a very good one and I do recommend it. Total cost was £200 for both of us which I consider very good.
Will we return: No. Mainly because I would now have to face the chef !!! (only joking)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nmpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
168 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We attended a wedding reception and then stayed over at the hotel. The venue was a wonderful place to hold such an occasion. The place itself is an old historic country house set in beautiful gardens with a lake and it has fabulous views over to the hills in the west. As the wedding party took over the whole place the evening celebration was like having a fabulous house party. The meal for the wedding reception was excellent as was the room it was held in. The whole event was organised very professionally by the hotel's staff who were obviously very experienced with such events. There was just one problem and that was the gardens were plagued by wasps which although unfortunate was out of the control of the hotel.

Room Tip: check on the wasp situation before leaving your bedroom window open otherwise you run the risk of be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheshiretourist2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouthshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

My husband and I decided to have our anniversary meal at this hotel and were amazed at the quality and attention to detail with the food, the service, the decor and overall home from home hospitality. We run a b and b so know what it takes to put on a good show. Charlott (manageress) delivered most professional table service with a very highly trained team behind her. They were attentive intelligent without being intrusive. We chose the taster menu with pre selected wine for each course and were blown away by the quality and presentation. We could not recommend the experience more highly. An absolute must to any foodies out there!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rupert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abergavenny
4.3 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
5.8 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
10.3 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Beaufort Arms Hotel
Beaufort Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Raglan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
19.5 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llansantffraed Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llansantffraed Court

Property: Llansantffraed Court
Address: Llanvihangel Gobion, Abergavenny NP7 9BA, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Abergavenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Llansantffraed Court 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning Four Star Country House Hotel, Best Small Restaurant in the National Tourism Awards for Wales 2013, set in 20 acres of landscaped grounds. 21 Individually appointed luxury bedrooms, elegant drawing rooms and lounges, real log fires, traditional afternoon tea, fine wine cellar, an amazing restored victorian walled vegetable garden and breath taking views from every room. Close to the Wye Valley and the Brecon Beacons National Park, just 2 hours from Heathrow and 20 minutes from Junction 24 of the M4. Spoil yourself here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Llansantffraed Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llansantffraed Court Abergavenny, Wales
Llansantffraed Court Hotel Abergavenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing