We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely country hotel for an overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Llansantffraed Court
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Abergavenny
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely country hotel for an overnight stay”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The setting of this hotel is truly lovely and picturesque. Perfect for a night away in the country. We also enjoyed the 7-course taster menu which was delicious and great value. The staff at the Llansantffraed Court Hotel were wonderful - very friendly, polite and helpful. Public rooms were also excellent - cosy and homely. We stayed in Room 6 which was quite small and slightly dated, but as we were only staying for one night this was no issue. The bathroom however was divine. It had clearly been recently updated with latest mod cons and was exceptionally clean.

Hotel service, value and overall setting of the hotel are second-to-none. For those reasons alone, I would highly recommend a short stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle201279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    127
    51
    24
    12
See reviews for
78
304
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We have just returned from a two-night stay at Llansantffraed Court, and it is fair to say that we were "wowed". Some friends of ours visited last year, and said that all the common areas were beautiful (which they were), but that the bedroom they were in was a little "tired". We paid for an executive room (No 19), as we really needed the extra large 6 ft bed, and it was absolutely lovely.

We had the taster menu, which was exquisite, and the wines were beautiful. In fact, we were so impressed by the salmon, that we asked where it came from, and as with as much as possible it was very local, so we went the next day to buy some to bring home.

So, the accommodation was lovely, and the food and drink gorgeous, but in the best tradition of saving the best until last, the service was the best we have ever come across in a hotel. It was more like staying with good friends than staff! All the employees were so ready to chat and pass time with us. We arrived the day before my birthday, and mentioned it on our arrival, and the next day, every member of staff we chanced upon wished me a happy birthday - now that is very personal and friendy service!

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a quality stay in South Wales.

My very best wishes to Mike and his wonderful staff. We will be back!!

Heather and Keith.

Room Tip: No 19 has a really nice large bed, and a great view, overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dryllig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Overnight bed and breakfast stay with 7 course taster menu. The food and surroundings are both excellent, the rooms however are starting to look a bit dated. Staff were very friendly, attentive and accommodating. Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for a wedding. All the staff were exceptionally good and friendly. The wedding was lovely including all the common areas. Unfortunately our room was not up to standard for a 4* with broken tv hanging off the wall, bedside lights that didn't work and stained grouting in the bathroom. As we were only staying because of the wedding it didn't matter but if we had gone for a weekend away we would have been very unhappy at the cost as barely 3* standard.

Room Tip: Not rooms 6 or 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Merlot2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Extremely friendly and welcoming hotel. Excellent food with generous servings. Pleasant public rooms. Very good value for money and who cares if there a few signs that redecoration needed here and there. Some might wish extra heating in dining room (not me). Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Floralgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We have just come back from our friends beautiful wedding on Wed (12.12.2012). The hotel was beautiful and the service was fantastic too. Special thanks to Ron and Charlotte who looked after our boys joe and william no end as they were so good with them. Our rooms were lovely and so was the breakfast. If we ever stay up that neck of the woods in future we will definatley stay there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We have just come back from the most incredible weekend of our lives at Llansantffraed Court, we had our wedding and reception there on the 8th of December and it really was the most wonderful venue, highly recommended for any couples looking for the perfect setting for their big day.

Lauren couldn't have been more helpful, always at the end of the phone/e mail in the run-up to the wedding, nothing was too much trouble and I can honestly say we couldn't have coped without her! The day itself was completely perfect, every base was covered and we were able to just relax and enjoy the experience without having to worry about a thing (an absolute blessing given how quickly the day goes!)

Everyone commented on how beautiful the venue was and those guests who stayed the night gave very positive feedback abut their rooms. The food at the reception was faultless, every one of our 100 guests told us how much they enjoyed their meal. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, the entire team at Llansantffraed Court made us feel so welcome. All in all, I can't speak highly enough of this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abergavenny
4.3 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
877 reviews
5.8 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
3.8 mi away
The Beaufort Coaching Inn & Brasserie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crickhowell
584 reviews
9.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
12.3 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llansantffraed Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llansantffraed Court

Property: Llansantffraed Court
Address: Llanvihangel Gobion, Abergavenny NP7 9BA, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Abergavenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Llansantffraed Court 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning Four Star Country House Hotel, Best Small Restaurant in the National Tourism Awards for Wales 2013, set in 20 acres of landscaped grounds. 21 Individually appointed luxury bedrooms, elegant drawing rooms and lounges, real log fires, traditional afternoon tea, fine wine cellar, an amazing restored victorian walled vegetable garden and breath taking views from every room. Close to the Wye Valley and the Brecon Beacons National Park, just 2 hours from Heathrow and 20 minutes from Junction 24 of the M4. Spoil yourself here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HRS so you can book your Llansantffraed Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llansantffraed Court Abergavenny, Wales
Llansantffraed Court Hotel Abergavenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing