We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Perfect Wedding Venue!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Llansantffraed Court
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Abergavenny
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff
Level Contributor
109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A Perfect Wedding Venue!”
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed here last week for a friend's wedding and the setting could not have been more idyllic.. The Wedding party took over the hotel and we had wonderful service from everyone - personal and helpful. The grounds are stunning with views to die for. The food was a foodie's delight - I do not usually like puddings but I scraped the dish with this one. The service was much more that of a good quality restaurant than a wedding with lots of guests. Plenty of staff who were attentive and efficient. The whole ambience of the place was just perfect. I cannot fault anything about it at all.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salthewelsjhgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    119
    51
    23
    11
See reviews for
73
288
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
188 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

The hotel is a special setting & truly has the feeling of a manor house. Staff is incredibly helpful& really go out of their way to accommodate you. The grounds are lovely, including a small private chapel behind the house. Restaurant was a surprise: very nice food & attentive service. Also, very pleasantly surprised by the quality of nearby restaurants (Walnut Tree & Hardwick).

My only criticisms would be the furnishings. The bedroom furniture & bath were pretty tired (mattress not too comfortable). Also, the main salon does more duty as a wedding venue, so has more of a catering hall feel than old manor house.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyctravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We got married within 4 months of our engagement. We went to look at the venue as they had some late availabilities and within 5 minutes of driving up the long drive and meeting the staff there was going to be no alternative or equal. The grounds looked stunning, the hotel was clean, tidy and had a happy feel to it.
In the run up there were lots of visits and phone calls to Llansantffraed Court and everyone made us feel like they were as personally involved in our wedding as much as we were. We couldnt decide what food we would like and opted for a taster session.. This was fabulous but only made it more difficult to choose between the meals lol. We opted for Parma Ham, Roast Pork and Cheesecake. At the time we were a little concerned at the portion size but let me say that you have no need to worry at all. On the actual day the proper portion size was more than ample and reminiscent of a country pub in size. I lost count of the amount of people who came up to me and said how gorgeous the food was!
The day went smoothly, the rooms all looked fantastic, they were changed over quickly and nothing was too much trouble for Mike and his team. The evening buffet was fantastic and a lovely touch was that they kept some food back for us for when we went to bed.
The beer was a reasonable price and nowhere near as pricey as some local wedding venues. The rooms were lovely - Ours was massive as you'd expect. If i stayed again I would love to stay in the Raglan suite again.
Breakfast was ace and it was a shame that we had to leave!
I cant say enough good things about Llansantffraed Court. It was our special day and we could not have imagined it being better. My only criticism is the day went too quick but I am unable to blame the Llansantffraed Court for that. Ha ha
If you are thinking of getting married here. Just go and visit. I promise you wont be disappointed!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gmaka77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

After reading the reports on TA we decided to book this Hotel for a Birthday lunch and overnight stay, we were not disappointed - from the minute we arrived to check out we were treated like Royalty!

The Hotel is in a stunning location, with lovely grounds to walk around after lunch.

The food is EXCELLENT and they very much deserve their 2 AA Rosettes!

The room we had was fantastic we had a view of the lake and front grounds and it was so pretty. (9)

The staff are so nice, helpful and NOTHING is too much trouble at all, they made my Birthday a real treat, from the moment we arrived they were all so nice and helpful.

We were very sad to leave and would of loved to stay another night, but we will be back later in the year for a 2 night stay this time as we loved it so much.

You really don't need to look any further if you are thinking about booking a stay here, think no longer BOOK IT!!

Thank you all so much for a Birthday lunch and wonderful stay, we will be back!

Tracy K

Room Tip: Room 9 is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonnBouche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2011

We had a fabulous break and it was everything you could ask for in a country house hotel. The surrounding countryside is beautiful and the grounds of the hotel are quiet and relaxing. The staff were friendly and helpful and made us feel relaxed and welcome. The food was delicious and the rooms comfortable with great views. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2011

We had the most wonderful time at Llansantffraed Court for the wedding of my daughter Emma.
The help and support we received from Rhiannon and Mike for the preperation of the big day was amazing and I can't thank them enough for making Emma and Tom's special day even more special.

From the time we arrived on Saturday to the time we reluctantly left on the Sunday morning everything was perfect.
The attention to detail was second to none.
Food was exceptional from the wedding breakfast to the full English breakfast Sunday morning - we really didnt want to leave.
All staff were polite, helpful and happy - putting everyone at ease, and feeling very welcome.
The hotel and grounds are stunning and I urge everyone to visit - trust me you won't want to leave.
xx

Room Tip: All are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahjane44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

We had a peaceful stay here with few other guests. Food was excellent and service good. Bedroom recently refurbished. Only reservation was that in the winter it would be cold, because our room was on a corner and had windows on two sides. These were quite draughty and think would be a problem in really cold weather. Would recommend this without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abergavenny
4.3 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
831 reviews
5.8 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
10.3 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Beaufort Arms Hotel
Beaufort Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Raglan
276 reviews
19.5 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
871 reviews
9.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llansantffraed Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llansantffraed Court

Property: Llansantffraed Court
Address: Llanvihangel Gobion, Abergavenny NP7 9BA, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Abergavenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Llansantffraed Court 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning Four Star Country House Hotel, Best Small Restaurant in the National Tourism Awards for Wales 2013, set in 20 acres of landscaped grounds. 21 Individually appointed luxury bedrooms, elegant drawing rooms and lounges, real log fires, traditional afternoon tea, fine wine cellar, an amazing restored victorian walled vegetable garden and breath taking views from every room. Close to the Wye Valley and the Brecon Beacons National Park, just 2 hours from Heathrow and 20 minutes from Junction 24 of the M4. Spoil yourself here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Llansantffraed Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llansantffraed Court Abergavenny, Wales
Llansantffraed Court Hotel Abergavenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing