We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely experience”
Review of The Hardwick

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hardwick
Ranked #7 of 31 Abergavenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We have just returned from an excellent overnight stay as a surprise 66th birthday celebration organised by my husband. A delightful hotel with understated elegant and modern chic bedroom with high class furnishings and comforts. Dinner last night was superb. Excellent products, brilliantly prepared and flavoursome, with discreet, perfect service. Friendly yet unobtrusive staff who know how to look after guests. Mr.Stephen Terry, proprietor, head chef and amiable host, was there to greet us this morning and spend time with us.
Highly recommended.
Just a small point: the bedside lamps in our room were only operational from one side so if one person wants to sleep but the other wants to read it could be a little inconvenient.
I can't comment on value because it was my husband's treat.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 152 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2014

I spotted The Hardwick years ago but never quite got round to going so I decided that was where I wanted to go for dinner on my birthday. Now, it's a bit of a hike from Barry to Abergavenny so hubby decided we should stay the night too. We got to the hotels around 7 in the evening and were shown to our room, No. 3 on the courtyard. Well appointed and spotlessly clean. The decor a comforting mix of modern and traditional. We changed and headed over to the restaurant for dinner. A couple of drinks at the bar told us that the place was very busy and we waited perhaps a little long for our table but the staff were friendly and the beer good so I have no complaint there. The meal was wonderful. I had Duck Hash and Lamb Shoulder while hubby had Pork Terrine and Veal Burger. The service might have been a little slower than other restaurants but this gave us time to relax between courses and probably explains how I could manage a dessert. Pannacotta with rhubarb for me and ice cream for the gent. The PB&J ice cream was amazing! Overall a wonderful birthday celebration. Lovely nights sleep and breakfast was of a similarly high standard. I've knocked one point off the location though I'm probably being a bit mean, it's quite close to the main road and we could here the noise. However, I'll be back and soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamieLips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Decided to do a bed, breakfast and dinner reservation for our first wedding anniversary. An absolute disaster, we were put in a noisy disabled room with a large walk in shower, despite requesting a bath, very unhelpful, rude and unprofessional staff. No alternative rooms available so went home. A very noisy establishment being positioned on an A road. Avoid.

    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Tracey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

For a Michelin starred restaurant, it left a lot to be desired. Hubby took me for our wedding anniversary but tbh the food was ok but the service was awful! Better meals for half the price locally. Too much hype and not customer orientated enough.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank heatherjunew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

We drove here on Tuesday lunchtime. It's a while since we have been and were not disappointed. The lunch menu at £19 for two courses and £24 for three courses offers good value.
We chose the salmon in lasagne starter which mum said was delicious and the warm meatloaf. This came with crunchy toast and was very tasty. All starters were good size. If eating a la carte you could do two starters as your meal.
Mains: pork and chorizo burger was very nice, not overpowered with the chorizo. The homemade coleslaw was to die for. The pasta was also well received. The mild hiatus cheese added a tang to the sweetness of the pesto. The deep fried broccoli was a little chewy though. The pollock came with well cooked veg and was a nice dish. Evidently the fish itself was a little disappointing. Not due to cooking.
Wine by the glass was reasonably priced.
We were too full to eat the creme brûlée or stick date pudding on offer. We had a lovely coffee to finish. A little steep at £3.
All in all we had a lovely meal. The menu was interesting and will return.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Ohnonotbarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Food was excellent,service was excellent,but a long time to wait between courses,it was not only us waiting a long time so were others who made their feeling known to other guests though not to the waitress.The deco is very nice but the place lacked atmosphere felt quite awkward there,we were on our way to Cripple Creek but chose The Hardwick whilst passing,would probably go on to The Cripple Creek next time.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank dylanWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

I am surprised by the mixed reviews, our experience was excellent. We have stayed before but not for a few years and I was concerned it may have gone down hill. The rooms were as cosy and well appointed as ever and we were very comfortable, we appreciated the touches such as fresh milk in the fridge and some delicious homemade biscotti.
We had dinner there and it was ample and delicious. The service was also excellent with warm and friendly staff, very efficient.
We asked if we could have breakfast a little earlier than the 8.30am start and they were happy to oblige, breakfast also delicious with fresh orange juice and lovely eggs. We actually couldn't fault any of it and left wondering why we had left it so long to return and determined we would come again soon.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank curlyBridgend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abergavenny
1.9 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 3 in Abergavenny
936 reviews
2.7 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 3 in Abergavenny
544 reviews
7.4 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#3 of 31 in Abergavenny
337 reviews
1.7 mi away
Abergavenny Hotel
Abergavenny Hotel
#2 of 31 in Abergavenny
180 reviews
1.0 mi away
Llansabbath Country Farmhouse B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hardwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hardwick

Address: Old Raglan Road, Abergavenny NP7 9AA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Abergavenny
Price Range: $145 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hardwick 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Hardwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hardwick Abergavenny, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing