We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sunday lunch...”
Review of The Hardwick

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Hardwick
Ranked #8 of 29 Abergavenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Sunday lunch...”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We went for Sunday lunch with friends today, the service was faultless and the food superb. The atmosphere was cosy and relaxed, although it was busy so I would advise booking ahead even for lunchtime dining.
The drinks selection was also good with locally made penderyn whisky on offer as well as a variety of lovely wines.
The only problem I had was decking which pudding to have as they all sounded yummy.

Very much looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBAKER_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    30
    17
    10
    6
See reviews for
23
67
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

my husband and me booked a table for an anniversary dinner treat, I must say we both really disappointed though. The starter of duck hash was just warm,i had the welsh cheese which i think would have been nicer with less salad and more cheese because you could hardly taste it and the dressing was really oily. My main of lamb was overcooked and the whole plate looked very GREY, the huge piece of aubergine to highly flavoured witth cinammon did'nt help and again it was'nt hot.My husband had chicken with quite a bitter sauce. Needless to say we did'nt bother with desert or coffee, then we given the wrong bill!! Add to thayt we stayed away for a night and had a taxi to and form there - it was a rather expensive let down of a weekend. What is going on there!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary186458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

My wife and myself visited here recently for a special occasion, I must say it was fantastic. We live within 40 miles and hadn't been before but had heard good things. Great food, great service and a great setting. Can't understand any poor reviews on here, you can't please everyone I suppose!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank alex1Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight at the Hardwick with a dinner , bed & breakfast deal. 3 course a la carte menu was all we could have hoped for , the ambiance was welcoming and friendly , the room was stylish , clean and comfortable , all in all a perfect 5th Wedding Anniversary , thanks to Stephen Terry and all the staff. Hope to see you all again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

I pre booked a room here for my husbands birthday, we also booked a table for dinner.
Starter was just ok, no finesse what so ever in the service, the main arrived, we had the veal that I have had many times before, the tongue was greasy the loin was tough and the burger tasteless, I did not call a waitress over I was happy not to complain. However I was asked why we were not eating and I explained. The "restaurant"manager arrived and stated "the chef disagrees with you he says the food was perfect" "he is the manager and he says there is nothing wrong with the food" I was so shocked as I run a restaurant myself and there is no way I would ever argue with a guest it's un heard of in this trade.
The manager then sent the staff to ask us to leave the hotel, I have never heard anything like it. Less pretentious over priced plonk and more decent customer service
DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank SandMartinManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crickhowell, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The Hardwick never disappoints! Steven Terry sticks to his principles and convictions. Locally sourced produce, where possible, and of high quality. Supplemented by ethically-sourced produce from elsewhere in the UK (and beyond, sometimes). The menu changes to reflect this, with something to please everyone - from the more timid to the more adventurous eater.

The wine list is my kind of list - with a good range, accommodating simple requirements to those of a more celebratory kind. And a first-rate authentic espresso can be delivered!

The setting is Old Welsh-contemporary - tasteful and low key. How can you not relax? Especially as the "Rooms" are so inviting - and in keeping with the the overall Hardwick "philosophy".

Definitely "worth a detour"!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Sue701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Firstly I want to say how shocked I am at some reviews on here. I experienced nothing like people are saying, so either people are overly critical or the whole place has changed in a few weeks!

I thought everything was fantastic. Even walking into the bar area we were greeted by friendly staff and a lovely ambience. We sat in the bar with our drinks and looked over the menu. We were then taken to our table when our food was ready. There was no long wait at all. We had the breads, I had Panzanella salad which was stunning and my partner had the meatballs and they were equally as nice. For my main I had the slow cooked pork belly which was heaven! Every mouthful was stunning! My partner had the steak which just melted when you cut into it. We were both too full for dessert! The portion sizes were perfect.

All in all it was a great meal and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone and can't wait to return again.

Please don't be put off by the negative reviews, I definitely do not agree with them!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abergavenny hotels
0.8 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
3.6 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abergavenny Hotel
Abergavenny Hotel
#2 of 29 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Llansabbath Country Farmhouse B&B
0.2 mi away
Plas Derwen
Plas Derwen
#7 of 29 in Abergavenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#3 of 29 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hardwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hardwick

Property: The Hardwick
Address: Old Raglan Road, Abergavenny NP7 9AA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Abergavenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hardwick 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Hardwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hardwick Abergavenny, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing