We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok...”
Review of The Hardwick

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hardwick
Ranked #8 of 30 Abergavenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Waited 50 mins for a starter then a further hour for main. Waitress part refunded but spoilt the day a little! Food was ok... Not as good as I had hoped. We had the set menu which was fairly priced at £18 for two courses but choice was very limited. I had gnocchi which was ok. Just ok. Fish cakes were nice and well presented... Much prefer Raymond blancs for a Saturday lunch date! Decor was nice, toilets were clean.... But...Not rushing back!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Lollyw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
There are newer reviews for The Hardwick
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 146 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

Did a review before we left so need to add our experience at breakfast
Party of 9 sat down just before 9am; just a party of 6 being served otherwise who were at the end of breakfast
Good 20 mins before orders taken and at 10am one of our party went in to the kitchen to find where breakfast was. Not even toast had arrived by this time.
Last breakfast was served at 10:20 15 minutes after everybody else
One of the party wanted to order fruit but was told that there wasn't enough to serve her as they had to reserve it for lunch customers!
Several of us had ordered poached eggs; all of which turned up cold
No improvement on dinner!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank givvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The first impressions of the restaurant are great. Cool tones and modish minimalism. The staff welcoming. The food on the other hand was disappointing. The large plate full of crab linguini lacked flavour and could have contained crab. The fish cake was ok. The rabbit rabbit rabbit had been so deconstructed to produce a burger, a faggot (meat ball), a few strips of loin with potato and a small dish of stew, all of which had been over salted. People would love to taste what they asked for. The lamb with aubergine was the better dish but unbalanced and needed carbohydrate. We did not order dessert. 'Not my favourite Welsh restaurant'. Sorry Michel Roux jr.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Bushbaby2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We have stayed here twice before on our way to far west Wales and previously I have extolled the virtues of this comfortable roadside inn and the formerly excellent cuisine.

The room was as well appointed and clean as usual. Dinner, however, was disappointing. Firstly, all courses provided such enormous helpings that struggling through the first dampened the ardour for the main course. I started with crispy bobby beans with tuna and parmesan. The beans had been prepared in the way I remember many Italian restaurants of the 70s used to present zucchini (courgettes) fritter-battered. The idea was very good but the enormous pile on the plate was ill-judged.

My main course was crab linguine. While the flavours and textures were excellent, again there was far too much on the plate. Eating good food should not require marathon efforts. We also felt that the service personnel were slightly less focussed than on previous visits. I do hope these observations do not indicate a permanent reduction of application to perfection!

Room Tip: One twin bedded room - Room 4.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AABCtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on a beautiful sunny Friday night. The rooms were exceptional - as was the food. Veggies well catered for, and the lamb & lentil main was awesome. Linguini crab starter lovely but huge! Desserts - mmmmm! Salted caramel sauce - we licked the pot it was that good! Fabulous honeycomb ice cream too. I had to be dragged away the next day, but only after a brilliant breakfast. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OspreyCardiff_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We have been to the Hardwick on 3 separate occasions over the past 2 years, once for lunch and twice for an overnight stay and meal. Each time the food and service has been exceptional. The rooms are also to a very high standard and although both food and accommodation is pricier than average, if you appreciate excellent quality food and a lovely place to stay it is well worth it. We will be back very soon !

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesrichardst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Not to mention it being painfully hot (can't blame them too much for that one, but I'm sure they could have cracked a few more windows) We arrived at 6.25 and didn't leave until 9.20.....with only ordering a main and a dessert each.
No one asked us how are meals were, if they had, I'm fairly sure my father would have sent his back. The only way we managed to get a dessert menu was by making a loud comment as one of the waiters walked past us.
The restaurant was overcrowded; not enough service staff and clearly a kitchen that couldn't cope with that many covers.
I regret to say, we won't be coming back any time soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy-Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abergavenny
0.8 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 3 in Abergavenny
909 reviews
3.6 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 3 in Abergavenny
533 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Abergavenny Hotel
Abergavenny Hotel
#2 of 30 in Abergavenny
172 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#3 of 30 in Abergavenny
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hardwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hardwick

Address: Old Raglan Road, Abergavenny NP7 9AA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Abergavenny
Price Range: $143 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hardwick 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Hardwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hardwick Abergavenny, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing