We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hardwick
Nearby Hotels
The Angel(Abergavenny)
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier inn Abergavenny Hotel(Llanfoist)(Great Value!)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Llansantffraed Court(Llanvihangel Gobion)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Manor Hotel(Crickhowell)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveler rating
86
32
20
13
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
32
20
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstephen terrymain courseduck hashwell stocked mini barspecial mealmustard sauceleather sofasfreshly squeezed orange juicethree coursessteakcooked to perfectioncelebrity chefquality mealolive oilsourdough breaddvd playermy other half
Filter
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 158 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Family of 4 stayed overnight. Lovely rooms off a courtyard but you had to walk outside to get to the restaurant that was just outside the door. Slight concern that room doors were open to the outside. Food was good but not wow. Breakfast was completely served at table but with a feeling of needing to ask for everything. So 5 for rooms less for food

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BirminghamNetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

All the angles are covered at The Hardwick. We recently stayed for a night and loved it. The food is awesome, not just dinner where you would expect the focus to be, but equally so at a breakfast which also features great local ingredients - proper fresh squeezed juice, "eggy bread" and wonderful smoked bacon, toasted sour dough bread and home-made preserves were just a few examples of what we experienced. Our tastefully appointed, contemporary bedroom was high on quality, well designed with attractive furniture, and comprehensively equipped with lots of thoughtful touches. Really comfortable bed. The bathroom came with an invitingly deep bath, a powerful shower, and good products. Service throughout our all-too-short stay was professional and caring. We'd love to have somewhere like this a bit closer to home!

Room Tip: Great offers on The Hardwick website for stays Monday to Friday
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed at the hardwick on a 1 night dinner bed and breakfast deal with my partner as a birthday present. The room was fantastic cosy, nicely decorated and all facillities were excellent. The food at this restaurant is the best iv ever had been here three times now and never been disappointed. Really love the focus on good quality local ingredients cooked well. staff always friendly and welcoming and will definetly return many more times im sure!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markdp2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

What a fantastic stay! Stayed for one night on a dinner bed & breakfast basis. The accommodation is extremely well appointed and comfortable. It isn't often that I end up coveting the furniture in my hotel room but I did here! The bath was the deepest we have encountered and a powerful rain shower.

Dinner was superb, particularly the beef sharing platter for two. My only regret was that I couldn't find room for the coffee and hand made petit fours.

So many restaurants with rooms seem to think of breakfasts as an afterthought - not so at the Hardwick. It was easily the best we have ever had. A carafe of orange juice was squeezed to order. The toasted artisan bread was delicious as were the full Welsh breakfast and smoked haddock with poached eggs and mustard sauce. Proper leaf tea in a tea pot - no chasing tea bags on strings!!

Service was friendly, unobtrusive and efficient. We can't wait to return.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank SandieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was a surprise trip to Wales for my birthday, booked after my husband saw the owner and chef, Stephen Terry on' Saturday Morning Kitchen'

We were not disappointed. It is a lovely pub with 8 newly done rooms, ours was very comfortable,facing the back (it is right on the roadside so rear view is preferable!) and we loved the contemporary style. Well equiped bathroom, underfloor heating, with walk in shower. Plenty of fluffy towels and really nice bath products in large pump containers which I much prefer to little bottles. Very up market selection of teas and fresh coffee to brew in the room, along with lovely homemade biscuits. Well stocked minibar including a little bottle of fresh milk (cannot stand those little UHT cartons - if a hotel provides a minifridge, why not provide fresh milk?)

Large comfortable loung bar area, with interesting eclectic mix of furniture and lovely pieces of wood craft. t=Good quality afternoon tea was served with more delicious biscuits, and we settled on two large soft leather sofas to read the Sunday papers. Very friendly attentive staff. Pre dinner drinks swiftly followed the tea - try the Welsh sparkling white wine, it is very good. Chardonnay was unremarkable, but the Chilean Sauvignon was good.

There are three different areas to dine, clearly they do a great number of covers some nights. Menu was very appealling featuring lots of local produce. We had delicious beetroot risotto with warm soft, goats cheese - probably the best I've tasted, followed by pork with caramalised fennel (delicious) and sweet potatoe and onion mash (bit bitter/burnt but seemingly intentionally so) which was very good - we really wanted the veal, but they had run out. Excellent selection of cheeses to follow. Puddings looked very appealing.

Breakfast was really good. Traditional welsh, all cooked to perfection. They have very good breads, possibly from local artisan baker?.

We got a great deal - £70 for B&B on a Sunday, as long as you spent over £80 in the restaurant. We will return and have recommended The Harwick to friends already.

If you are interested in visiting local sights, I recommend Tredegar House near Newport (Naitonal Trust) and Tretower Castle not far from Abergavenny. Both well worth a visit, staffed by very helpful enthusiastic volunteers. Hay on Wye is also fun to spend a couple of hours in. Lunch at Tomatitos Tapas Bar was great fun.

Room Tip: Our room had a 4ft 6" bed and we would have prefered a 5 or 6ft bed, so perhaps check when you book.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews