We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the drive from London”
Review of The Crown

The Crown
Ranked #2 of 101 Restaurants in Abergavenny
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth the drive from London”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We've been to The Crown several times in the last couple of years. The food is just lovely and we've returned with friends and family who all now rave about it! I have coeliac disease and the staff are all very knowledgable about providing gluten free meals. The menu is marked with gluten free symbols and they always have gluten free bread. Amazing. Being able to eat pate and warm bread in a restaurant is just heaven for someone on a gluten free diet. We're planning a trip to Abergavenny in February and the only real question is - how many times is it acceptable to eat here in a week??

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank holidayheaven22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    57
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“No Vaping”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This review is not about the food (though I thought it was only ordinary) but the owners' policy on e-cigarettes and e-pipes. Ignorance of what these new-fangled devices really are is no reason for banning them out of hand. There is nothing either illegal or dangerous about them. There are, it is true, some molecules of nicotine contained in the exhaled water vapour, but no more than - say - the caffeine molecules given off by a steaming cup of coffee; and nobody suggests we should ban those. Nicotine is no more inherently dangerous than caffeine. Not long ago pub landlords cried into their beer, said that banning smoking would ruin their industry; now is an opportunity for them to make welcome anyone who likes a hit of nicotine now and again, and to increase their profits once more.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brinkwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A good reason to stay at home”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Starters okay. Pork tenderloin just chunks of over cooked meat although the Calvados sauce was nice. Chicken breast wrapped in Parma ham turned out to be chicken breast with deep fried ham on the side - ghastly. Kids running around the place. Barman specifically asked if everything okay and then could not have been less interested in the feedback. Truly dreadful!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mags1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely meal, staff and surroundings”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Three of us stopped in for Sunday lunch and had a thoroughly enjoyable meal. We were sat next to the wood fire place which was lovely and cosy. The starters, mains and deserts were all of a very high standard, with the waitress being very pleasant and offering us extra bread for our starters and additions to our mains and deserts without us prompting her. The bill was not overly priced for 3 having 3 courses and a drink coming in at around £25 a head. Would recommend this to anyone looking for a nice country pub with great food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puget Theniers, France
Level Contributor
141 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A must!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

I went with my girlfriend for dinner on a Saturday night. The restaurant was full but bar was very quiet. The food and service was fantastic. We were made to feel very welcome. Would highly recommend this restaurant. The steak & ale pie was to die for a pity the chips were frozen.

Helpful?
1 Thank Geordieniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crown also viewed

Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 

Been to The Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing