We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Swan Hotel

Swan Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abergavenny
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Swan Hotel
Ranked #26 of 30 Abergavenny B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Thankyou for the time spent there. We had the best time ever, food was great, staff and owners very helpfull and kind, good size room and very quiet for location, so we had a good night sleep as well.
Live music saturday night amazing. All in all u would recommend it to anybody!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cactusscry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 73 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014

Had Sunday lunch at the hotel for the first time today and have to say that it was very good. My brother and I had Roast Beef and my son had Turkey. The meal was just like having a home cooked Sunday lunch, plenty of veg, very nice Yorkshire puds and a decent gravy .My son said that his dessert...the home made apple pie was the best he'd ever had.
The young waitress and bar tender were helpful and friendly too.
Will definitely go back again...oh...and it was very good value for money too !

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Jayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

went to the swan hotel for family meal on the 5/1/2014 for a family meal for my daughters 18th birthday and I would recommend it to any one the staff was very friendly and the meal was very good and it was excellent value for money I would deffo go bk for a meal again in the near furture

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed in a good size double room which was rather clean but seems like the proprietors don't want to spend any extra money to make this place better. Our duvet cover was torn and towels were gray and stained. It really doesn't cost a lot to get a new set of bed linen.
Breakfast was a tragicomedy. Table was not set up for breakfast, coffee was weak and disgusting, I wasn't even sure if it was coffee! Sausage was more like a sausage alike product.
A man serving us looked like he couldn't be bothered but at least he was funny.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zatar84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We booked a night here at short notice. Warm welcome from the staff for us and our 2 small dogs.

Room on second floor was basic but very clean and no complaints given the price.

As bar was busy we ate elsewhere and were a little perturbed on returning to find it packed with loud live music but it didn't reach our room so we got a good night's sleep.

No choice offered for breakfast but I would have chosen what we were given anyway and it was fresh, hot and tasty.

Overall just what we needed. Would certainly be happy to return if we are in area again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rutland1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I stayed two nights in the Swan, which hosted a Welsh Mines Society dinner.

The dinner was first class, good plain cooking, both quality and quantity were good and it was cheap.

The beer is good, especially the local Rhymney bitter. Bar and hotel staff are friendly and efficient.

My room was clean and comfortable without being luxurious. This is not a shiny modern hotel, but what it does, it does well. Overall a nice experience. If I am ever in Abergavenny again I will stay here.

Room Tip: On Saturday night there can be a fair bit of noise in the street outside. It did not disturb me too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We passed through Abergavenny, hadn't booked accommodation and stayed here one Friday night in August. We wondered what we'd done when chalked up on the notice board was "truckers and bikers welcome", but as bike owners ourselves back home we were reassured! Whilst the decor is dated and the rooms and furnishings old and practical, the hotel itself was spotless, absolutely spotless. We had the last room in the house (no. 2) which had a unique window sash mechanism (grins to self!). There was tea/coffee making facilities in the room, cable t.v., and plenty of hot water and towels. The bed was comfortable, and again linens were spotless. Rooms at the front of house are very noisy on a Friday night, just use earplugs and carry on. The breakfast was spot on, with no fuss no frills and served hot and promptly. There is parking on site, and just a two minute walk from some lovely restaurants should you wish to venture out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelOrUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abergavenny hotels
0.1 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 3 in Abergavenny
919 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#14 of 30 in Abergavenny
127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abergavenny Hotel
Abergavenny Hotel
#2 of 30 in Abergavenny
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ryvington B&B
Ryvington B&B
#19 of 30 in Abergavenny
5 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Farmers Arms
The Farmers Arms
#20 of 30 in Abergavenny
67 reviews
0.4 mi away
Black Lion Guest House
Black Lion Guest House
#25 of 30 in Abergavenny
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel

Address: 33 Cross Street, Abergavenny NP7 5ER, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Abergavenny
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family run hotel in Abergavenny the gateway to wales where the famous Abergavenny food festival takes place, we offer very competitive rates and we are family friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Abergavenny, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing