We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Swan Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Angel(Abergavenny)
$127
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier inn Abergavenny Hotel(Llanfoist)(Great Value!)
$69
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Manor Hotel(Crickhowell)
$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$95
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel(Pontypool)(Great Value!)
$123
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$163
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveler rating
22
21
20
5
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
21
20
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscar parklunch timepiecooked breakfastensuite
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 73 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Turned up near midnight as an emergency and was taken in. Room clean and comfortable. Excellent breakfast served by a friendly staff. Excellent value. The area is ideal for exploring the magnificent countryside.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cornishtimoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Chose this hotel over others in the area due to it's reviews and wasn't diappointed. The hotel is very dated but I like that. What is important is cleanliness and it was. Cost of rooms was by far the cheapest. The Bar is popular with the locals and as our stay was a saturday night it was very busy. We chose to have a wander around the other local pubs and come back for a night cap.Jackie and Mark are lovely hosts and breakfast was superb. We will definetly returning in the warmer weather and staying in the family room.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Visited for Sunday lunch and had a lovely meal. A choice of roasts with three veg, roast and boiled potatoes and, wait for it, cauliflower cheese - and all for £7.95. You really cannot fault this place for good quality home cooked food at very reasonable prices. Trying to resist the homemade desert was also futile!

I remember this pub from when I was a youngster, the only thing I would do then was walk past, now that would be a mistake. The new owners have transformed this hotel and are doing a great job of bringing it back to life - thank you.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Madtaffy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I came a long way in a different country, and stayed in the swan hotel in Abergavenny, Wales. i received a huge warm welcoming from the nice owners themselves, the room i stayed in was very spacious, warm, comfortable and high standard, they are also very quite and i had a great night sleep. also a brilliant cook, very quick at serving and delicious! the location is so very convenient and in a visible area. i would defiantly check back in again if i come back to visit wales and overall was a great experience.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mil97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

came all the way down from scotland stayed at the white swan hotel abergavenny i received a warm welcome from the owners the prices of the rooms were very good the meals were good loved the breakfast (was asked what time i would like breakfast) would recomend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice freindly place to stay with the bus & railway station close buy the market and the shops and pubs on the same street wiill defintley be back

Room Tip: rooms are very quiet at night and a very good shower
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank john g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews