We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel downstairs but rooms could do with updating”
Review of The Angel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Angel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Abergavenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Had a one night stay in this hotel. I must say that I was very impressed with the downstairs of the hotel, more like a 4/5 star than a 3 star. The bar is lovely and cosy with a log fire, just nice to sit in front off and sip a glass of champagne.

They do delicious afternoon teas and the bar menu also looks very good.

Our breakfast was excellent and they use local produce.

The only downside is that the rooms are very dated. There was no quilt on our bed but a woolen blanket instead and the pillows were very scrunchy!! However the room and bathroom was very clean and lovely and warm. The rooms won't put me off but I think if they were updated the hotel would definately gain a higher star rating.

Lovely stay though and will definately be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welshsunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

I am pleased to read you enjoyed the downstairs areas of the hotel including afternoon tea, The Foxhunter Bar and breakfast.

All of the standard rooms in the hotel are due for refurbishment which is a total of 10 remaining guestrooms. All other guestrooms in the hotel have been renovated. You should come back and experience our renovated rooms; they are lovely.

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Charlotte Griffiths
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (908)
There are newer reviews for The Angel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

528 - 534 of 908 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2013

We drove up at six thirty to the Angel \hotel three days ago. Impression small boutique hotel. Lights up, real Christmas bunch of holley being strung up above the door.A knitting group in one of the oh so comfortable sitting rooms. Halls are freshly painted in neutral colours and the cladded doors and walls are understated romantic. Fresh flowers everywhere- lily, berries,fir boughs,tiny fairy lights. The reception staff were efficient, personable and are excellent at making suggestions. Our michelin starred dinner at the walnut tree was devine and our car there and back was complementary. Lovely wines, perfectly cooked veggies,real dover sole -divine1eeses and coffee, The beds are new, perfectly made with soft or firm feather or fiberfill cushions. Enormous brivate bathroom with swayback cast iron tub and bottle of bubbles and salts. Ahhh....lovely,all good amenities.Bit of noise in the hall from continuing renonation but I would most definitely return.Charming village to wander about. Breafast full English as you wish.The staff listen to requests and quietly get on making your wishes come true. We will come back and bring friends.

Room Tip: Find out what room will be affected by the on-going renovations. Tell management to ask the workers...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eveme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your kind feedback.

Our goal is to provide excellent, friendly service in all areas of the hotel and I am pleased to read you experienced this.

We hope on your next visit to the UK, we can welcome you back again.

Kind regards,
Charlotte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed in the Castle Street Cottage, for the weekend of the 29th Nov to the 1st December.
We have stayed in the Cottage a number of times, as we have a dog, it has an excellent safe
garden for her roam in.
As always very clean, and all the staff make very welcome. Would recommend The Angel to
everyone. We look forward to returning in the New Year.

Room Tip: Try Castle Street Cottage, bags of space.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your delightful review.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the New Year.

Kind regards,

Charlotte Griffiths
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Consistenly good professional service, great for our small meetings and dinner never disappoints. The staff are always very friendly, courteous and nothing is too much trouble. The ballroom is a fabulous venue and the atmosphere and the ambience of the whole hotel scores very highly.

Room Tip: Can't comment on the rooms as we only use the hotel for meetings and dinner
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely feedback. It is always a pleasure to read when our regular customers have consistently professional and good service.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Charlotte Griffiths
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

As usual a warm welcome by the staff, good place for a conference in the centre of town.
Lovely breakfast and buffetlunch. Cakes for tea was excellent!! Room clean and warm , plenty of room. I will hopefully come again, parking is limited however.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am pleased to read your conference went well and you had a warm welcome, lovely breakfast and buffet lunch followed by excellent cakes and tea.

I am sorry to read you had trouble parking however there is a large metered car park across from the hotel which has about 250 car parking spaces.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Charlotte Griffiths
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This Hotel was smashing. The staff could not do enough for us. The room was cosy with a great en suite. Food in the restaurant was excellent and the breakfast kept us going all day. The hotel has a wonderful atmosphere and is well placed in the centre of Abergavenny.I would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone who is looking for a bit of luxury.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

I am very pleased that your recent visit to The Angel was smashing and you enjoyed food in The Oak Room along with breakfast.

We hope to welcome you back to The Angel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Charlotte Griffiths
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I've stayed several times at The Angel in the last few years. I usually eat there too when I'm in Abergavenny. I'm always struck by two things. One, how good the service is, professional yet also welcoming and friendly, with no pretensions. The other is a quality that feels somehow old-fashioned, in a good way: that this hotel could make anyone feel at home, whatever their background. The restaurant is smart but not offputting; on the other side of reception is the wood panelled Foxhunter bar which doesn't seem to have changed much since I first saw it forty years ago, though on closer inspection it's been carefully updated with contemporary paint and lighting, and in winter has a most welcoming log fire in the corner at all times. The same menu is available in both restaurant and bar. Too many hotels today are either posey or grungey; this is just nice, whoever you are.
My only complaint about the very comfortable deluxe room I was upgraded to: no light bright enough to read by. This annoying hip hotel habit doesn't suit The Angel!

Room Tip: Nice to be on Cross Street - quiet, but a feeling of being connected to the town.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Puckdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review; in particular commenting on the good service, and that we were able to make you feel at home.

I have noted your comment regarding a brighter light beside the bed.

We hope to welcome you back long before another forty years!

Kind regards,

Charlotte Griffiths
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abergavenny
4.3 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 3 in Abergavenny
533 reviews
9.4 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
6.3 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crickhowell
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
15.2 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
957 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abergavenny Hotel
Abergavenny Hotel
#2 of 30 in Abergavenny
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel

Address: 15 Cross Street, Abergavenny NP7 5EN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Abergavenny
Price Range: $133 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Angel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish hotel and place to eat in the Brecon Beacons. Winner of The Tea Guild's prestigious Top City, Country Hotel Tea Award 2011 and AA Hotel of the Year Wales 2016/2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angel Hotel Abergavenny
Angel Hotel Abergavenny
The Angel Abergavenny, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing