We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Steak sandwich .”
Review of The Angel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Angel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Abergavenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The Angel has had a refurb since I ate here last it boasts a very smart small upstairs annex and this is where we had a quick lunch. Both of us opted for the steak sandwich and it was delicious. The Angel offers something for everyone. Their afternoon Tea is in my opinion the best in South East Wales. Try it !!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kath D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent visit to The Angel for lunch. I am pleased to read how much you enjoyed the steak sandwich. I am also pleased to read how much you have enjoyed our afternoon tea in the past.

We hope to welcome you back again soon to The Angel.

Kind regards,

Charlotte Griffiths
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (936)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

606 - 612 of 937 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

This was my second visit to The Angel. Their 'high tea' is the perfect indulgence for a special occasion or lazy afternoon. Lovely surroundings, excellent food and attentive staff. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to read you were able to indulge yourself with our High Tea in The Wedgewood Room. I will make sure your comments are passed onto our team.

We hope to welcome you back to The Angel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Charlotte Griffiths
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed in their Lodge House and it was lovely. Exceptionally clean and tidy, nice interior and beautiful sheets! Breakfast was first class served by staff who were very attentive. Evening dinner in the restaurant was very good. Husband had duck salad which was a little on the tastless side compared to my lamb cutlets which where cooked to perfection. But overall it was good. Every member of staff was a credit to the management. Would we go back - yes.

Room Tip: Lodge House was perfect as we had a dog .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trixieanddixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share such kind words about your recent stay in The Lodge at The Angel. I am so pleased to read you thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of your experience: the lodge, breakfast, your evening meal ( I apologise the duck was a little tasteless compared to the lamb) and the service you received.

We hope to welcome you back to The Angel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Charlotte Griffiths
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Took visitors from Australia, my cousin has visited before and was amazed at the transformation of this historic hotel.
The decor is stylish and warm as are the staff who are very welcoming and efficient.
The new menu is excellent and the new seafood sharing platter is just wonderful,
The steak sandwich went down a treat with the steak cooked to perfection, lemon sole was delicious
The hotel isn't the cheapest, but this is reflected in the service and excellent food, also reflected in how busy the fox hunter bar is all the time
If you are in Abergavenny don't miss a visit to one of Abergavenny's gems

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samdodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words. It is lovely to read you found the decor stylish and warm along with the staff. I am also pleased to read you enjoyed your meals. I will share your positive feedback with the team and look forward to welcoming you back to The Angel soon.

Kind regards,
Charlotte Griffiths
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Just had a very nice lunch at Angel Hotel. Superfood salad and polenta and Parmesan crisps/chips which was surprisingly pleasant . Nice house merlot and beer. Would definitely eat there again and having looked around the hotel would be happy to stay! Toilets both male and female excellent.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Janem1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am pleased to read you enjoyed your recent lunch at The Angel. The superfood salad is a favourite with many of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Charlotte Griffiths
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The Angel is one of the friendliest hotels I have ever stayed in. The staff are all really helpful and never stop smiling. The food is excellent, the decor very stylish, and the rooms very comfortable. Highly recommended and excellent value for money. The conference facilities although not huge are more than adequate for groups of up to 25.

Room Tip: All rooms seem lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gordonfussyeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to express such kind words about your stay at The Angel Hotel, Abergavenny. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your room and the food/service exceeded expectations. I will pass your feedback to the team who looked after you and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Please note: Your conference was held in our smallest conference room which seats up to 25 guests boardroom style. Our largest conference room, the ballroom seats up to 180 guests theatre style and 50 guests boardroom style.

Kind regards,
Charlotte Griffiths

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed here for one night in August and had a great time, I'd highly recommend The Angel. We chose to go for a Superior room, which was newly decorated, modern and really comfortable, with everything we needed for a lovely stay. Our room overlooked the courtyard which was fine for us, as we were down in the bar until closing time but if you're looking for an early night, this might not be the best choice for you in Summer as groups of people sit outside and have dinner/drinks under the window and it could be a little noisy. The hotel is right in the centre of town so it's a great location and it has private free parking available.

We had dinner and breakfast downstairs in the bar, both were delicious and made from good quality ingredients. The staff were all lovely and made us feel very welcome throughout our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chimera88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

I am pleased to note that your stay at The Angel lived up to your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Angel Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Charlotte Griffiths
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abergavenny
4.3 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 3 in Abergavenny
543 reviews
9.4 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
6.3 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crickhowell
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
15.2 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
985 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abergavenny Hotel
Abergavenny Hotel
#2 of 31 in Abergavenny
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel

Address: 15 Cross Street, Abergavenny NP7 5EN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Abergavenny
Price Range: $128 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Angel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish 4 star hotel and place to eat in the Brecon Beacons. Winner of The Tea Guild's prestigious Top City, Country Hotel Tea Award 2011 and AA Hotel of the Year Wales 2016/2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angel Hotel Abergavenny
Angel Hotel Abergavenny
The Angel Abergavenny, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing