We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Angel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Llansantffraed Court(Llanvihangel Gobion)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Manor Hotel(Crickhowell)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (977)
Filter reviews
977 results
Traveler rating
615
251
69
31
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
615
251
69
31
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teahigh teacastle cottagesandwichescoaching innlovely hoteldeluxe roomwithout exceptioncar parkwine listpublic areashigh streetset menubar areaspecial occasionsmoked salmonsunday lunch
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
696 - 701 of 977 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I've eaten twice at the Angel and was stuck both times by the levels of service. Attentive and friendly and genuine, not forced.

The Oak Room is beautifully decorated and has a great atmosphere. Its large but intimate. It has a presence which takes the whole experience up a notch.

We were four and had the lamb or the steak, both dishes had full marks,from everyone. The steak was as good as you will get anywhere in UK, and the lamb was amazing. Desserts were also brilliant, the cafe gourmands were the winners.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outandabout777, Manager at The Angel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

What a delightful review! Thank you for taking the time to post this, I am glad the team has lived up to your expectations, and we all look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully soon!

Kind regards,
Charlotte Griffiths
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We made a table reservation for the restaurant well in advance of our special occasion. At no time during the booking was any inference made regarding possible seating issues. All was well, or so be believed. We arrived on the day (Saturday 1st June) to find that seating was not available in the restaurant because it was being used by a wedding party (???). At this point we were told by one of the staff (get this!), "Because it was such a nice day the hotel thought that it would be a nice gesture to sit all the non-wedding diners in the courtyard". What a complete and utter lie! How could the hotel tell the weather two weeks in advance when the Met Office struggles on a day to basis?? It was a case of take it or leave it, so not wanting to see my daughter trying to eat her lunch while at the same time fending of flying insects, we declined the this offer. We also declined the offer of seating us in a cramped room in the upper section of the hotel, eating from low level tables, sitting on what looked like sofas.

All in all a dreadful experience, which could have been avoided if we had been told the truth at the time of the booking. What is wrong with honesty?

Stayed: June 2013
3  Thank Broadsword01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review; however I am a little confused by your review.

On sunny days, we set up in our courtyard as most of our dining guests prefer the courtyard on a beautiful day, yet we also serve in our Oak Room for any guests not wanting to sit outside. The decision to serve outside is made on the day and not in advance as you are correct in saying we cannot predict the weather.

The wedding party on the day were all in our Ballroom upstairs with a few guests coming downstairs into The Foxhunter Bar (prior to the wedding events). We never hold wedding events in our restaurant (Oak Room).

I would very much like the opportunity to discuss with you your experience personally. I would be grateful if you could contact me directly at your convenience on 01873 857121.

I hope this has not marred your impression of The Angel and that we can welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Charlotte Griffiths
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We always go here for morning coffee, or breakfast. Really great service and lovely staff. The food is good value with amazing bacon rolls with meat from the butcher up the road. They were willing to share that information so we were able to get some to taken home. Will be returning soon .

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Nice room, lovely, varied breakfast choice and extremely friendly serving staff. A very pleasant stay. The only negative thing I could say was that we could hear traffic and noisy revellers outside throughout the night, so I would ask for a room to the back of the hotel, rather than to the side. We stayed in room 4. I plan to stay again in the autumn.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacqui d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had booked a standard double room at The Angel but on arrival were told that we had been upgraded to the Castle Cottage. The cottage is to the rear of the hotel just opposite the hotel car park so very convenient to take luggage to and also keep an eye on the car. The cottage description on the website is accurate but the quality & comfort of the cottage has to be experienced! The cottage was pristine, beautifully furnished and the private garden complete with garden furniture is a great extra (although heavy rain prevented us using it ourselves!). We ate dinner in the foxhunter bar and breakfast in the Wedgewood Room - the food was perfectly cooked and service was excellent. The location is great with just a few minutes walk to the Linda Vista Gardens, the Castle museum and the town centre, We would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to be able to return there in future.

Room Tip: the hotel itself is on the high street so I had asked for a room at the back of the hotel as I had read reviews that there can be some noise from the high street. The cottage is right on a road which can get busy as it is next door to a public car park but we did not find traffic to be a disturbance - windows fit well with good curtains and a double door to the cottage.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 628K_K628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews