We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, poor service”
Review of The Angel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Angel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Abergavenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is a very well maintained ex coaching inn that obviously has an interesting heritage. It is nicely decorated inside and the rooms are very comfortable, super bathrooms and all the pots, bathrobes and stuff. We had a room at the front of the hotel which was a bit noisy on the Saturday night we were there, although our daughters had a room at the back and got no noise. Well positioned on the high street and a good base for this part of Wales.

It is let down by the lack of staff at check out....surely they know lots of people leave in the morning????? And the service in the dining room at breakfast time was dismal, not through a shortage of staff, there seemed to be more than enough to serve the people there, just something about their system was appalling slow and we had to complain three times about things that were wrong.

The fabric of the hotel is worth more than 5 stars but the service isn't and on that basis it really isn't good value for money as it is certainly not cheap.

Room Tip: Ask to be at the back of the hotel to avoid the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SubarStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay at The Angel.

I am extremely concerned to read of your disappointing stay with us and I apologise most sincerely for the inconvenience you were undoubtedly caused at breakfast and upon check out.

I hope the reduction of your final bill was a reflection of how sorry we are.

I am pleased to read you enjoyed the decoration in the hotel.

I do hope that we are able to restore your faith in The Angel and that you will allow us the opportunity to redeem ourselves in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Charlotte Griffiths
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (946)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

689 - 695 of 946 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Went for afternoon tea. It was perfectly pleasant with veritable mountain of food which they aloud us to take home (thank god!). Also a great choice of tea. The staff were friendly but due to position of our table we were over looked a few times. All in all food was delicious atmosphere was good but a lot of people talking made for a bit of noise.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Ablender86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

A gorgeous hotel in a lovely location. Service really was OUTSTANDING and didn't feel forced like it so often does. Food was all delicious, and when husbands pudding came cold it was replaced no questions asked. Would go back again like a shot. Love all the local pictures on the walls, and a nice décor. Breakfast was good enough to cover lunch, afternoon tea was just amazing. Really small niggle in the coffee cups, a nice investment would be to use a local potter to have custom made crockery but I know that would be a big financial outlay. Really REALLY loved this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil-Scottish-exile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

My fiancé and I enjoyed a pleasant afternoon at the hotel for afternoon tea that was presented and tasted great.The staff were very helpful and polite, I must say the hotel is pleasing to the eye.We parked in the car park at the rear this car park is one of the cleanest I have ever been in nice to see a guy walking aroud clearing cigarette ends up of the floor a nice tuch,the area around the hotel looked clean and tidy to.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeff b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to note that you and your fiancé enjoyed afternoon tea at The Angel.

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Angel Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Charlotte Griffiths
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Very central. Lovely decor. Comfortable room. Food really good. Lounge & bar relaxing and well appointed. Restaurant very pleasant. Staff helpful and friendly. Not equipped for walkers as given glass bottle in packed lunch..

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LYNNW567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

A surprise weekend booked by my wonderful family. We stayed in the castle cottage behind the hotel. The cottage was amazing! It met my INCREDIBLY fussy standards! (Loved the farrow and ball and white company toiletries!) We took our two golden retrievers who were delighted with the comfy dog beds provided. The cottage was spotlessly clean and everything was to the highest standard.

Breakfast in the Angel was delicious, with a wide variety of choice. We had not booked for afternoon tea but after hearing the reviews we were eager to book for the Sunday. Despite it being fully booked the staff kindly managed to fit us in. I am very glad they could as it was fantastic!

Overall it was a brilliant experience, the hotel really is a very high standard and I cannot believe that it is only 3 stars, as we have stayed in 4 and 5 star hotels but this is every bit as good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hras_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

As a special treat for a weekend of our honeymoon we booked a deal with the hotel that includes dinner at the Walnut Tree Inn, a Champagne High Tea at the Angel and three nights bed and breakfast, and we loved every minute!
The hotel was easy to find, and pleasant and welcoming when we arrived. They also upgraded us to their cottage, just across the road from the hotel itself, which was lovely! We ate in the hotel restaurant the first night, which is more formal than I expected but served some lovely food and had a live pianist playing, which was a nice touch. We also thought the drinks prices were quite reasonable here.
The Walnut Tree, which is linked to the Angel, was excellent, and the hotel arranged a complimentary taxi there and back, which made the evening run very smoothly for us. The champagne high tea the next day was superb. The food was amazing, and we managed to polish off every last crumb, and left feeling incredibly full. The choice of teas was great and we really enjoyed trying a selection!
Throughout our stay the staff were really friendly and helpful, and we had a really good weekend, revelling in amazing food and delicious drinks.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABCiren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abergavenny
4.3 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 3 in Abergavenny
545 reviews
9.4 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
6.3 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crickhowell
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
15.2 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
993 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel

Address: 15 Cross Street, Abergavenny NP7 5EN, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Abergavenny
Price Range: $130 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Angel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish 4 star hotel and place to eat in the Brecon Beacons. Winner of The Tea Guild's prestigious Top City, Country Hotel Tea Award 2011 and AA Hotel of the Year Wales 2016/2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angel Hotel Abergavenny
Angel Hotel Abergavenny
The Angel Abergavenny, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing