We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous High Tea”
Review of The Angel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Angel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Abergavenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We celebrated my lovely Mums birthday with a lovely afternoon high tea. The Angel is beautifully decorated and they have a dedicated room especially for afternoon tea. Crisp linen, best china and friendly service. We went on a Monday and it was full so I recommend you book.

The High Tea includes savouries, sandwiches, pastries, trifle and scones ......and a choice of teas that is vast. All were mouth-wateringly scrumptious. We could not eat it all!!! Excellent value for £20. Mum had the Dragons Well tea! I opted for vanilla and the boys had coffee. Ask for a take away box if you can't finish it, they are more than happy to do that.

Lovely atmosphere, room was full of people quietly celebrating special occasions. The Angel has won awards for their afternoon teas and I am sure it will win more. This was my second visit and I look forward to the third.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Lady Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (936)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

700 - 706 of 936 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Visit the hotel bar regularly. Nice surroundings. Decent bar if a little small. Only real ales, could do with a smooth beer. Draught Grolsch is good however. Nice toilets, worth a visit for those!! Overall nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank StanBrynmawr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Visited the Angel this week to celebrate my wife's birthday. My daughters treat. We booked in for afternoon tea. We had the choice of tea or the high tea so for the extra £3 per head we opted for the more extravagant high tea. We were unsure what we would get although they list the various delights on offer, pastries sandwiches and cakes etc, how much you get however was an unknown. Well, how pleased we were when it arrived. The 3 tier stands delivered very professionally to the table were full of a wide range of finger sized pastries, sandwiches and cakes all of which were exceptional. The choices of tea was also extensive I choose the Ceylon my wife the Angel and my daughter Earl Grey, there were many more on offer to cover all tastes. When we had finished all that was on offer we were asked were we ready for the scones, cream and jam. Well we had to make room for that!!! The few pieces of cake left were neatly wrapped and boxed and given to us to take home. It may be expensive at £21 a head but its not every day you would opt for high tea so do it...at least once. I will be going back for my birthday in August. Thanks Dano

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank gaandir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We enjoyed a super package over three nights. We were upgraded to the Mews which was wonderful with a gorgeous bathroom including a really luxurious deluge shower. It was really quet and a huge bed and we really couldn't have been more comfortable. We had a lovely meal in the Oak Room and enjoyed super drinks in the bar ( staff excel at G and T's with a squeeze of lime). We loved the atmosphere in the Foxhumter Bar and the breakfasts were excellent too.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to note that your stay at The Angel lived up to your expectations.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Angel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Charlotte Griffiths
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We went on Saturday 2 march for afternoon tea, there was only a 5.15pm table left which we didn't mind & it was well worth the wait.
We had the high tea so we had savoury things as well as lots of cakes which was really nice.
The whole experience was delightful from the table decoration to the tea, we will definitely be going again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bbarn29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Everything about The Angel impressed us during our recent stay: friendly and professional service; lovely decor throughout; luxurious, quiet and comfortable room and bathroom, and the complimentary taxi link-up to The Walnut Tree is great. Judging by the quality of the breakfast, we might have enjoyed a very decent evening meal at the hotel but it has to be said the dinner at The Walnut Tree was exceptional. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChippyClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This small hotel is centrally located in the bustling market town of Abergavenny. It's clearly used by locals and visitors and everything smacks of quality. The service is excellent and the staff are all wonderful without being obsequious which makes the experience wonderful.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel are subject to some noise from late night revellers - but this does...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosemaryMcG_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abergavenny
4.3 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 3 in Abergavenny
544 reviews
9.4 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
6.3 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crickhowell
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
15.2 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
985 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abergavenny Hotel
Abergavenny Hotel
#2 of 31 in Abergavenny
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel

Address: 15 Cross Street, Abergavenny NP7 5EN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Abergavenny
Price Range: $128 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Angel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish 4 star hotel and place to eat in the Brecon Beacons. Winner of The Tea Guild's prestigious Top City, Country Hotel Tea Award 2011 and AA Hotel of the Year Wales 2016/2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angel Hotel Abergavenny
Angel Hotel Abergavenny
The Angel Abergavenny, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing