We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Angel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Angel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Abergavenny
Certificate of Excellence
Newport
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed at the Angel for a birthday and eat at the Walnut Tree. The Angel is a fantastic hotel with lots of character and very helpfull staff. The room we had was very clean, large and had everything that you needed. Good TV, Coffee and Teas in ample quantities. Shower was strong and hot, bed was just brilliant, very supportive and loads of room. We had a room overlooking the high street, which was a little noisey early mornig when the rubbish lorry came around , but thats small issue compaired with the overall quality of the room itself.

The foxhunter bar is a great mix of people staying and locals who were all very freindly.

Breakfast we OK, lots of it and from local suppliers. I have to say that the only small issue was that the bacon was very salty which detracted a litlle from the experience and our table wobbled a lot.

All in all, a great place to stay, somewhere that you can go back to many times - Walnut tree was also excellent and the owner Shaun Hill is a real gentleman and great Chef.

Room Tip: Try and go for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mor-than
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    232
    65
    32
    9
See reviews for
131
399
22
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Abergavenny
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Called in after the Boxing Day hunt and despite being rammed we were served and found seats in the bar quite easily. Great atmosphere mulled wine and mince pies, excellent service. Good to see a healthy mix of locals we knew and visitors getting the same quality of service as ourselves.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lawrence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Booked this weekend for my husband's birthday, we were greeted by a very helpful receptionist who showed us to our room, we had been upgraded before arrival and the room was newly refurbished to a very high standard. The staff were extremely polite and accomodating the Champagne High Tea was delicious, we had chance to fully enjoy the experience sat on comfy sofas in a lounge area. We had a meal at The Walnut Tree as part of the package, a complimentary taxi was provided to and from the restaurant. The meal was exquisite, plenty of choice on the menu. Unfortunately I did not like my choice of desert, but the waitress simply cleared it away and told me to choose another. I would definitely recommend this weekend to anyone wanting a relaxing break, in a beautiful Welsh Town, with lots of history and places to visit nearby.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mews, which is a building outside the hotel with only two rooms in, it is very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janbomar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

This was our first visit to The Angel to stay overnight, although we had used the restaurant and bar facilities more than once during the decade we lived in the area, which we left several years ago. The hotel had previously had a "tired" appearance and we were most pleasantly surprised with its refurbishment. Our room was excellent and the bathroom was well appointed, staff were friendly and courteous. We were attending a dinner so cannot comment on the food, other than the breakfast, which offered good variety and freshly cooked food. We would definitely visit again and would recommend it to others, which we may not previously have felt able to do.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFoster48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Decided on a lunch here with family, the staff were very attentive, the food was good, its a lovely restaurant to dine in and they were very good with the children we had with us.

One niggle really is the Car park!! What a pain, although there is another over the road, its very tight and not many spaced, but this is expected I suppose in a town Hotel.

If you are a lady and a handbag love dont look over the road - one word. RADLEY!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonnBouche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We escaped the usual festive frenzy and cocooned ourselves in the warm and welcoming Angel Hotel for a few hours. Food was excellent, service superb and overall ambiance spot on. Feel blessed to have this haven on our doorstep. Thank you Angel Hotel, merry Christmas.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lady Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouthshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

We fell in love with the Angel Hotel at Abergavenny during the summer when their Oak Room restaurant was being refurbished. We had several meals their during this time and were very impressed with the quality and variety of the food and the excellent service.

When the Oak Room reopened we anticipated a continuation of the dining experience. Our first visit just after the opening was disappointing but it was a busy Saturday Lunchtime so we made allowances and gave them the benefit of the doubt.

However we lunched there yesterday and were equally disappointed. Athough the quality of the food and service have been maintained we found the menu although extensive could only be described as having limited appeal.

Worse however was the very close proximity of the tables. I understand that the Angel needs to maximise the floor space but less than 6 inches between tables was unacceptable. The inability to have a private conversation during lunch was made worse by a loud mouthed man, old enough to know better, on the next table who seemed to want to share his conversation with the restaurant.

Sadly we will be crossing The Angel off our “ Favourites “ list

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldgreencrossing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your recent dining experience at The Angel.

I am sorry you were not happy with the menu, however the Foxhunter bar and Oak room share the same menu, yet menus change due to seasons.

I am pleased however you enjoyed your food along with the excellent service.

We hope you will reconsider and think of us as one of your favourites again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Charlotte Griffiths
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abergavenny
4.3 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
9.4 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crickhowell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abergavenny Hotel
Abergavenny Hotel
#2 of 30 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel

Property: The Angel
Address: 15 Cross Street, Abergavenny NP7 5EN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Abergavenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Angel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish hotel and place to eat in the Brecon Beacons. Winner of The Tea Guild's prestigious Top City, Country Hotel Tea Award 2011 and AA Hotel of the Year Wales 2016/2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angel Hotel Abergavenny
Angel Hotel Abergavenny
The Angel Abergavenny, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing