We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oustanding”
Review of The Angel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Angel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Abergavenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Recently booked a conference for around 30 over 2 days; nothing but praise from the entire party. Helpful, friendly and attentive staff, fantastic food and really luxurious suites. Would highly recommend, especially a stay in the Cottage (one of the rooms separate from the main hotel) which has a full kitchen and living room with a fire and 2 double bedrooms and even comes with free peanuts :-D

Room Tip: Well worth paying a little extra to stay in the Mews or Castle Cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LillieBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (947)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

747 - 753 of 947 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2012

Lovely food, the deli mixed starer on a board is yummy,, good atmosphere for drinks (although bar can get busy on weekends), it has recently been refurbished and looks fab. The cocktails are amazing!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redd3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

As The Angel Hotel is almost opposite Abergavenny's Borough Theatre we decided to try out their offer of pre-theatre supper for £15 a head before a show. After drinks in the bar (excellent Wye Valley beers) we arrived at around 6.30 in the restaurant. Our table of four was the last to be occupied. Although the restaurant was completely full, the staff looked neither stressed nor harassed (but no doubt paddling furiously under the calm surface). Service was excellent and very quick. Three starter choices and three main courses were all carefully thought. For a starter I had the best smoked salmon I've had in years. Main courses were very varied. My companions enjoyed a smoked haddock risotto, and vegetarian cannelloni, while I very much enjoyed stuffed pheasant breast on a celeriac base. With coffee to follow this was very good value indeed and to be highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you're going for the pre-theatre supper deal book early. The restaurant was completely full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Brinkwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Superb Sunday Lunch was had by all, first visit in the restaurant since they have re opened after the refurbishment and I can honestly say it was first class in every way.

Food was of excellent quality, beautifully cooked and served by very pleasant staff, nothing to much trouble. We all had the roast beef and asked how wished it served pink or well done and everyones meal was as asked. I would like to compliment the lady that took our order, she was very professional and had her finger on the pulse making sure everything ran smoothly and it certainly did.

The newly renovated restraurant is very tastefully decorated and very stylish, can't wait for another excuse to revist.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

A clean very friendly hotel didn't eat in so can't comment on food except for breakfast which was spot on. The room was lovely four poster very spacious not crammed at all with everything you would need well done would recommend to freinds

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Livero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Beautiful hotel, fantastic location, staff really friendly and helpful - loved the decor of the Angel and how every communal area has a distinctly different feel to it so something for everyone. Our room was beautiful, the Cottage, amazing to have a whole cottage to ourselves. Walnut Tree was amazing for our evening meal, again would heartily recommend!

Room Tip: The cottage was amazing, great to have separate sitting room with fire!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We enjoyed another weekend at The Angel taking advantage of their Gourmet break. As usual the service we received was excellent and we very much enjoyed the upgrade to a stylish deluxe room. A bonus is the bottle of wine that is delivered to the room shortly after arrival. There is a comfortable guest lounge but its a treat to sit by the coal fire in the bar. We love this place and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenM487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abergavenny
4.3 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 3 in Abergavenny
546 reviews
9.4 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
6.3 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crickhowell
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
15.2 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
993 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Beaufort Coaching Inn & Brasserie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel

Address: 15 Cross Street, Abergavenny NP7 5EN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Abergavenny
Price Range: $130 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Angel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish 4 star hotel and place to eat in the Brecon Beacons. Winner of The Tea Guild's prestigious Top City, Country Hotel Tea Award 2011 and AA Hotel of the Year Wales 2016/2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angel Hotel Abergavenny
Angel Hotel Abergavenny
The Angel Abergavenny, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing