We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday lunch at the Angel, a real treat.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Angel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Angel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Abergavenny
Certificate of Excellence
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch at the Angel, a real treat.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

We ( a party of eleven) ate Sunday lunch earlier today at the Angel . We were seated in the Brecon suite on the first floor which was very comfortable and a private dining experience. I can only say that the lunch was superb, the service attentive and not fussy. It really was a lovely treat to be wined and dined in such comfortable surroundings,we all enjoyed our visit very much.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rowell186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    232
    65
    32
    9
See reviews for
131
399
22
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Linslade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

We enjoyed a very pleasant overnight stay with dinner for our large group; 15 adults.
Check-in was handled efficiently, as was our departure. There has been considerable refurbishment of both bedrooms and public areas. (In fact, the main restaurant is currently closed but a temporary dining arrangement has been made in their Wedgewood Room, of which more shortly.)
Bedrooms too are gradually being modernised to a good standard. I would suggest asking for a room to the rear of the hotel - overlooking their courtyard/car park, with views to the Sugar Loaf - as I was on the side (no outlook - a wall opposite) and friends were to the front - which we found a little disruptive, although through no fault of the hotel. There is clearly a late-nite pub nearby where the returning revellers were both noisy (and crude!) around 3 a.m.; also, the council chose to send in the street-cleaning truck a couple of hours later. But maybe this only happens on a weekend?
Meanwhile, back in the Wedgewood, dinner was excellent with very good and attentive service throughout. Groups of more than ten have to "make do" with a restricted menu. This is not so terrible, as there was ample choice of half-a-dozen or so starters, mains and desserts. Much was made of local sourcing and our meal was first class. I'd like to return in a smaller group to take full advantage of their varied menu.
Sadly, breakfast service was not as enjoyable where we and other guests all seemed to arrive within a short period. Staff were struggling to allocate space and time and could have done with some help to move matters along. However, when food did arrive, it was well cooked and enjoyable. For some reason, tea/coffee appears along with the food but perhaps this was connected with the high demand on this particular morning.
We visit south Wales regularly and Abergavenny is a good location for exploring Monmouthshire, Wye Valley, Forest of Dean etc or further afield to Cardiff or the (Brecon) Beacons and I would have no hesitation returning to the Angel and hopefully, too, to enjoy one of those award-winning high teas that others have enthused about!

Room Tip: Rooms to rear overlook good views and are quieter than frontage over main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SilverBuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with you feedback following your recent stay at The Angel.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your evening meal; however, I am disappointed that your breakfast did not live up to your expectations. Our team strives to provide exemplary service to our guests and I am sorry that your breakfast did not reflect this.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Angel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Charlotte Griffiths
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

The Angel hotel, Abergavenny.....car park at rear. On a chilly March
day a warm comfortable setting. The 'tea room' itself quietly stylish,
reminiscent to me of the Forte tea rooms in Bath now long gone, no
'muzak' in fact no music at all (good). On a Monday afternoon was all
but full. Be prepared to imbibe and tantalize the senses. A superb tea
and coffee list on offer but more of that later. The food, esthetically
beautiful should be savoured, for example in the cream cheese and
cucumber sandwich, the cucumber (fresh) has a hint of marinade/very
slightly vinegary etc. Eat slowly there are subtleties throughout.
The sandwiches have a lettuce garnish EAT IT.....it has a delicious
dressing. The warm scone, very well made but to my taste rather too
sweet. I would prefer it plain so that it's able to take those lashings
of jam and cream provided. The cakes.......I've seen more stylized
versions that are frankly pure sugar. These were wonderful the most
inventive being an upside down apple crumble made to look like a cup
cake. There were sponges with fruit on and a hint of something soaked
in the base of the sponge, a small custard slice, a cocoa rich
chocolatey one, all simply delicious. Of course if you can't eat all
your goodies they'll box them for you and prettily tie them with ribbon.
The staff and service was all excellent and very friendly. The teas; if
like our family you love all teas you'll be spoilt for choice. Discuss
this with the staff. If you can, speak to Anna, she is French, charming
and a font of information on the teas. She's a treasure make sure you hand onto her. Our only critique was to suggest that it would be very beneficial to know the suggested infusion time for
individual teas, because this can vary widely from almost none to
five/plus minutes. If you are going to provide such wonderful teas we
should make the most of them. On this note I saw at least five
different types of tea pot. I started with 'Jasmine Pearls' which was
served in a Bodum type glass infusion pot. One sip, eyes wide open,
exquisite! The best jasmine tea I've ever tasted. My daughter had
'Pu-erh' which came in a small glass pot with it's own little glass tea
bowl. I then tried 'Flowering Osmanthus' an amazing hand tied bundle of leaves and flowers that 'explode' into a flower in the pot. A wonderful deeper flavour than the jasmine and with more substance, a new one to me. If by chance you find you're not too keen on your choice, it will happily be changed for another. I then acquired a pot of 'Whole Rose Buds' a complete joy, clean and so indulgent. Can you tell just how much we enjoyed the experience? We will of course be back, after all............
we still have a lot of teas to try!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

What a fantastic review! Thank you for taking the time to post such a detailed report of your afternoon tea experience. Your feedback is very much valued as it helps us in enhancing and developing the service we provide to our guests.

I am glad the team has lived up to your expectations, and we all look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully soon!

Kind Regards,

Charlotte Griffiths
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergwili, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

Had a first class afternoon tea with delightful pastries and sandwiches topped off with equally delicious scones with clotted cream and jam. The range of teas are excellent with a good description of the taste. The tea was taken in the restaurant with the staff friendly and attentive. I would have given an 'Excellent' if it had not been for an hour wait at the table prior to any tea/food being served but once it came no complaint. In their defence they were busy. Will probably return in the evening to try their lunch/dinner menu in the future.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am pleased to read you enjoyed your afternoon tea at The Angel. I was sorry to learn of the long wait yet happy the staff were very friendly and attentive.

On behalf of us all here at The Angel, I very much hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Charlotte Griffiths
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

Had a wounderful afternoon tea at the angel. The warm pasties sandwiches and cakes were faboulus. There was a good variety of choice, the sandwiches were deeply filled with smoked salmon, ham, cream cheese and cucumber and egg mayo.The cakes were all lovely and fresh and the warm scones with clotted cream were to die for!.... There was a good choice of teas and the staff were very friendly. This was our first visit for afternoon tea but it wont be our last..
Have been to several other hotels in south wales for tea, but the angel has the most to offer..

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheran s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

I have visited the angel to eat many times, recently on 2/3/12, very good food, great service, and looking forward to the new restaurant that is being refurbished

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroljuk j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

Stylish, full of character, excellent staff, just a pleasure to spend time there. FOOD IS AMAZING.

Room Tip: its a bit of an old creaky building so go high up to avoid creaky floorboards above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarkeym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abergavenny
4.3 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
9.4 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crickhowell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abergavenny Hotel
Abergavenny Hotel
#2 of 30 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel

Property: The Angel
Address: 15 Cross Street, Abergavenny NP7 5EN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Abergavenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Angel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish hotel and place to eat in the Brecon Beacons. Winner of The Tea Guild's prestigious Top City, Country Hotel Tea Award 2011 and AA Hotel of the Year Wales 2016/2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angel Hotel Abergavenny
Angel Hotel Abergavenny
The Angel Abergavenny, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing