We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Angel
Nearby Hotels
Premier inn Abergavenny Hotel(Llanfoist)(Great Value!)
$69
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
$96
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Manor Hotel(Crickhowell)
$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$95
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$176
Priceline
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel(Pontypool)(Great Value!)
$123
$105
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$164
Agoda.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (977)
Filter reviews
977 results
Traveler rating
615
251
69
31
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
615
251
69
31
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teahigh teacastle cottagesandwichescoaching innlovely hoteldeluxe roomwithout exceptioncar parkwine listpublic areashigh streetset menubar areaspecial occasionsmoked salmonsunday lunch
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
858 - 863 of 977 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Had a wounderful afternoon tea at the angel. The warm pasties sandwiches and cakes were faboulus. There was a good variety of choice, the sandwiches were deeply filled with smoked salmon, ham, cream cheese and cucumber and egg mayo.The cakes were all lovely and fresh and the warm scones with clotted cream were to die for!.... There was a good choice of teas and the staff were very friendly. This was our first visit for afternoon tea but it wont be our last..
Have been to several other hotels in south wales for tea, but the angel has the most to offer..

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheran s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

I have visited the angel to eat many times, recently on 2/3/12, very good food, great service, and looking forward to the new restaurant that is being refurbished

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroljuk j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Stylish, full of character, excellent staff, just a pleasure to spend time there. FOOD IS AMAZING.

Room Tip: its a bit of an old creaky building so go high up to avoid creaky floorboards above you.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarkeym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Let me first of all state that I have never stayed at The Angel Hotel but I have observed its customer service at first hand and it always impresses me.
What I wish to review here is the quality of the Sunday lunch provided. My family has frequented this hotel on Sundays for about two years - every month or so on average.
The hotel's restaurant doesn't seem to be listed as a separate entity on Tripadvisor but deserves to be highlighted on the basis of its Sunday lunch alone!
The ambience of the hotel is in keeping with its location in an old country town and status as an ex-coaching inn. Lunch costs less than £20.00 for 3 courses and the quality of food is exceptional. You have a choice of around six dishes for each course.
Wine is served to you from the bottle at your table - a nice touch.......
Fellow diners reflect the air of old-world luxury found in the furnishings of this lovely hotel.
If lunch is too much for you they serve a great afternoon tea which I've also sampled.
The hotel is undergoing a modest refurbishment at present which was hardly needed as far as I could see!
If you are in the area do book a Sunday lunch at this hotel - you won't be sorry if my experience is anything to go by! My honest opinion is that this hotel really could be serving the best Sunday lunch in South Wales......................

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

I am very pleased that your Sunday lunches at The Angel have consistently lived up to your expectations.

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Angel Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Charlotte Griffiths
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Had high tea for two on Valentines Day (19.50 each). atmosphere, staff and food all good. Give it a go

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews