We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Second home”
LLANWENARTH LODGE COTTAGE
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
LLANWENARTH LODGE COTTAGE
LLANWENARTH COTTAGE LOUNGE LLANWENARTH COTTAGE KITCHEN
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
LLANWENARTH LODGE COTTAGE
LLANWENARTH COTTAGE LOUNGE
LLANWENARTH COTTAGE KITCHEN
LLANWENARTH COTTAGE BEDROOM
OUR 10FT HIGH RED KITE CARVED AFTER THE BLUE SPRUCE DIED
SUMMERHOUSE
LLANWENARTH 06/07/08
AUTUMN TOWARDS THE SUGARLOAF NOV 2012
OUR BEATIFUL BLUE CEDAR DIED BUT A MAJESTIC RED KITE WAS BORN
CROQUET ON THE LAWN
RED KITE TOWARDS COTTAGE NOV 2011
Summerhouse
Daffodills  Along the Drive Braving the Cold Weather  April 2013
June 2013 and the garden is awake at last.
Entrance Pathway to the Paddock Garden June 2013
A Corner of the Paddock Garden June 2013
The Cottage Garden June 2013
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire, South Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Phil W
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Second home ”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in September 2018

Sue and Tony are great hosts at a wonderful location. This place is the perfect place to unwind with a good book and a glass of some local wine. Visited many times feels like a second home. There’s plenty to do in the area should you wish too or just lounge about in the huge garden.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith H
1 review
“Fantastically equipped and cosy cottage!”
Reviewed September 11, 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Thanks Sue and Tony for our great welcome and the stay in your cosy cottage. Expecting walks and time for reading, we did so much. Big hikes, nice walks but also Big Pit, Cardiff, trips to lovely towns like Crickhowell. Surrounded constantly with wonderful views, there were highlights everyday. Thanks for your tips about local restaurants and pubs. We went to them but also enjoyed the advantages of the local supermarkets during cosy evenings. We'd love to come back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 13, 2018
Thank you for your kind review Keith, it was a pleasure having you both stay and we are so pleased that you found so much to delight you during your time with us.
We are happy to know that you are planning to make a return visit to The Cottage.
Sue.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MChristin...
Essey-les-Nancy, France
2 reviews
“Beautiful quiet cottage in an exquisite setting”
Reviewed August 26, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Llanwenarth cottage is perfect for a couple. It is extremely comfortable with everything you need and more!!! The garden is truly magnificent.
The cottage is both secluded surrounded by wonderful views, and close to the main road which takes you to the Brecon Beacons or Cardiff, for example. You can also go walking along the canal directly from the cottage.
Very warm welcome from Tony and Sue, you feel at home immediately.
I have already recommended it to both my English and French friends.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2018
Thank you for your kind review, it was a pleasure to meet you and thank you for recommending our Cottage to your friends.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 30, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 31, 2018
So glad your parents weren’t disappointed by the break in the weather and that they enjoyed their brief stay with us. Our aim is always to give the best impression of this beautiful place we are so lucky to call our home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
wilmavanh...
Oosterhout, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a dream of a garden”
Reviewed July 27, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

This cottage is attached to the owners house, the most lovely people I ever met. They also share their garden with you. I am a photographer and this garden is a dream, wild flowers and plant everywhere. There are seating areas all over the garden and the views are spectacular. Walking routes straight from the cottage and the nice little town of Crickhowell close by where you are served by outstandig independent shops. In the evening we enjoyed a regular walk along the brecon beacon canal. Shops are also closeby enroute to Abergavenny. We had a fantastic stay in a wel kitted and cool cottage and even entertained my visiting son who could stay for a few nights. 10 out of 10 for us!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 31, 2018
It is always our pleasure to welcome our guests to this beautiful part of Wales and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We enjoyed your company and it was lovely to meet you and your son.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eddiecrom...
Swansea County, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb cottage in great location.”
Reviewed June 6, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Just returned from a two day break at Llanwenarth cottage. We had a wonderful relaxing time. The countryside in the Brecon Beacons is outstanding and the garden of the lodge (which you are encouraged to use) is superb,

We had a fabulous welcome from Sue and Tony, who can't do enough to make you feel welcome. As I say they love you to make use of the garden and it's facilities.

We mainly just relaxed, very peaceful, but did manage a trip into Abergavenny. A pretty town with nice restaurants, pubs and wine bar.

Overall can't wait to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 7, 2018
Thank you so much for your review we are delighted that you enjoyed your time at The Cottage and had a restful weekend. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
my f
2 reviews
“A home abroad”
Reviewed May 28, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We spent 5 nights in the annex cottage (in one of the most comfortable beds of all time). We were greeted by sue and Tony’s daughter who was equally warm and helpful. Sue and tony sent us a map prior to our arrival to help find the cottage and with this it really wasn’t hard to find. There were yummy welsh cakes and tea on arrival, which was a lovely touch. The cottage consists of a well equipped kitchen (we cooked simple meals but found all we needed in equipment and spices. Also there is a large waitrose nearby- 5min drive), a bathroom with walk in shower, a comfortable living room (with tapes or dvds at your disposal and a sky box if you wished to order a film - we spent one comfortable evening eating chocolates watching a movie after a long hike), an extra toilet and an upstairs bedroom. All rooms were tastefully and lovingly decorated in a country style (if ewe know what I mean). It was a simple stay and the hosts really seem to care about you :) we ate several of our meals outdoors because there were various seating arrangements available in the extensive garden. You can park outside easily and can reach many attractions by car (we visited big pit, the gower peninsula, pen y fan...) but there is also a lovely pub (tavern y bont run by Jerry) which you can walk to along the canal to Govilon.
fairytale grounds full of flowers, squirrels and bunnies.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 29, 2018
It is important to us that our guests feel comfortable and at home when they visit and your review makes it all very worthwhile. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your brief stay with us and the various attractions afforded by this beautiful part of Wales.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing