We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Location”
LLANWENARTH LODGE COTTAGE
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
LLANWENARTH LODGE COTTAGE
LLANWENARTH COTTAGE LOUNGE LLANWENARTH COTTAGE KITCHEN
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
LLANWENARTH LODGE COTTAGE
LLANWENARTH COTTAGE LOUNGE
LLANWENARTH COTTAGE KITCHEN
LLANWENARTH COTTAGE BEDROOM
OUR 10FT HIGH RED KITE CARVED AFTER THE BLUE SPRUCE DIED
SUMMERHOUSE
LLANWENARTH 06/07/08
AUTUMN TOWARDS THE SUGARLOAF NOV 2012
OUR BEATIFUL BLUE CEDAR DIED BUT A MAJESTIC RED KITE WAS BORN
CROQUET ON THE LAWN
RED KITE TOWARDS COTTAGE NOV 2011
Summerhouse
Daffodills  Along the Drive Braving the Cold Weather  April 2013
June 2013 and the garden is awake at last.
Entrance Pathway to the Paddock Garden June 2013
A Corner of the Paddock Garden June 2013
The Cottage Garden June 2013
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire, South Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Londoner1...
Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Location”
Reviewed June 10, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at this cottage for a week and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. The cottage was clean and had everything we needed for our stay.
The owners, Sue and Tony, were always very helpful. Sue and Tony have worked hard on their garden over many years and with our visit being May/June time we were able to appreciate all the effort they have put in. The garden was for us an area of relaxation and enjoyment - we greatly enjoyed our games of croquet whilst taking in the marvellous views of the surrounding hills.
A canal walk is about 5 minutes stroll away.
The cottage is secluded yet not far away from The Heads of Valley road making it an ideal place to go visiting from.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 18, 2017
Thank you for your fabulous review, Loved having you to stay in our cottage and it was great to see you enjoying croquet. Hope to see you again next year. Regards Sue&Tony.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
designer1...
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely location, excellent accommodation, very friendly hosts”
Reviewed June 2, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The Annexe is situated up a private drive in 4 acres of grounds. The views from the garden are superb and there are walks directly from the property.
The owners are very friendly and are very knowledgable about the area and the Annexe has an excellent choice of walking maps and information about what is on locally and local attractions.
The accommodation is excellent, well equipped and sparklingly clean. It is very comfortable and well laid out. There were beautiful Welsh cakes waiting for us and fresh milk, tea, coffee, sugar etc.
There is plenty of parking and the gardens are beautiful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 5, 2017
THank you for your fabulous review it means a lot to know our guests have enjoyed their stay with us at Llanwenarth.
Sue.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen T
2 reviews
“Peaceful,relaxing pet-friendly break”
Reviewed January 3, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

This little place attached to the owner's house is perfect for a couple who want to get away from it all. The owner Sue is really welcoming and had the place nice & toasty warm for our arrival. Everything you need is here, kitchen well equipped, nice lounge with sky TV & good wifi, and the king size bed is very comfortable.
The cottage is near the Brecon & Monmouthshire canal for those who like walking on the flat & at the foot of the Blorange for those who like a hill challenge.
We will definitely be back

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 5, 2017
Karen, thank you for your kind words, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit.
Regards, Sue.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoraida Q
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Very good place to relax and be in peace”
Reviewed December 13, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

A very well appointed accommodation. One feels at home as soon as one enters . Sue is a very good host that receives you warmely and ready to help. We enjoyed some small cakes that Sue made. Delicious !
The kitchen is so well furnished that there is nothing that has not been thought of. Lovely TV for those who enjoy it. Good wifi and plenty of books and tourist . The bed is excellent for you to sleep like a log.
The house garden is very large and very well kept. But I missed a proper private garden for the cottage itself.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 20, 2016
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind words Zoraida.
Must dedicate some of the large garden to The Cottage as a private area - food for thought during the winter months..
Best wishes,
Sue.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn G
2 reviews
“Mr”
Reviewed November 29, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Once again had a fantastic time at Sue & Tony's cottage it's a lovely little place and they are so friendly and helpful will definitely be staying there again soon !!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 30, 2016
Hi Lynn,
It was a pleasure to meet you again and so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind words and look forward to your next visit.
Sue.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn G
2 reviews
“Mr”
Reviewed October 16, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Would just like to say to Sue & Tony thank you for a fantastic weekend at the cottage it very homely and a lovely place too relax !!! Will definitely come and stay again !!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 20, 2016
Thank you Lynn, pleased you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva H
New York
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Charming House with beautiful Grounds”
Reviewed July 5, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We booked this rental directly with the owner via email. The booking process was really easy, the owner, Sue Corfield, was wonderful to deal with and she held the reservation for 15 months (I'm an obsessive type A advance planner) on the honor system (no deposit required).

The location of the cottage was perfect for touring this part of Wales. It is close to a main thoroughfare so no time was wasted driving on little lanes to get the day started; yet, it's set in about 4 acres of beautiful landscaped lawn on a quiet road with only three other houses. We spent one lovely evening in the pagoda drinking beer and enjoying the birds and flowers and would have done that every evening if the weather had cooperated.

The cottage is a well equipped, comfortable, charming one bedroom just inside the Brecon Beacons. Although the cottage shares a wall with the owner's house there is a separate entrance and several distinct areas on the property for relaxing outdoors so privacy shouldn't be an issue. We had even more privacy because the owners were away during our stay. We were given the key and orientation by the owner's daughter who lives nearby. Conveniently there is a big Waitrose market and gas station an easy, under 10 minute drive away (right off the main road).

We highly recommend this rental with one small caveat. The WiFi only worked in one small area of the house. This wasn't' an issue for us because we only needed the Wi-Fi to download emails and do an occasional internet search. But, if you needed to do some work while on vacation this might be a problem.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location
Liked least: WiFi only useable in one small location in house
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 6, 2016
Eva, so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Llanwenarth. It is always useful to get feedback from our guests and we will endeavour to improve the Wi-Fi in The Cottage.
Regards Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing