We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS FOOD”
Review of Hen & Chickens

Hen & Chickens
Ranked #65 of 102 Restaurants in Abergavenny
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“FABULOUS FOOD”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The food is always good FRESH and very good portions. The staff are always greeting you with a smile they are very friendly. Well done guys keep up the good work.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    72
    33
    20
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quality and value.”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Fantastic food, great choice of beer, service very quick and the staff are all ready to help. Will always highly recomend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Busman17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Crap”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I cant add anymore, it was pants. Shocking food, service crap and no value for money. Its a joke but they rely on unsuspecting tourist trade. however, that will soon change as people will come on here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paulo19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“uncooked chicken”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I ordered chicken wrapped in bacon and stuffed with pate.When it arrived it looked very unappealing.The accompanying vegetables looked unappetising and when I touched them I realised they were cold.I cut into the chicken and realised it was uncooked.
To be fair the waiter was happy to change my order to something else but really this was totally unacceptable fare.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank amandadavies43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Slow & Meagre”
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We stopped at The Hen & Chickens on Saturday lunchtime and the food took 40 minutes to arrive. The children were auto-digesting by the time it came!
I had "King Prawn Salad", the prawns appeared to be straight from a pack and the salad consisted of lettuce, tomato, cucumber and a couple of slivers of onion. That set us back £7.95 which seemed extortionate for what it was.
My husband had Scampi & Chips which was the same size as the children's meals. One of my boys had a very nice cheeseburger and the other a very average sausage and mash (you could almost count the number of baked beans!)
I took one of the boys to the ladies toilet and I can only describe it as horrible. When he lifted the seat there was faeces all over the the underside and in the toilet bowl, it was grim, just glad we went after lunch!
It's a shame as this place could be really lovely. We sat outside in the sun and had we known we were in for a long wait would have given the children some bread. The menu was actually very good (perhaps we just chose badly) and with slightly better service and a little attention to detail it could have been really nice. Someone definitely needs to focus on the toilets!
All in all not a particularly great lunch for £30 (and that only included 1 diet coke as everyone else had tap water!)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hen & Chickens also viewed

Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Chepstow, Monmouthshire
 
Llantarnam, Torfaen
 

Been to Hen & Chickens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing