We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Warwicks Country Pub
Ranked #47 of 102 Restaurants in Abergavenny
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $110 - $280
Cuisines: British, Cafe, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: An idyllic Country Pub, serving a range of traditional meals and real ales.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Had an evening meal and it was lovely, large portions and well presented. The owners were lovely, very friendly and welcoming. Would definitely go back and would be more than happy to recommend.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KP1Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    22
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pie Night”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Pie Night and Curry night on Wednesdays is fantastic, great value for money and tastes excellent, really hits the spot after a long day.
The place is always spotlessly clean and has a great atmosphere, friendly staff and homely feel.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 189CarolineJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“lovely pub, nice atmosphere, great food!”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Took my wife here for a meal a few weeks ago. We both enjoyed the meal and the atmosphere, cant understand what the review below is on about, it cant be the same pub. (rival pub perhaps?!)

We were given a friendly welcome by the landlady and sat in the pub area next to the log fire whilst we looked at the menus. The pub is a traditional country pub of olde, complete with settles old signs and pictures. After ordering we were given the choice of remaining where we were or sitting in the restaurant area, of which we chose the latter.
I had the homemade pate, my wife had the prawn cocktail and we were even given still warm bread to share. I had the 'Warwick's Burger' and my wife had the battered haddock. Everything was fresh and home made, the chips were some of the best I've ever tasted. I have a good appetite but unfortunately I couldn't finish my burger!

I have been to lots of restaurants in the area, but I will definitely be back again and again to this one.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeffS00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“nasty looks from locals, dirty, Cramped, poor quality food”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Locals are so unwelcoming, expect a dirty look when you open the door, nowhere comfortable to sit, furniture would be better on the fire, food ingredients poor quality and not cooked by a a trained chef. A lot of swearing in the pub c word t word by locals, its really small people are in your face no privacy, its also dirty and we were reluctant to eat the food for that reason. Dont know who is writing the good reviews they must have been paid or are relatives. People eat here because theres no where else as all the pubs locally have been turned into houses.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank erica w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Traditional country pub!”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Arrived here for Sunday lunch and was expecting great food going by the reviews. Place was packed - always a good sign. A real traditional pub, cosy fire and lots of chattering going on. Have to admit the food really did not hit the mark from being the #1 place to eat in the area.
Quite average and poor really - nothing to write home about - sorry! There are better place to eat in the area.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Gwelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warwicks Country Pub also viewed

Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 

Been to Warwicks Country Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing