We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place... and good value!”
Review of Park Guest House

Park Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abergavenny
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Park Guest House
Ranked #20 of 30 Abergavenny B&B and Inns
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Nice place... and good value!”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I liked this place a lot - a lovely period house, with original windows, easy to find and with pleasant views from the breakfast room. The inside has a comfortable, un-tampered with feel, and there is a wealth of information in the guest lounge about the area and local places of interest.

I had a comfortable night in a very cosy room, was able to sleep all the better as it was not overheated. Felt genuinely of the period of the house's heyday, which suited me fine.

The breakfast room had a great array of quality yoghurts and spreads, all the more impressive given the very good value accommodation here. On the other hand I would call the cooked breakfast adequate rather than excellent - once the toast arrived it was palatable enough.

The proprietors were working hard to be friendly and welcoming, but it was slightly heavy-going and they appeared to be pre-occupied. I hope whatever is on their minds is resolved soon, as they clearly work hard to provide a great experience for guests at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Nice cottage type room at the back if you like that style, and are happy without en-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hwylasbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    15
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
9
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

As part of a large party of ramblers we spent 8 nights at the Park Guest House. We received a warm welcome and our stay was a very pleasant experience. The rooms were comfortable, cosy and clean. Breakfast freshly cooked and special dietary needs were catered to without problems. Some of our party bought packed lunches and were very satisfied with the content. From the moment we booked to the day we checked out we received a friendly, prompt and courteous service. We would not hesitate to book again at Park Guest House.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr_and_mrs_C-J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Very friendly & home from home feel. The couple running Park Guest House are very attentive & happy to help you with any enquiries. Breakfast is freshly cooked & every dietary need taken into consideration. Rooms are clean & very comfortable. Access to town centre is very near & complimented with a lovely walk through the local park & the guest house is also very well situated for all walking routes.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Benpaulie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timbuktu, Mali
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Just back from staying at the Park Guest House in Abergavenny with a bunch of fellow casual walkers. The rooms were very comfortable and we were made to feel very welcome. The couple running the guest house were friendly and made our stay very pleasant. The location is good and an easy walk into the town centre for evening food etc. I would happily return if we visit the area again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llandridod wells
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Made to feel welcome from the first phone call, friendly but not intrusive, and very flexible with arrangements. Rooms are well furnished, clean and with very comfortable beds. Lovely fresh cooked breakfast.
A pleasant short walk through the park to the town centre.
Don't hesitate to book, you will have a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lizann195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Good quality guest house friendly helpful owners. Great breakfast
Recommend easy short walk into town centre

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Topabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Just back from a 4 night stay here. I thought it was lovely, very homely and comfortable. The owners were lovely, very friendly and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was delicious made from local produce and the rooms were very cosy and nicely furnished - no flat screen TVs but that's not my top priority when looking for a good B&B. Can't believe the review below - they must have stayed at a different place to me! I will be back again at the end of the month.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seren72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abergavenny hotels
0.4 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 3 in Abergavenny
896 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blorenge View Bed & Breakfast
Blorenge View Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 30 in Abergavenny
44 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#13 of 30 in Abergavenny
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant
3.1 mi away
Llansabbath Country Farmhouse B&B
4.3 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 3 in Abergavenny
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Guest House

Property: Park Guest House
Address: 36 Hereford Road, Abergavenny NP7 5RA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Abergavenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Park Guest House Abergavenny, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing