We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best food in Wales”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of 1861 Restaurant

1861 Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
1861 Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 99 Restaurants in Abergavenny
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $63
Cuisines: British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Restaurant 1861 is a small rural family run restaurant in monmouthshire using locally sourced produce and home grown fruit and vegetables. The restaurant is a friendly professional relaxed fine dining venue ideal for all occasions.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best food in Wales”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We went to 1861 for a Saturday lunch. While we were waiting to be seated, we were provided with some very tasty olives and cashew nuts (for free). Before our meal, we were also given some warm, individually made loaf of bread. I truly enjoyed my main course 'Braised Stuffed Pigs Trotter, Madeira and Truffle Sauce'. It was beautifully done and well presented. The hot plum soufflé was the best soufflé I have ever had (see the photo uploaded). I was even given a dessert soup before my dessert. Great compliments to the chef!

My only criticism is the service from the lady in reception who seemed to be not very happy when we were ordering... I might be wrong.

My husband said, we would be coming back anyway, for the food is excellent.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Y-Ruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    79
    50
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wales UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding effort and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We went to 1861 a while back. We had pre meal drinks in a comfy room, and the lady ( can't remember her name ) even went to ask the chef a question i had about cooking.
The food was presented beautifully, and was nice.
We will be going back again for sure.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kimlouise80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Food nice, overpriced.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

The food was very nice and the staff were friendly and very helpful. Just feel little overpriced, we went on a deal and would not go unless I had one again. Again food very nice and the service was great, just feel bit overpriced when so many good restaurants in Abergavenny.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Taster menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We went to the 1861 and had the taster menu which was excellent, there was eight of us and the timing between each course was just right ,

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenbury Wells, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't recommend 1861 highly enough!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Our friends came to 1861 for a special wedding anniversary and were so smitten that we all went back together when our wedding anniversary followed shortly afterwards. The tasting menu we had was sensational.

Highlights were the little individual loaves, boudin sausage with lentils, lamb with sweetbreads, vodka sorbet, an amazing cheese board with lovely accompaniments, an incredible panacotta..but we savoured absolutely everything that was brought out of the kitchen.

I can confirm for the record that we're not friends with the owners (although they are really friendly people) but I think KJR21 must be a competitor!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ingeborgappledam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1861 Restaurant also viewed

Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 

Been to 1861 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing