We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seven course tasting menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 1861 Restaurant

1861 Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
1861 Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 99 Restaurants in Abergavenny
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $63
Cuisines: British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Restaurant 1861 is a small rural family run restaurant in monmouthshire using locally sourced produce and home grown fruit and vegetables. The restaurant is a friendly professional relaxed fine dining venue ideal for all occasions.
Cardiff Wales
Level Contributor
108 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Seven course tasting menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We went today as my husband had a birthday voucher from Travelzoo for the seven course tasting menu. Extremely good value as only a third of the usual price. As this is a surprise menu and each course explained when delivered to the table I won't go into detail as to what we had other then to say each course was a lovely surprise very well presented.

The portions were small which meant we could work our way thru the entire menu. The main course and the dessert portions very generous and we did think we would not finish the last dessert course but alas we did. The wine selection is very good and the regular menu looks great

It's a bit out of the way but worth the drive as very lovely venue and the owners and staff friendly and welcoming. Each course was served in a relaxed non rushed manner and forgot to say a glass of Prosecco appeared upon arrival and fresh hot bread came first before our courses. Highly recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KT182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    79
    50
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great restaurant and worth the drive to get there.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

I visited here with my family for a birthday lunch. It is slightly off the beaten track on a B road between Abergavenny and Ross, however the road is fine and it is definitely worth the drive there.

We went for Sunday lunch and there is both a Sunday Lunch and an A la carte menu available and the waitress advised us we could mix and match between them. I opted to have a soup from the Sunday Lunch menu (£22 for two courses, £25 for three courses on the day we visited) as my main course, followed by a dessert from the A la Carte menu.

The rest of my family all opted for the Sunday Roast beef which they said was excellent. Two medium rare and one opted for rare, and the beef came as ordered. Two of them also had the starters of Tempura Courgettes with chilli jam which was also excellent. My broccoli and Stilton soufflé soup was very good and the dessert of hot Blackberry soufflé was amazing, not overly sweet and with a great texture. Other family members chose bramble syllabub which was a little too sweet and a trio of chocolate desserts which was a great success. A nice touch was the tray of little petit fours with my coffee. There was also an Amuse Bouche of tomato and chive jelly before the lunches arrived, and a pre-dessert of blackberry and apple soup served in a little cup, both excellent and tasty.

The wine list was good, with some affordable excellent wines - we opted for an Argentinian Malbec which I think was under £20. I think we will take the time to visit here again, as it was good value for such great food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wales_Solo_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Exceptional dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We received a warm welcome as soon as we walked through the door. The staff were extremely friendly and accommodating and the restaurant itself was very comfortable and picturesque. Delicious food made from fresh locally sourced ingredients and from an extensive yet reasonably priced menu led to a fabulous meal. Looking forward to going back soon and would thoroughly recommend visiting.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

I've lived in the area for nearly ten years and hadn't eaten here until today. Briefly:

- welcome and service all good, waiting staff a little too softly spoken and meek!
- decor, lounge comfy, dining room a littled dated and dark.
- food: impressive to find a full a la carte service on a Sunday lunchtime. Technically demanding dishes delivered interestingly, but portions of vegetables a little small. Nice amuse-bouches.
- value: At £20 plus for several of the main courses I felt they were a little too pricey.

Overall though a positive experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monnowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Certainly A Hidden Gem Well Worth A Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Perhaps not as we'll known as some other restaurants in Monmouthshire but worth the trip. Obviously a huge amount of work goes into the preparation of the food and there are lots of treats such as amuse bouches and petit fours.

The food is very good but doesn't quite reach the level of being fantastic and I feel the prices are somewhat too high.

That wouldn't deter me from another visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pawl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1861 Restaurant also viewed

Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 

Been to 1861 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing