We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Fabulous Dinner”
Review of 1861 Restaurant

1861 Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
1861 Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 102 Restaurants in Abergavenny
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $63
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Restaurant 1861 is a small rural family run restaurant in monmouthshire using locally sourced produce and home grown fruit and vegetables. The restaurant is a friendly professional relaxed fine dining venue ideal for all occasions.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Another Fabulous Dinner”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Second visit, this time the tasting menu

The service was again first class, warm, friendly and professional

Seven courses, each fabulous - two desserts was a particular treat

There will definitely be a return visit!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    81
    53
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants anywhere.”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We have been to 1861 on a few occasions and never been disappointed.
The location, atmosphere and service is second to none and the food is divine.
There are so many little touches that make it special. Kate is superb on front-of-house and seems to be able to spend as much time as you like chatting without it ever interfering with the smooth running of the restaurant.
Simons dishes are thoughtful, beautifully presented and taste amazing. All the ingredients are locally sourced and given a page to themselves on the menu. We always take home a few of the home made jams and chutneys which again are simply superb.
You really do need to try 1861 for your self and I guarantee you will have a wonderful meal, great service and only one problem.... how soon can you get back there!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, South Wales
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Another 5 star experience at 1861”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We have nothing but praise to heap on Kate and Simon. Excellent front of house from Kate and Simon's superb cooking. Not somewhere we treat ourselves to very often, but when we do we know we will have a reliably perfect experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hu_and_ju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Abergavenny area!”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We have eaten at 1861 on numerous occasions and cannot fault the fantastic food, service and atmosphere. I am a vegetarian and it is such a treat to have my own menu listing so many appetising dishes that I am always spoilt for choice courgette flowers filled with ricotta cheese and dipped in a tempura batter, Jerusalem artichokes with Perl Wen cheese, I could go on... For non vegetarians there is also a fantastic range of dishes oh, and I must not forget to mention the simply georgous blackcurrant souffle I had for pudding. 1861 is a real gem and it is great for celebrations, quiet dinners or family lunches. Simon is an extremely talented chef and Kate his wife, runs the restaurant with a quiet efficiency ensuring that the the service is discreeet but perfect.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 600Tilly123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coelbren, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lunch time treat”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Whent to this restaurant for lunch with my Daughter absolutely gorgeous
Service was excellent,we had a living social voucher

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elsie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1861 Restaurant also viewed

Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 

Been to 1861 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing