We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kings Arms - what a find!”
Review of Kings Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kings Arms
Ranked #3 of 31 Abergavenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I stayed for four days and the staff were so welcoming and helpful. They helped me find my way around the town and suggested interesting walks. My room was perfect and so clean. I could see the Welsh hills from my bedroom window and I loved the sloping roof and the original features. The food was excellent - I recommend the sea bass and the steak. This is a hotel that deserves high praise.

Room Tip: I liked room 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carys R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SachaattheKings, Owner at Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

All the best

Jon and Sacha Child

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 337 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed at the Kings Arms, for 2 nights and could not fault it!!. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the staff were very attentive. My husband and myself were extremely impressed with the quality of the food, even better than some of the top restaurants in London!!! Sasha and Jon are wonderful hosts. Will be back soon!! Both my boys kept asking to go back the whole way home.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank huggam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SachaattheKings, Manager at Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a review.

We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you and your family back again in the near future.

All the best

Jon and Sacha Child

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

The food and wine were really good but the service was a bit chaotic. The staff need training - good hospitality isn't instinctive. Glad there's somewhere really promising in Abergavenny. For a town that has an excellent food festival there are surprisingly few good places to eat in the town itself.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank DaydreamingDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SachaattheKings, Manager at Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a review, I'm delighted you enjoyed your meal so much.
I will follow up on your comment with regards to the service, I appreciate your feedback on this.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

All the best

Sacha & Jon Child

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The King's Arms is a cracking place full of character and right in the heart of Abergavenny. Our room was spacious and clean and at the end of a corridor full of beams and quirkily uneven floor. The bed was comfy ( a wee bit small) but the room was uncomfortably stuffy at night, only a minor point but......The bar area is small but there was a good range of drinks (the Blorenge local beer was great) and there was a courtyard out the back to enjoy the rare glimpse of sun we were afforded. The food was good, mussels and steak hit the mark, lamb was good if a touch overcooked. Breakfast was excellent, took a while to arrive, but well worth the wait. The staff were all friendly, efficient and well presented. Well worth a visit!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Howellsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SachaattheKings, Manager at Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review, your feedback is very valuable.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

All the best

Jon and Sacha Child

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Lunch today excellent home made olive bread with wonderful butter so crisp and fresh then I had a crisp Caesar salad and my friend had Ox cheek which was full of intense flavour served with a mashed potato and spring greens and I had a taste of the beef was fab . The atmosphere was charming front of house was attentive and full of knowledge of the fare and the accommodation we will be back soon

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Robertjedward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SachaattheKings, Manager at Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We are delighted you stumbled across us and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

All the best

Jon and Sacha Child

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Can't believe the bad reviews below! Stayed overnight yesterday for dinner and B&B. We had the attic suite which was large, comfortable and wonderfully quirky, with beams everywhere. The hotel is very old, and has been well restored, keeping fire places, tilting floors and ancient doors, but also has all mod-cons, making it very comfortable. The food at dinner was excellent, my lamb was lovely and husband's gurnod was amazing...and he's fussy! The wine was exceptional! The service was friendly and efficient, and the managers, John and Sasha, although off to a function themselves, made sure to welcome us personally! A nice place to stay overnight if you want to do a bit of shopping in the bustling town of Abergavenny!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynJaneWelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SachaattheKings, Manager at Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thanks for taking the time out to write your review.

We're delighted you enjoyed your stay so much and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

All the best

Sacha and Jon Child

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We only sampled the restaurant, but from what others have said, all is exceptional.

The interior is very stylish and staff were very accommodating. The pub/hotel is located 50yards from the pedestrian area of the town centre and it was by chance we found it.
We should have booked as they were very busy, but they managed to squeeze us in. The atmosphere was sophisticated, pleasant and welcoming.

The bar area is modern, stone floor, cream walls with various sketch paintings, all giving a fresh ambience. Leather comfy chairs and brightly lit areas made you want to stay.

The restaurant area was equally welcoming, nicely decorated with plenty of space.
The food is quite something else....With the town's annual Food festival a Welsh national attraction, the food served here is the best advertisement for local produce and the highest talent in the kitchen. Totally recommend the Mackerel Pate, the fresh pasta with Wild Mushrooms and asparagus, Pork and crackling sticks! Bread was fresh and served warm with local butter.

For a last minute by chance place, this was a find that has to be shared.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Silverclouds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SachaattheKings, Manager at Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you for your great feedback, we are thrilled you had such a good experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon
All the best
Sacha & Jon Child

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abergavenny
0.1 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 3 in Abergavenny
947 reviews
4.4 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 3 in Abergavenny
546 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crickhowell
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Abergavenny Hotel
Abergavenny Hotel
#2 of 31 in Abergavenny
182 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#14 of 31 in Abergavenny
130 reviews
3 mi away
Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Arms

Address: 29 Nevill Street, Abergavenny NP7 5AA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Abergavenny
Price Range: $90 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kings Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Arms Hotel is a late sixteenth century coaching inn located in the heart of the bustling Welsh market town of Abergavenny; the gateway to Wales. We offer something for everyone; comfortable, well-appointed guest accommodation, lip smackingly delicious restaurant food and a versatile function space for all manner of events. Whatever your reason for visiting – an extended getaway break, a lazy lunch meet up with friends, or a flying coffee and newspaper pit stop – we’d like to extend you the warmest of welcomes. Come in and take a look around… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Arms Hotel Abergavenny
Kings Arms Abergavenny, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing