We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Panoramic countryside views”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
125 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire, South Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 125 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
ZARichmon...
London
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Panoramic countryside views”
Reviewed August 1, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Two things struck us about this unique b&b - first, the rolling hills visible as far as the eye can see, such a treat for Londoners, and secondly the generous size of the bedroom and en suite bathroom. Definitely book the "Superior en suite" you won't be disappointed. Colin and Sarah are exceptionally welcoming and cooked us really delicious breakfasts which you eat with other guests around a dining room table, again with a view of green hills and blue skies. Sugarloaf is a 5 minute drive away so you can park and do the walk up it. If you book here - one word of caution - print out and bring the booking confirmation from Sarah with you- you will need the directions. There is no network signal once you leave Abergavenny so don't make the same mistake we did and try winging it on your smartphone - we had to drive back to town and call the b&b from there to get directions!

Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 10, 2016
Hi there,
Thanks for your lovely words. We are so glad to hear that you loved the view and the size our room. Yes our superior ensuite is one of the biggest rooms and has a roll top bath and walk in power shower too. Colin will be pleased that you enjoyed breakfast - he loves cooking breakfast for guests and using all local produce to cook with. Thanks for the heads up in relation to the directions. When each guest books I send a detailed email with directions, link to google maps and the coordinates to make sure you guys don't get lost in the Welsh countryside.
It was a pleasure welcoming you and hope to welcome you back again someday.
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linton319...
Beaumaris, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Hard to find, but worth the effort in rural Wales”
Reviewed July 19, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A purpose built B&B in the countryside outside Abervagenny. It was a little difficult to get to down the very narrow lanes, but more than worth it. The views from all parts of the property are quintessential Wales. The proprietors are extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was comprehensive, as were the in room facilities. A true rural idyll.

Location Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 10, 2016
Hi there,
Thanks for your kind words and for taking the time to leave a review. We are so pleased that you had a great stay in rural Wales. Apologies you had a little difficulty finding us. We do send a detailed email with directions, link to google maps and co ordinary to ensure you guys don't get lost - sorry if you did not pick that up.
It was a pleasure welcoming you and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back someday.
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobSki-UK
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“If Carlsberg did B&Bs . . . .”
Reviewed July 7, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This B&B is totally faultless.

What more can I say?

The only other thing I would add is when you receive your confirmation from Sarah . . . TAKE IT WITH YOU for directions. It starts by saying "the sat nav will not get you here with our post code" and they are right !!! But when you find Celyn Farm . . . . . wow oh wow !!!!!

Location Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 10, 2016
Hi there Bob,
Great reviews are an absolute pleasure to read - they really make our day.
Thank you so much for your kind words. We hope to welcome you back someday.
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calanya
Germany
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely view ”
Reviewed July 4, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Really nice B&B. The view is unbelievable . Host friendly. Room clean and spacy even though it was under the roof. Bathroom had a weird shower construction because shower curtain was too long. Quite a lot of steepy steps to be mentioned. But if you are a healthy person no problem. Breakfast was really good and with a fantastic view!! WiFi working properly. Only problem: The only road which leads to the B&B is really narrow. If you see another car you are in real trouble because two cars don't fit and places to give way are really rare.

Visit was for: Privat
Traveling group: Paare
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 20, 2016
Hi Calanya,
Thanks for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the view, the people and the room. Thanks for letting me know about the shower curtain - we will look to replace this if it is too long. In terms of the stairs they are no steeper than a standard set of stairs but thanks for your comment. In terms of the roads - yes as we are in the country there are some country lanes to get to us but that is the small price to pay for the unbelievable views you mention.
Hope to welcome you again someday.
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lionel M
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent B & B in spectacular countryside”
Reviewed June 4, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Lovely B & B in beautiful Black Mountains. Lovely farmhouse accommodation, and a warm welcome from Sarah. Comfortable, quiet bedroom with views over the beautiful countryside. Excellent breakfast in lovely dining room. Great value, highly recommended.

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 20, 2016
Thanks for your lovely comments. An absolute pleasure to welcome you Lionel and hope to welcome you back someday.
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joannahol...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gods own valley”
Reviewed April 29, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Four of us stayed at Celyn Farm in April 2015 to do some of Offa's Dyke. Fantastic beautiful location and the best welcome you could possibly want. Sarah and Colin made us so welcome, great rooms, lovely breakfasts, even special packed lunch for us to take each day. Max the sheepdog was always on the doormat to greet us back.

Value Location
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 20, 2016
Hi Joanna,
Thanks for your lovely comments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Max the dog says hi! He loves all the attention that guests show him.
Hope to welcome you back someday.
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B
Tewkesbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic weekend”
Reviewed April 27, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Stayed this weekend, comfy room n Sarah and her family were the best hosts, even booking restaurants for all the guests. Breakfasts were all locally sourced ideal place to just chill n kick back for a weekend - bliss

Value Rooms
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Your age range 50-64
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 20, 2016
Hi Ian
Thanks for your lovely comments. We are so pleased that you had a fantastic weekend. We are only to pleased to help - we realise that people want a hassle free stay so try and help as much as we can by booking tables / taxis and providing recommendations for walks and places to visit.
Hope to welcome you again.
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing