We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wish we could have stayed longer!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
124 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire, South Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 124 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Nicky_H53...
Cheltenham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wish we could have stayed longer!”
Reviewed February 24, 2015 for a stay in March 2014

We stayed here for one night using the B&B as a base the night before meeting friends to climb Pen Y Fan. We absolutely loved it, a stunning, cosy home from home in the middle of nowhere. If you're looking for a get away to totally relax then this is the place to go! Neither myself or my husband had any phone signal up here, which didn't bother us in the slightest as it was a real break from reality for us. The owners were very friendly and made us feel very welcome and the cooked breakfast in the morning was superb. The views all around the B&B were amazing, nothing but mountains, sheep, and lots and lots of daffodils! Both of us wished we had booked to stay for the weekend instead of just one night. We will definitely be going back.

Cleanliness Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 10, 2015
Hi Nicky,

Thanks for your lovely comments. We are pleased that you had a good stay and hope to welcome you back someday.

Although we do not have phone signal there is free WIFI throughout the house so for those who want to access the internet/messages/emails they are able to.

Thanks again.

Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OhParker
1 review
“One of the best B&Bs I've ever stayed at!”
Reviewed February 10, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Stayed for three nights with my girlfriend and used the B&B as our base for walking, exploring South Wales and most importantly relaxing. Received excellent service throughout by all members of the family who run this establishment and they were helpful and friendly. Rooms were warm with full guest control of the radiators. Cooked breakfast was delicious with complementary extras available too. To top it all off, the view from the farmhouse across the valley toward Sugar Loaf Mountain is incredible any time of day and the stargazing at night is also superb. They thoroughly deserve their four star rating. We will most likely stay again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 10, 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed the views, breakfast and found your room comfortable. It was our pleasure to welcome you and to ensure that you had a great stay and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShoesandB...
Cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great stay, idyllic countryside and warm welcome”
Reviewed January 31, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Booked overnight stay for my husbands birthday and found this gem.

Colin and Sarah were welcoming and even recommended and booked a taxi for us to the walnut tree and it included a nice discount

Would definitely stay again, breakfast was lovely and even the dog was friendly

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 20, 2016
Hi there,
Thanks for your kind words. We are pleased to see that you had a great stay. The walnut tree is absolutely lovely - so pleased you had a great meal there. Booking a taxi was no problem at all - pleased to hear they gave you a nice discount!
Max and I hope to welcome you again someday.
Kind regards sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eurotrave...
Derby
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“LOVELY STAY”
Reviewed January 22, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Recently stayed here for the weekend, what a lovely place, was made to feel very welcome by all the family, rooms were spotless, breakfast very good, breakfast room looks out on to the mountains, cosy sitting room too. Would definitely stay again.

Rooms Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 20, 2016
Hi there,
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are delighted to hear that you had a lovely stay at the Celyn. We are so lucky to be in such a lovely location where you can look out of the bay windows in the breakfast room onto the sugar loaf mountain and surrounding countryside.
Thanks again and hope to welcome you back someday.
Kind regards sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Anniversary Getaway”
Reviewed January 19, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I recently stayed here the weekend for our anniversary. I am pleased to say I had an amazing time. Sarah and her family made us feel very welcome and comfortable. The rooms were clean and warmly decorated, the dining room looked out on to the mountains making breakfast a unique experience. The food was fresh and tasty, the service impeccable. The fireplace in the living room made perfect for a cosy evening in on Friday night. We dined at The Bear on Saturday night – excellent food! On Sunday morning we were able to catch the sunrise from the garden while relaxing on the swinging chairs. A huge thank you to Sarah and her family for making my weekend perfect!

Rooms Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 20, 2016
Hey Maria,
Thanks for sharing your experience - it's sounds like to had a wonderful stay and we are delighted to hear this.so pleased that you loved the rooms, breakfast, service and the cosy living room with the fire place. Catching the sunrise was a real treat.
Hope we can welcome you back someday, maybe in the summer time next.
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie...
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful and cosy!”
Reviewed December 13, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

My partner and I stayed for one night during a trip around the Brecon Beacons. We found this cosy B&B last minute (day before) and SO glad we did. A very warm reception - the room was beautiful, clean and had wonderful views of Sugar Loaf mountain! Free parking, wifi and tea & coffee making facilities along with bottled water in our room on arrival. The bed was comfortable, the surroundings peaceful and quiet. Breakfast served in the morning fresh, using locally sourced produce..all served with a smile and a chat from lovely Sarah who runs the B&B.
This is off the beaten track and must use country roads to get to but well worth it - follow instructions sent by Sarah as the sat nav won't get you there! Lots of places to walk and visit or even the perfect setting for a relaxed weekend away. I would highly recommend staying here and should we find ourselves back in Wales again (which I'm sure we will), we would not hesitate to return.
Thank you so much to The Celyn Farm for making our stay so enjoyable.

Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 21, 2016
Hi Stephanie,
Thanks so much for sharing your experience of the Celyn. It is great to hear that you had a lovely time. Yes we are so lucky that there is so much to do around here. Alternatively it is perfect for having a relaxing break taking in the surroundings and letting time pass by.
It would be a pleasure welcoming you back someday soon.
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma R
Pontypridd, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous B&B with breathtaking surroundings - definately recommend!!!”
Reviewed December 3, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay at Celyn Farm, its a fantastic B&B, very warm and welcoming on arrival. We had a gorgeous double room on the top floor overlooking the beautiful hillside and valley. Room was very clean and tidy with attention paid to every small detail. A lovely homemade breakfast was available every morning. In the evening we went to the dragons head pub, very nice meal and reasonably priced. We will definitely be back and highly recommend it to other people.

Rooms Location
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 21, 2016
Hi Emma,
Thanks for sharing your experience of your stay at the Celyn. We are so pleased to hear that you had a great stay and thought the surroundings were breathtaking. Thanks for your kind words in relation to the welcome, the room and the breakfast - it is really lovely to hear that out guests enjoy their stay.
Hope to welcome you back someday.
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing