We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful and cosy!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
125 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire, South Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 125 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Stephanie...
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful and cosy!”
Reviewed December 13, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

My partner and I stayed for one night during a trip around the Brecon Beacons. We found this cosy B&B last minute (day before) and SO glad we did. A very warm reception - the room was beautiful, clean and had wonderful views of Sugar Loaf mountain! Free parking, wifi and tea & coffee making facilities along with bottled water in our room on arrival. The bed was comfortable, the surroundings peaceful and quiet. Breakfast served in the morning fresh, using locally sourced produce..all served with a smile and a chat from lovely Sarah who runs the B&B.
This is off the beaten track and must use country roads to get to but well worth it - follow instructions sent by Sarah as the sat nav won't get you there! Lots of places to walk and visit or even the perfect setting for a relaxed weekend away. I would highly recommend staying here and should we find ourselves back in Wales again (which I'm sure we will), we would not hesitate to return.
Thank you so much to The Celyn Farm for making our stay so enjoyable.

Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 21, 2016
Hi Stephanie,
Thanks so much for sharing your experience of the Celyn. It is great to hear that you had a lovely time. Yes we are so lucky that there is so much to do around here. Alternatively it is perfect for having a relaxing break taking in the surroundings and letting time pass by.
It would be a pleasure welcoming you back someday soon.
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma R
Pontypridd, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous B&B with breathtaking surroundings - definately recommend!!!”
Reviewed December 3, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay at Celyn Farm, its a fantastic B&B, very warm and welcoming on arrival. We had a gorgeous double room on the top floor overlooking the beautiful hillside and valley. Room was very clean and tidy with attention paid to every small detail. A lovely homemade breakfast was available every morning. In the evening we went to the dragons head pub, very nice meal and reasonably priced. We will definitely be back and highly recommend it to other people.

Rooms Location
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 21, 2016
Hi Emma,
Thanks for sharing your experience of your stay at the Celyn. We are so pleased to hear that you had a great stay and thought the surroundings were breathtaking. Thanks for your kind words in relation to the welcome, the room and the breakfast - it is really lovely to hear that out guests enjoy their stay.
Hope to welcome you back someday.
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariposa0...
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A tranquil and breathtaking place”
Reviewed November 1, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Celyn Farm. We actually arrived earlier than the check in time of 5 and were welcomed warmly by the owner. Rooms are spotless and very cosy. Breakfast was abundant and made fresh. We went out to The Bear in Crickhowell for a meal in the evening - excellent and thoroughly recommended. It was roughly a 10 mins drive away. A lovely, relaxing weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 21, 2016
Hi Mari,
Thanks for sharing your experience of your stay at the Celyn. We are really pleased to hear that you thought the rooms were spotless and cosy and that you enjoyed breakfast. The Bear in Crickhowell serves lovely food - we are so lucky to have some great restaurants on our door step. It is such a great area for foodies with the Abergavenny food festival being right on our doorstep too!
Thanks again ffor your kind words and we hope to welcome you back someday.
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Embers78
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Brilliant!!”
Reviewed October 5, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Its not often you come across a place to stay thats as nice as this. Not only was it in an amazing location, but the rooms were a very high standard and looked brand new. There was attention paid to every detail; even how the towels were rolled and the little soaps in the bathroom and the welsh cakes were definitely welcomed after our long drive. The staff / family were very friendly and approachable. The breakfast was great too. The breakfast room was laid out like we were about to eat a massive feast and all food was cooked fresh. I believe they use their own meats too as you can also order meat from them should you wish.

The only thing I could possibly pull them up on is not taking cards, so cash or cheque only, for us card payments are usually preferred as they are easier to account for in our business and this was a business trip for us. Its def not enough to mark them down though.

They are tough to find and I would def recommend following their directions that they send you in an email. When they say the Sat Nav will not get you there, they really do mean the Sat Nav will not get you there. Follow the grid ref or the directions they give and don't be tempted to stray from this. (we learnt the hard way as my other half was still keen to use the post code and sat nav and we ended up the other side of the valley and trust me when I say its pretty tough to find where you are and pick up someones directions when your on a single track road and no clue as to where you are - Men! think they know best eh ladies?). As far as we are concerned the location was perfect - but then we like rural country and don't mind a drive. Its at least 30 mins to Brecon and 20 mins to Abbvergavenny down some pretty single roads and no shops etc near by but if you can live with this then its perfect!!

Anyways def top marks from us!! If we ever need to venture this way we will def be looking this place up again, Worth every penny!!

Location Service
Visit was for: Business
Traveling group: Business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 14, 2017
Hi There,
Thank you for your lovely comments and your constructive comments about the payment methods and the roads. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the room, attention to detail, the location and the views. We are so lucky to have paul - the local butcher who brings the meat (bacon and sausages) home for us freshly prepared.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back someday.
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dianne M
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Tranquility at its best!”
Reviewed October 4, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Absolutely fantastic accommodation, stunning views of the countryside, fresh air. Hosts were very friendly and helpful with directions, rooms were excellent, very comfortable beds, bathroom and toiletries provided were very good as well. Would thoroughly recommend Celyn Farm to future travellers. Stunning.

Rooms Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 21, 2016
Hi Dianne,
Thanks for your kind words. We are so pleased to hear that you had a tranquil stay at the Celyn. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the views, fresh air, rooms, beds, bathroom and toiletries. We get our soap from the Sugar Loaf soap company. They hand make all their soaps and they are based about 5 miles away - can highly recommend. We now have some of their soaps here guests can purchase too if they wish in addition to the complimentary soap in the rooms.
Thanks for your kind words. Hope to welcome you back someday.
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martina S
Basel, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“located in a splendid landscape and very friendly hosts”
Reviewed September 22, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

not so easy to find, but absolutly worth to looking for. we enjoyed the clean and well presented bed- and bathroom & a very tasty breakfast. The hosts are very friendly and helpful and so we had also a very good diner at The Dragonhead Inn!

Rooms Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 21, 2016
Hi Martina
Thanks for your kind words. Yes we're based in the the countryside so we are a little off the main roads. When guests book I always send detailed directions, gprs coordinates and a link to google maps to ensure people do not get lost.
We are pleased to hear that you had a good dinner at the Dragons Head - it is our local and we love having dinner there - a real treat.
Thanks again and hope to welcome you again someday.
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grahambCa...
canberra
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“What a view!”
Reviewed September 12, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This B&B is a little hard to find, but once there, everything is perfect. Colin has a great sense of humour and knows the area well. The rooms are spotless and well presented. Breakfast is great. Both from your room and breakfast room, you have a beautiful view of the countryside. Would definitely recommend.

Value Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 14, 2017
Hi Graham, thanks so much for your lovely comments. Yes we are out in the country but we are now on google maps so we are much easier to find. We also send detailed directions upon booking too. We are so pleased that you enjoyed Colin's sense of humour, the views, room and breakfast.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back someday.
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing