We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Location, location, location - yet with style”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
130 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire, South Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 130 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Glouceste...
Dursley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Location, location, location - yet with style”
Reviewed March 12, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Excellent rooms with stunning views across a beautiful Welsh valley. All very new and clean, with a comfortable lounge and terrific breakfast room. Everything is good - but the location just epitomises peace and quiet. This is a real 'get away from it all' kind of place. You won't be disappointed.

Date of stay: March 2014
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 21, 2016
Hi there,
What a lovely review - thank you. We hope to welcome you back someday so you can have another great escape in the Welsh countryside.
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
svenskjay
Swindon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Just returned from a lovely overnight stay at Celyn.
Beautiful location & lovely hosts, The place was spotlessly clean & the bed extremely comfortable, just what we needed after a day in the hills. They had a drying room which was ideal. Only 3 miles to the nearest pub - we had a great meal at the Dragon in Llangelly in the evening.
Breakfast was superb - a full Welsh including the best bacon I've ever had.
I can't recommend the Celyn highly enough - it was truly superb.

Date of stay: March 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 21, 2016
Hi there,
We are delighted to hear that you had a fabulous stay at the Celyn. We are pleased that you thought the place was spotlessly clean, the bed was comfortable and you enjoyed the bacon. We are so lucky to be able to serve locally sourced food. Yes we do have a drying room so guest at can store their wet coats after a day hiking the surrounding hills and mountains - nothing worse than going home with damp clothes.
We hope to welcome you back someday. Thanks for your kind words
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhillyF
England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed February 19, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Stunning location; house and room beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean (no mean feat for a working farm). We slept like logs in the comfortable bed. But what made it extra special was the fantastic hospitality shown by the owner and his family. John couldn't have done more to make us feel at home and has a wealth of knowledge about the local area, which he is delighted to share. A proper Welsh welcome :) Wish we could have stayed longer than 2 nights and we will definitely be back! Oh, almost forgot, the cooked breakfast is superb too....but can't decide whether Paul or John cooked it better......

Date of stay: February 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Your age range 35-49
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 21, 2016
Hi Phil,
Thanks for sharing your experience of your stay at the Celyn. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. It gives us a great deal of pleasure making recommendations and sharing our knowledge about the local area. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew E
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly and comfortable”
Reviewed February 19, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Great location, middle of the countryside, real peace and quiet.

Nearest pubs are about 3 miles away - short drive.

The hosts were very friendly and accommodating and made the stay even more special, good breakfast, and rooms were clean tidy and well equipped.

Lovely place to stay.

Date of stay: February 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 1, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. It was a real pleasure to have met you and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Celyn.

We are lucky to have good local pubs. Also, even though we are based in the countryside, the nearest town is only a 10 minute drive away.

All the best
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goathead4...
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Luxurious farmhouse”
Reviewed February 17, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We did a bit of research and the Celyn came up with excellent scores on the sites we looked at...and rightly so..we only stayed one night and I wish it could have been at least a week.Everything is top notch in a new build stone farmhouse ..on its own in rolling fields with gorgeous views of the Sugar Loaf. Great comfy bed..lovely oak furniture and a large bathroom with free standing bath and seperate shower. Warm as toast throughout our stay despite it being bitter outside. Hosts were very friendly and helpful. Enormous full English breakfast to end our most enjoyable stay at this great little place.

Date of stay: February 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 1, 2014
What a pleasure it was to read this review - thank you. It is lovely to hear that our guests had a lovely stay as that it all we hope for.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

All the best
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarsForE...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Perfect Hideaway”
Reviewed January 20, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a wonderful two night-stay at Celyn Farm B&B. We were given a very warm welcome and were delighted with the homey feel of the house (we particularly enjoyed a few glasses of red wine by the woodburner of an evening!) and the genuine feeling of being away from it all. The scenery around the area is just stunning and we had good meals in two of the local pubs recommended by Sarah and family (The Crown and The Dragon). The little church nearby is a must-see! We'd definitely book again.

Date of stay: January 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 1, 2014
Hello,

We are glad that you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed a glass of Red in the living room in front of the wood burner. It is especially nice on a cold night to sit in front of the log burner.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

All the best
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moid69
Vancouver Island
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful hosts.”
Reviewed January 6, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We stayed one night here and the service is excellent. It is a little difficult to find so make sure you get directions. Paul served us a delicious breakfast and the atmosphere is very relaxed. Wonderful walks in the mountains with fantastic scenery.

Date of stay: January 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 1, 2014
Hello,

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes we are based in the country so we send all our guests directions upon booking to ensure that they have no problem in finding us.

We try to create a relaxed atmosphere so guests can enjoy their holiday.

We hope to welcome you again sometime.

All the best
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing