We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful stay”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
130 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire, South Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 130 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Olga B
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

My Husband and I stayed here for 2 nights due to son camping nearby.
What can I say. The house was lovely (Clean, new and big). As has been said in prior reviews, the host Colin could not have been more hospitable. There doesn't seem to be anything he wouldn't try and do to make the stay pleasant.
We stayed in the Superior room. The room was great but the best thing was the bathroom. The shower was great and the bath overlooks the countryside (only the sheep could stare at you!)
Breakfast was great, only problem for us was that we were on a diet, so we couldn't fully enjoy the fare :( which consisted of a full english, bread, cereal, yogurts, jam, fruit juices (the list goes on, it was such a good spread).
There is also a huge lounge area where you can just sit on the sofa and curl up with a good book (well, I did anyway).
There is also wi-fi here and as the house is a little remote, please don't expect a phone signal. Colin however was most gracious in letting us use the land line if was needed.
If we are traveling in this area again, we wouldn't hesitate in trying to book here first.

Date of stay: August 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave such lovely comments. I am so pleased that you had a wonderful stay at the Celyn. We try to do as much as we can to accommodate our guests to make sure that they have a great stay.

I am also pleased to hear that you liked the bathroom and the views from the bathroom.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tim l
Winscombe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“what a great place”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Arrived at Celyn Farm to a vary warm welcombe and stayed for 4 nights with my wife in the master suit. The farm house is vary clean and tidy and well furnished and the breakfast well above average, Colin the host made us feel more like freinds than paying guests. Thanks Colin cant wait until next time.
Tim & Jane

Date of stay: July 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Your age range 50-64
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the warm welcome. I am glad that Colin helped make your stay at the Celyn a good one.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YorkKatie
York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Stunning location, beautiful house and great hosts”
Reviewed July 16, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

My husband and I spent a long weekend in the July heat wave and were so glad we stumbled across this B & B on laterooms. There were some great reviews on laterooms, but none yet on Trip Advisor as they have only been running the B & B business for a couple of months. However, Colin and his daughter Sarah and her partner Paul are natural hosts- welcoming, friendly, relaxed and full of helpful advice and good chat. The farmhouse is beautifully situated in a pretty farming valley just outside Crickhowell with stunning views to the hills of the southern Black Mountains. The house is relatively new, but traditionally built with stone and oak throughout, so feels farmhousey. We had a lovely double room with an absolutely HUGE bathroom with stand alone bath and separate shower, and everything was beautifully decorated and immaculately clean (felt like a character hotel). Breakfast was great - full Welsh, eggs on toast, cereals, yoghurts, fresh coffee, toast, etc. but nothing was too much trouble and they were very accommodating with all the guests' breakfast requests. This is a real farmhouse B & B with friendly sheepdogs to greet you outside and was refreshingly laid back and informal, not stuffy at all. There are great local pubs, food options and walks from the door. They are in the process of landscaping the outside space and gardens, so it will be absolutely spectacular once this is finished. Exceptional value, so book now before it gets too busy! Thanks Colin, Sarah & Paul for a really special stay.

Date of stay: July 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review of the Celyn. I was extremely pleased to hear that you loved your room and enjoyed your stay overall. I am also delighted to hear that you had a great breakfast and visited the local pubs. We are lucky to have such great local pubs nearby to recommend to our guests.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards

Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupp66
Schijndel, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
Google Translation

Date of stay: September 2015
Rooms Location
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Stellen
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M C
Bordeaux, France
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
Google Translation

Date of stay: September 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: En pareja
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing