We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“5 stars!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Dan - y -Skirrid

Dan-y-Skirrid is a well-placed, spacious apartment recently designed and built by the current owners
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dan-y-Skirrid is a well-placed, spacious apartment recently designed and built by the current owners
Dan-y-Skirrid apartment  nesting below the “Skirrid Fawr walk” a mountain of mud and myths......
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Dan-y-Skirrid is a well-placed, spacious apartment recently designed and built by the current owners
Dan-y-Skirrid apartment  nesting below the “Skirrid Fawr walk” a mountain of mud and myths......
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire, South Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
pritchard...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“5 stars!”
Reviewed August 19, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Excellent apartment kitted out to a very high standard. Lovely hosts, nothing was too much trouble. Great area too. Abergavenny town is lovely, great show at the castle. Walked up skirrid and went to big pit. Highly recommend it all

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 2, 2018
Thanks Peter, glad you enjoyed your stay....!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasmineV1...
1 review
“Great apartment in a lovely part of the world”
Reviewed April 7, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

The apartment was perfect and we had a wonderful long weekend. The apartment itself is modern, clean and has all the mod cons. The area is great for walks and biking. Karen and Nigel were super friendly. Would definitely stay here again.

Thanks again!

Jasmine

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 11, 2018
Many thanks for your kind words.... We also hope to see you again sometime. So glad you enjoyed your stay even though it was a short one... The weather helped to but not the traffic from your home. Our key safe has come in handy for late arrivals which lets us relax a bit...Cheers K&N
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickifin2...
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in Wales!”
Reviewed January 17, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We stayed in Nigel and Karen's apartment last weekend for two nights whilst on a brief visit to the area - mainly to do a blacksmith experience day at Oldfield Forge back across the border in Garway, highly recommended by the way! The location is perfect, wonderful views and close to some excellent pubs and restaurants and to Abergavenny- go to the Flea Market, giant stuffed chickens hanging in the roofspace! We didn't have much time to explore the area- definitely should have booked for longer!- but it looks like there are loads of activities to keep all members of the family happy. We ate at the Cripple Creek Inn, about 20 minutes away by car, great food, mid price range, huge portions! It is very popular, Nigel kindly booked the table for us.The apartment is lovely, very comfortable and welcoming and a good kitchen for those of us who like to cook (we do)- you could have a week or two holidaying here and be quite self sufficient! Lovely bathroom, cozy living area and two good sized bedrooms with comfortable beds and lots of hanging space and drawers. You should note that the flat is on the first floor so not suitable for anyone with difficulty climbing stairs. There is a Michelin starred restaurant, the Walnut Tree, within walking distance which has great reviews but was beyond our budget this visit - maybe another time! We were too exhausted from three hours at the forge to tackle the walk behind the house but would also do that if time allowed, lots of other good walks as well if that is your thing. Nigel and Karen are wonderful hosts, Nigel was full of information and recommendations and so helpful. We all had a wonderful weekend and would certainly go back-but for longer to really explore the area!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 9, 2018
Wow what a very special review and much appreciated. I do hope you get the time to visit us again. We will have a welsh welcoming cwtch for you guys... Need to get your son in law a bigger stomach to tackle the Cripple Creek...lol Warmest Regards K & N
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dantennan...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for a relaxing get-away”
Reviewed October 23, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The location is perfect for a walking get-away and for sampling the fantastic local restaurants. The owners are very friendly and incredibly welcoming on arrival - they have created a very comfortable and well-provisioned accommodation, which was ideal for our stay. We look forward to coming back soon!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 3, 2018
Again what can we say but so glad you guys enjoyed your stay. We do make an effort and appreciate feedback which makes it all worth while. K
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath
Reviewed September 18, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 3, 2018
Many thanks for your kind words, much appreciated as we try to share what we have with everyone. We are lucky to be living at this location. NP78AW.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chris W
1 review
“Comfortable, great location, lovely apartment”
Reviewed April 23, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The location was perfect for us to have a short break, great access to some lovely walks, 3 mins walk from the excellent Walnut Tree restaurant. When we arrived the underfloor heating was ready to welcome us - to the great joy of my cold-footed wife! The apartment is well-equipped, decorated in a tasteful combination of modern comforts and oak beams, spacious and with a good kitchen (nice to have gas hobs and double oven in a holiday apartment!). All communications with the owner (and family) were friendly, warm and efficient, making sure we had everything we needed for our stay. Just to top it off, the weather was beautiful, the views from the top of the Skirrid were stunning! We would definitely visit again when we are in the area, thanks!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 18, 2017
Wow what a review, many thanks. We do try our best to make people feel at home. We sometimes don't appreciate what we have around us and then, we read our reviews and smile..... :) It is a lovely place and we just want to share it with people from all over the world! Many thanks Karen.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile684...
1 review
“Excellent!”
Reviewed April 18, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had a wonderful stay! The apartment was clean and very comfortable. We LOVED the floor heating - I'd brought my slippers, but didn't wear them. ;-)
Climbing the Skirrid was tough, but awesome.

Would certainly recommend this apartment!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 18, 2017
Many thanks for your kind words, much appreciated. Hope to see you again soon. The Underfloor heating is awesome in the winter months! Hope to see you again soon.... Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing