We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Plas Derwen
Nearby Hotels
The Angel(Abergavenny)
$145
$140
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier inn Abergavenny Hotel(Llanfoist)(Great Value!)
$61
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$243
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$64
$56
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Manor Hotel(Crickhowell)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveler rating
111
87
36
23
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
111
87
36
23
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubrev jamesplenty of parkingwalk into townsteakfull markslast minute bookingnice roomcomfortable bedtowel railmain mealate herewould definitely stay here againwelcoming staffstayed two nightsan evening mealone night stay
Filter
Updating list...
182 - 187 of 265 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013

our family has lived in the area for a long period and over recent years we have visited this pub for good 'pub grub' and usually it was very good.
We tried a number of local places tonight for a meal, however, these were fully booked, we tried this pub even though we were briefly put off by the lack of customers, giving it the benefit if the doubt.
Firstly a lot of the food was not available, then our order was 'forgotten' and compromised with something else as a mixture and then when it arrived, my meal was undercooked and my partners meal was not very pleasant.
Overall this is such a fantastic location for good pub food however the food recently has completely let it down. We will definitely not be returning, and after speaking to a number of family and friends, their review seems to be the same of late.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Sophie1188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony K, Manager at Plas Derwen, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

I am very sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your experience or food whilst visiting our restaurant the other evening, we have very recently taken over as new managers and are keen to follow up on any feedback given in this transitional period. I myself was not working that evening so would like to discuss this further with you if possible and offer you a complimetary meal on us to come back and visit so that we may show you the experience and standards we are striving to achieve. I would be greatful if you could contact me direct either by phone 01873 853144 or email plasderwen@sabrain.com to discuss further, sincerely Kate Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We booked here very last minute, actually the evenening before our stay and were pleasantly surprised. Room and bathroom in the annex were very spacious and absolutely spottless. On opening the tap the water was very hot instantly. If I was to name a downside it was that the room had no actual window(s) except for a skylight. Having said that it did not at all feel dark or dingy. Altough we had not planned to visit here we were pleasantly surprised with Abergavenny especially as Plas Derwen is located just a ten minute walk from the town centre, therefore it is easy to go there if you want. Parking is absolutely no problem at Plas Derwen. Dinner was good altought the chairs in the restaurant/pub are not really comfortable. Breakfast is good, on the downside there was no yoghurt as the delivery was not made yet, the upside of that is that products come in fresh regulary.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dutchcouple040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Taking Tripadvisor reviews into consideration, we decided to overnight stay at Plas Derwen in Abergavenny.

The room was spacious and well furnished. All usual items were catered for; tea/coffee, hairdryer, FS TV and bathroom liquids etc. A good shower.

The beds were comfortable though a little firm for our liking (but we always carry mattress toppers around with us wherever we go!!)

The room was quite warm with the hot weather we have been experiencing. Again, we always carry a fan with us in hot weather and even though it doesn't cool the room down, it keeps the air moving.

Our room, No 10, was in the annex and was very quiet. The rooms are becoming a little dated but were spotlessly clean.

Th e breakfast the next morning was nicely cooked. Compliments to the salmon and Scrambled eggs. They were excellent. However, if you are a coffee drinker, beware. The coffee is very strong.

Would we stay here again? Yes

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kernowlad2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We called in here after some friends had mentioned it. A nice place with ample space in the bar area and restaurant. Very nice food. My Wife loved her Sunday lunch, which came with a good selection of vegetables. My only criticism is the restaurant gets quite warm in the hot weather, as it is similar to a conservatory They could do with some ceiling fans, or some air-con.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Wales1769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch and sat in the lovely garden, in the sunshine. We just had a sandwich and a drink which was delicious . The staff were very pleasant and the restaurant very clean. Will return for an evening meal sometime.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Seren1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews