We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easy Access Pub/hotel/restaurant” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plas Derwen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Plas Derwen
Ranked #8 of 31 Abergavenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Easy Access Pub/hotel/restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

Located on A40 entrance to town,ample parking, also 10 minute walk to bus and train station.
Pretty conservatory restaurant, with separate function room for private parties. Ok food, but on a par with chain restaurants, rather than owner run.
Small but nice grounds for children to run around and summer drinks.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HonestBlod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    65
    31
    18
    6
See reviews for
59
86
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
213 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

We had a twin room in the annex, it was large and comfortable,
Wish it would have had a mini fridge.
It was a good walk into town, but we did need the exercise,
Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JUdyrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

Warm welcome , very large double room with great views , superb food in the restaurant both for breakfast and dinner - good service at the bar with well priced wines

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HyperCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2011

Chose pub at random for lunch , knew nothing about it .
Super find , being on weight watchers I was thrilled to have their really tasty salad with fruit and nuts and a separate dressing , completed by a chicken brochette.
Husbands home made burger also excellent . Service by young ladies
cheerful , impeccable .. Lucky that we chanced on this place , thoroughly recommend ..

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jilly60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

We have stayed a couple of times at the Plas Derwen, the first time to visit the Hardwick Restaurant and secondly for a break in and around the area.

This is a nice, welcoming hotel which is basically a beautiful old pub with rooms above and attached. The welcome is warm and the rooms are charming and well-appointed. The food is great- the Restaurant offers hearty and tasty meals at a reasonable price, a nice wine list, and the breakfasts are also lovely.

The rooms in the main building are quirky, reflecting the age of the building and with lovely long corridors, exposed beams and creaky floorboards- all of which add to the charm. Outside are a number of more modern rooms with higher ceilings. In both kinds of room the bathroom facilities are modern and spotless, and the amenities in each room are great.

All in all, a nice welcoming base from which to explore Abergavenny and its surroundings. We'd recommend it and will certainly be back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paula_reid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

We ate here on two separate occasions during our stay in the Abergavenny area. On both occasions we received a lovely warm welcome and were treated to delicious food.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AL1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tamworth
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

Stayed at the plas derwen hotel for one night on a two day break to Wales.Our room was away from the main building and was clean and spacious with the largest window I have ever encountered in a hotel room! Pity some of the slats in the venetian blinds were missing, we had to close the curtains for full privacy. The large bathroom was spotless but a little gloomy as it only had three or four small ceiling lights.
As it was a good ten minutes walk into town we decided to eat at the hotel.The restaurant was quite busy for midweek and I see that as a sign of good food. I had booked the hotel online and added that my wife was coeliac and could not eat gluten. Therefore the waitress (Laura) was really helpful in choosing what my wife could or could'nt eat.Food was excellent. To my wife's joy they even had gluten free fruit crumble!
Breakfast was good and Laura came to us with a packet of cereal that was GF for my wife followed by GF bread to go with her smoked salmon and eggs. I had the full Welsh breakfast that contained locally sourced produce.( a big thing nowadays I'm told)
If I travelled that area again I would use this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TamworthSpidey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abergavenny
0.6 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
3.8 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#3 of 31 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.4 mi away
Abergavenny Hotel
Abergavenny Hotel
#2 of 31 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#14 of 31 in Abergavenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Derwen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Derwen

Property: Plas Derwen
Address: Monmouth Road, Abergavenny NP7 9SP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Abergavenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plas Derwen 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plas Derwen is a fantastic pub restaurant which offers exceptional food at ordinary prices. Located within easy reach of the A40 and A465 (Heads of the Valleys Road), it was redeveloped to a high standard in April 2007. All our food is cooked to order, using produce from local suppliers, listed on the back of our weekly changing menus, enabling you to have a different dish with every visit. There is also a Specials board and a Fish Specials board for even more variety. This is a warm, welcoming venue with pastel colours and a large see through feature fireplace. The building dates back 600 years and the refurbishment has been sympathetically undertaken to reflect old meeting new. With contemporary furnishing, the traditional slant has been retained with many nooks and crannies around the pub. The Garden Room, Lounge Bar and double Conservatory are separate rooms offering different experiences. Some areas have leather sofas and leather tub chairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Plas Derwen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Derwen Hotel Abergavenny
Plas Derwen Abergavenny, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing