We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to celebrate”

Restaurant at Ty'n Rhos
Ranked #32 of 104 Restaurants in Caernarfon
Price range: $72 - $72
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect place to celebrate”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

In two minds after reading some of the reviews below, but not many places of this quality are open on Monday nights and the most recent review suggested it would be a good choice. It was certainly worth the risk. Service was friendly and helpful from the moment I picked up the phone. Only one vegetarian option per course on the sample menus, but we were asked on booking if there were vegetarian and they seem to have put on extra choices for us. They had even taken the vegetarians in our party into consideration for the amuse-bouche. We went on a quiet Monday night, but the intimate setting meant that we didn't feel awkward or out of place even when the other large party left. The food was excellent. No regrets at taking a chance on "just" roast chicken: the confit of leg in a cabbage leaf was superb and the breast had perfectly crispy skin and yet fell apart at the touch of the knife (as had the smidgeon of pork belly which accompanied the first-course scallops). Coffee and salted caramel petits fours finished off a wonderful evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ros601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    12
    8
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
north wales
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Very good restaurant with excellent food prepared by the owner Steve and his chefs. All prepared to a high standard. Taste very good. Set prices for a number of courses. Nice touches like the cheese board which came with its own little wooden mouse. Lovely room, great service, plenty choice of wines and excellent food - what more could you ask for.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank waggalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fine dining experience”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Wonderful dining experience in a quiet location. Five star food and service from arrival with canopes in the conservertory and a choice of 2, 3 or 5 course ala carte dinner in the mauin dining room. Servings thart are well presented and with a matching ambiance that catches the mood of special occasions.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not quite there...”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Finding a restaurant of quality within the Gwynedd area is not easy. Ty'n Rhos has been around for some time but I only recently had the opportunity to dine there. I was pleasantly surprised by the service, location and atmosphere, all that was lovely. But the food was a bit of a let down. The fish starter was good but the slash of sauces seemed more for colour than flavour. The beef, for which you pay a premium, was bland and over-cooked. And if I'm not mistaken, a creme brûlée should have a warm topping. But, I did enjoy the evening, especially the Romanian wine choice of the month. What the prices deserve are a little more adventure and flamboyance on the menu and if the boat was pushed out a bit further this could be one of North Wales' best restaurants.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Family friendly, lovely mothers day.”
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

I was surprised to some luke warm comments on trip advisor for this restaurant. We were 3 families, 5 adults, 3 teenagers and 4 little ones and the venue catered for all our needs. They were especially attentive ( actually the best response we have ever had) to the needs of someone on a dairy free diet. The food was nice, the service efficient, prices acceptable, venue lovely, games to play and plenty of nice red wine. The only odd bit was the stern warning from the owner not to spill any red wine or coffee on the sofas! As if we would! All in all a nice mothers day.

Helpful?
Thank ValO102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant at Ty'n Rhos also viewed

 
Llanddeiniolen, Caernarfon
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
 

Been to Restaurant at Ty'n Rhos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing