We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Go below extreme adventure - Wales”
other travelers have booked this property

Have a relaxing drink after your journey in the bar
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone

Have a relaxing drink after your journey in the bar
Welcome to Plas Dorothea in the foothills of Snowden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
72 reviews
Have a relaxing drink after your journey in the bar
Welcome to Plas Dorothea in the foothills of Snowden
Your very own little pub with inglenook fireplace and logburner
Kitchen with 8 burner range cooker and all the facilities you will need
Kitchen with ample cupboard space and dry food store
Lounge with NOW tv and open fire
The lounge  also has an additional dining area
Lounge dining area
lounge
Dining room and games room
Entrance hall
Bedroom 1 - Family bedroom double bed with sofa and en-suite
Bedroom 1 - sofa in bay window overlooking Talysarn and Pen-y-bryn Estate
Bedroom 1 - En-suite with bath and shower over.
Bedroom 2 - Family room - Double and single bed
Bedroom 3 - Double bed overlooking Mt Snowdon
Bedroom 4 - Double bed with en-suite with shower cubicle
Bedroom 5 - Double bed with on -suite bath and shower over
Bedroom 5
En-suite bedroom 5
Bedroom 6 -downstairs 3 single beds which zip up to create a double and single if required
Bedroom 6 with sofa in bay window
Main bathroom with walk in shower and his and her wash hand basins
Main bathroom
Rear garden ideal for just relaxing or for the more energetic ball games
Front paddock with ponies overlooking Nantlle Ridge and Mt. Snowdon
Hot tub on the patio hired locally by our guests
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Caernarfon, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 72 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
essex176
Hampshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Go below extreme adventure - Wales”
Reviewed May 16, 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

I cannot recommend highly enough the GO BELOW - EXTREME ADVENTURE experience.

I booked a private group for 9 close friends as a surprise trip / stag party and it was beyond my expectations. Not only was the experience truly rewarding physical but as a group it pushed you to encourage eachother and overcome any fears and self doubt you think you have, trust me after this you think you can overcome anything.

The Go Below team which were Matt, Pred and Annie were absolutely fantastic, experts at safety, encouragement and passionate about the job as well as having massive pride in the history and environment in, around and surrounding the area which is beyond words stunning.

Everyone who took part said the day was absolutely amazing, overcome personal fears and doubts, learnt some amazing history, laughed throughout the day and just like myself couldn't recommended the Go below experience highly enough.

Thankyou.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 19, 2018
Sounds like you had a fantastic time
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 27, 2018
Thank you very much for your kind review We really appreciate your comments and are thrilled you enjoyed your stay Rachel loved meeting you and very much looking forward to seeing you again
Thanks for choosing Plas Dorothea
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 11, 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 13, 2018
Thank you for your review heather and so pleased you had a great birthday bash Sorry about the karaoke not working for you When we checked it out after your stay we couldn’t find a problem with it Sometimes technology is a little demanding lol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pip W
1 review
“Great location, lots of space, attentive owners and your own pub! Perfect in every way.”
Reviewed January 17, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

I organised a trip for myself and 13 friends to stay at the property over new year. Wow! It went far beyond our expectations. There are some gorgeous original features here. The pub was a real highlight, and we were even able to bring our own cask to attach to one of the pumps. The house had plenty of space for us to all sleep, and any minor issues we had were sorted quickly and efficiently. Loved that we could all eat in the same room together. The location was perfect for a drive to the beach, or there are some gorgeous quarry walks on your doorstep. Thank you so much for having us....we will return!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 18, 2018
Thanks for your fantastic review and we are thrilled that you enjoyed New Year at the house
It’s great that you made the most of the bar It will be lovely to see you again You were perfect guests
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cfairbrot...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent stay, very homely”
Reviewed January 5, 2018 for a stay in October 2017

We stayed here in October with family for my mums 60th, (8 adults and 6 children) we were very impressed with the size of the building. We were met at the door by Rachel, she was lovely and very helpful, gave us a tour around, the bedrooms were all adequate for the size of our group, it had a large living room with dining table and log fire, our favourite room was the bar of course also has log fire, I would say be careful around this as one of the adults was passing by and touched it and ended up with a bad burn so maybe putting a guard around this or just be extra careful if you have children, the bar area was great fun with the sound system, this also has karaoke ( I would advise taking some karoke CD's or just music CD's of your choice, although there is a huge variety)!! We also hired a hot tub for the garden which was good fun, the kids loved the garden even though it was cold we all still managed to play a game of rounders (supplied). There is also a small games room which the kids played lots of crafts and games (bit too small for adults but then the adults were happy with the bar and also there is a darts board (best to bring a set of darts) There was a couple of times I had to contact the Owner/Rachel to check on some things but this was never a problem and they were always available, I think Rachel also lives quite close and she said she could be round in minutes if there was anything we needed. Overall I would definitely recommend and would return here, this has been our favourite place to stay in the few cottages we have stayed in. Thank you to Linda and Rachael. Sorry its taken so long to review xx

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 7, 2018
Thank you so much for your lovely review and we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay It will be lovely to see you again As for the lateness of the review it’s better late than never
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra B
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ms”
Reviewed January 3, 2018 for a stay in December 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Be ware this is not certificate of excellence standard house
Aledged quilt cover damage no photos !
£ 23 held for damage deposit
for cost of new quilt covers 1king and 1
double

The room in question has 1 double 1 single ? Fabricated lies
Unsafe carbon monoxide leaking from log burner in the bar room
No fire guards at all which is compulsory law for private home rental
Oven thermostic faulty
Electric tripped every 25 mins day and night
Broken dining chairs In lounge and bar
Electric sockets very sparce no where near items to be plugged in lamps beds ECT so cannot use only for show
Broken beds missing bedding
No mention of electric meters till you arrive then have to travel to get electric top pups on a key!
All showers poor pressure kept tripping water leaks through bar ceiling. Owner came said oh yes pipe keeps falling off I can fix it.
Then offers us home brew ed wine !
He lives in the caravan in garden !beware
Wobberly banisters loose steps in.garden
Says waterfrontage no definatley not
So many safety issues be ware
Sandra blood
The 1 star is for Rachel key holder helpful gave her opinion on the property to us
Sandra blood
The owners don't tell the truth beware!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 4, 2018
It is strange that your feed back was that you enjoyed your stay until the payment for the bedding stained by your muddy dog was requested. We do not wish our guests to sleep in bedding ruined by allowing dogs to sleep in beds, leaving dog treats behind!!! Since this issue was raised your messages have been malicious and abusive.The problems you encountered could have so easily been avoided such as not leaving the hot water shower running for many hours with no one in it,resulting in jamming the whole system and causing the water to flood through the ceiling. Once the shower was turned off after calling out the House Manager the other problems were quickly resolved and the electric stopped tripping once it was allowed to dry out.
There are fireguards and carbon monoxide alarms in both rooms with fires. The new range cooker was only installed at the end of October and no problems have been reported by other guests.There is a SOFA in one of the bedrooms. It is not broken, it is not intended for use as a bed, therefore no extra bedding is provided. The number of beds and bedding provided was sufficient for 14 paying guests (The maximum safe occupancy of the house) For extra comfort we provide double duvets for single beds and king-size duvets for double beds.
We do provide sufficient electricity for your stay and rarely have guests had to top up. Perhaps running the hot water/emersion heater for an unoccupied shower for hours may have used up more electricity than expected. There was no one in the caravan adjacent to the river at the bottom of thegarden for the duration of your stay.
Not only were bedroom carpets and bedding left thick with dog hairs and muddy pawprints but you also left bags of dirty nappies around the house for the House Manager to clean up after you!
Fortunately we rarely experience guests such as your party and our guests enjoy the house, as shown in previous reviews.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevebenn...
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The benchmark”
Reviewed November 8, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Having enjoyed a variety of cottages up and down the UK, it's easy to become a little blase about our stays. Plas Dorothea raised the bar however.
As well as having all of the usual requirements (bedding, towels, plenty of space, beautiful surroundings, ample kitchen and bathroom facilities), this lovely house also has its own unique feature- a built in pub.
This added considerably to the weekend atmosphere. Throw in a chest of fancy dress items and a karaoke machine, and a special occasion results.
Thanks too to Linda and Rachel for their excellent communication.
Brilliant!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 21, 2017
What a lovely review Steve Thank you very much We do try very hard to make your stay enjoyable as this is extremely important to us all and you certainly seem to have had a good time I was looking forward to an explanation of the reason for your name for the bar!!! Perhaps another time lol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing