We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amaxing”
other travelers have booked this property

Have a relaxing drink after your journey in the bar
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone

Have a relaxing drink after your journey in the bar
Welcome to Plas Dorothea in the foothills of Snowden Your very own little pub with inglenook fireplace and logburner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
59 reviews
Have a relaxing drink after your journey in the bar
Welcome to Plas Dorothea in the foothills of Snowden
Your very own little pub with inglenook fireplace and logburner
Kitchen with 8 burner range cooker and all the facilities you will need
Kitchen with ample cupboard space and dry food store
Entrance hall
Bedroom 1 - Family bedroom double bed with double sofa bed and en-suite
Bedroom 1 - sofa bed in bay window overlooking Talysarn and Pen-y-bryn Estate
Bedroom 1 - En-suite with bath and shower over.
Bedroom 2 - Family room - Double and single bed
Bedroom 3 - Double bed overlooking Mt Snowdon
En-suite bedroom 5
Main bathroom with walk in shower and his and her wash hand basins
Main bathroom
Bedroom 6 - 3 single beds which zip up to create a double and single if required
Bedroom 6 with sofa in bay window
Lounge with NOW tv and open fire
The lounge  also has an additional dining area
Lounge dining area
Dining room and games room
Bedroom 5 - Double bed with on -suite bath and shower over
Bedroom 5
Bedroom 4 - Double bed with en-suite with shower cubicle
Rear garden ideal for just relaxing or for the more energetic ball games
Front paddock with ponies overlooking Nantlle Ridge and Mt. Snowdon
Hot tub on the patio hired locally by our guests
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Caernarfon, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
issywissy...
South East England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
Reviewed March 4, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in February 2017, the house is in a beautiful setting with some great walks and views.
As some of the previous reviews have stated, the house is a little tired with some maintenance needed, the photos need updating. I had one of the en suite rooms which had a shower/bath that you couldn't use because of the water pressure. The bed linen had holes in it that had been repaired. Having said that we had a great weekend, the house is a good size so you don't feel that you are living on top of each other

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 17, 2017
Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed the setting We are sorry that the quilt cover had a 2cm repair in it It should not have been used on the beds and has been taken out of service As for the tired appearance of the house we are constantly working on upgrading the house but unfortunately not all guests show respect and this causes lots of extra renovation work Guests who wear muddy footwear in bedrooms don't help
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dianej120...
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amaxing”
Reviewed February 5, 2017 for a stay in November 2016

Thank you for are lovely stay it was the perfect place for our murder mystery weekend.everything you need and more.we are looking to go back as value for money x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 6, 2017
Thank you very much for your review It really does mean a lot I still wish I could have stayed for the murder mystery part You seemed to have it well planned
Look forward to welcoming you all back
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justleann...
1 review
“21St birthday bash”
Reviewed November 16, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We loved the house!!! 14 of us from ages 19 -29 for my boyfriends birthday. The place made it, the pub mainly aha. Everyone had a great time!! Very private, the house was clean. The dressing up box went down great!! Memories we will have for life , rebooking next summer , as we would love explore more of the acres of lands that come with the house, beautiful views!! Music , disco lights & laughs with amazing views all around , what more could a group of friends ask for!! they were even kind enough to let us build a bonfire & set off fireworks for the 5th november!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 17, 2016
Thanks for the review We absolutely loved the memories comment Leanne That's what life is for
Look forward to seeing you next year
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darran O
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Annual family gathering ”
Reviewed November 7, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Having recently just arrived back home after spending a fabulous time with my family at this fantastic house I feel that I need to share (this not so little gem) with you. We rented it for a weekend so we could celebrate joint birthdays as a family and it turned out to be a fabulous affair as the property, the price and the owners where fantastic. Linda and Glynn were absolutely fab and with the help of Delyth made our stay very welcoming, nothing was too much to trouble and they couldn't do enough to make your stay special to you. There are few issues with the property but Linda and Glynn are well aware of them and are in the process of sorting them out now it has quitened off. This property offers you everything from a quiet retreat to a real party house, with ample room so you don't feel like you are stepping on each others toes. The bedrooms are huge with most of them offering en-suit facilities. The two main rooms both have a huge open fire in the middle of them and with central heating you don't need to worry about being cold. The main sitting room has enough space for everyone to sit comfortably and watch TV, however if like us you will spend most of your time in the private bar area (pub) with plenty of games for the kids to play as well as a dart board for the bigger kids.
The grounds of the property consists of three fabulous size gardens including a huge trampoline so the kids have ample space to play and stay safe, there is a little paddock to the left of the property which has three of the most friendliest ponies in which according to my daughter's love apples. If you go out of the main gate and follow the path to the right it will lead you through talysarn slate quarry which also belongs to the property and if you can, take a stroll through them as there are some spectacular views of the lakes that also belong to the property. Overall if you have a need for a large family house/cottage then please seriously look no further as this property offers you everything and more. Don't take my word for it, book it try it yourself I promise you won't be disappointed. See you next Linda and Glynn. The O'Neill's

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 7, 2016
Wow Darran Thanks very much for your review We are always working to make your stay the best it can be Look forward to seeing you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 4, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 5, 2016
Thanks a lot for your lovely review We always try to make sure that you enjoy your stay It was good to hear the younger members were kept happy That's a long way to being able to relax as an adult
Look forward to seeing you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amy C
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A bit of TLC”
Reviewed October 19, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

There were 11 of us who stayed here and we had a fantastic time, the bar especially was a massive hit amongst us. Although we did have a great time there were a few issues we felt would be beneficial to attend to.

The house itself is lovely, but appears to be falling apart. Some of the wallpaper throughout the house is coming away, the bar itself appeared damaged and there was a hole in the ceiling above the bar. There was an overall damp and musty smell throughout the house,

We noticed that in the front double en-suite room upstairs that it was damp and a couple of the girls found that their clothes felt damp after leaving them out overnight. There was a distinctive smell of must and especially damp in this room.

The large double room with the en-suite at the back was lovely but unfortunately the girls staying there found that the bed was broken in the middle and the springs kept popping on it when they were trying to sleep. There was a musty smell in this room especially aswell.

Unfortunately a little mouse did find its way into the house which many of the girls were unhappy about. I’m not sure if this was just an unfortunate incident or if there is a rodent issue.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bar and the overall size of the property
Liked least: The smell and the quality of the property
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 1, 2016
Thanks for your review Amy The ensuite isn't damp just patchy painting for which I am the guilty one I've re painted it now so that confusion shouldn't happen again Sorry you found s musty smell Delyth has a nose like a bloodhound but wasn't able to detect anything As for your mouse problem If the doors are left open sometimes a little shrew might visit We certainly don't have a mouse problem
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wabs9227
Cheshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent family property”
Reviewed September 11, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Lovely house with Great facilities and space for large families. We stayed here with 5 couples all with an 18month old each. Really good location

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2016
Thank you very much for the review We are really glad you enjoyed your stay at Dorothea
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing