We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent home from home for extended family...”
other travelers have booked this property

Have a relaxing drink after your journey in the bar
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone

Have a relaxing drink after your journey in the bar
Welcome to Plas Dorothea in the foothills of Snowden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
71 reviews
Have a relaxing drink after your journey in the bar
Welcome to Plas Dorothea in the foothills of Snowden
Your very own little pub with inglenook fireplace and logburner
Kitchen with 8 burner range cooker and all the facilities you will need
Kitchen with ample cupboard space and dry food store
Lounge with NOW tv and open fire
The lounge  also has an additional dining area
Lounge dining area
lounge
Dining room and games room
Entrance hall
Bedroom 1 - Family bedroom double bed with sofa and en-suite
Bedroom 1 - sofa in bay window overlooking Talysarn and Pen-y-bryn Estate
Bedroom 1 - En-suite with bath and shower over.
Bedroom 2 - Family room - Double and single bed
Bedroom 3 - Double bed overlooking Mt Snowdon
Bedroom 4 - Double bed with en-suite with shower cubicle
Bedroom 5 - Double bed with on -suite bath and shower over
Bedroom 5
En-suite bedroom 5
Bedroom 6 -downstairs 3 single beds which zip up to create a double and single if required
Bedroom 6 with sofa in bay window
Main bathroom with walk in shower and his and her wash hand basins
Main bathroom
Rear garden ideal for just relaxing or for the more energetic ball games
Front paddock with ponies overlooking Nantlle Ridge and Mt. Snowdon
Hot tub on the patio hired locally by our guests
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Caernarfon, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 71 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JulietteC...
Swansea County, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent home from home for extended family parties”
Reviewed September 18, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The service received was excellent, with offers of help to make life comfortable for us and was supported by superb communication. The guided tour provided helpful information and further contact details in the event of queries.
This large, mid Victorian property, was ideal for our extended family party and provided loads of space and opportunity for activities indoors and outside and for people to take part or not as they wished or help with supervising young children. For us it was like a home from home.
A wide range of useful information was provided to inform local visits. There is plenty to do and see very locally as well as further afield. The local shop is open long hours and is well stocked.
It was great to be able to park all the cars conveniently, eat together and have the convenience of bathrooms and a large kitchen with several fridges, ovens, hobs, toasters and other equipment. It was great to have Wi-Fi and other facilities too.
The house has character and was great for us. Thank you very much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact we could all be together so conveniently in a well-resourced house
Liked least: No complaints
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 20, 2015
Thank you for your comments. It's nice to know that we are meeting our goal of helping you to have the most enjoyable stay you can. The house is really good for allowing some to enjoy peace and quiet without spoiling the enjoyment of others who enjoy the hustle and bustle of a large gathering. Thank you for staying with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elisa5432...
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“AMAZING HOUSE in beautiful, scenic surroundings”
Reviewed August 25, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Wow - what a place. From my initial enquiry through to the end of our stay, Linda, Glynn and (especially) Delyth and her husband made our stay absolutely perfect. There was a group of 7 of us, plus a little 8 month old. As there were two significant birthdays in our group (a 30th and a 40th) we had some advance planning to do - Linda and Delyth were incredibly helpful and even let me turn up early to put up decorations before everyone else arrived.

The house was very clean, and in particular the kitchen is really well equipped - I'd brought a cake tin to bake a birthday cake but needn't have bothered as there were a selection to choose from! Beds were really comfy too, with enough bathrooms and en-suites to go round. There was also a friendly horse and her foal in the paddock next to the driveway!

The pub area was much enjoyed - with a dart board, and a lovely wood stove to keep us warm when it got slightly colder in the evenings, opening out onto the patio. This was far enough away from some of the bedrooms that the little one wasn't disturbed by us later on in the evening. We were also provided with a starter bbq kit, including a bag of charcoal and firelighters, to use in the bbq, along with a lot of outdoor games.

You will need a car, but there is a Co-op and a Premier about 1.5 miles away which we walked to. The surrounding area is absolutely stunning, with no light pollution at night, giving us an incredible view of the stars and the Milky Way. A great place to use as a base for walking and exploring the surrounding area, and lovely to come back to after climbing nearby Mt. Snowdon.

I can't recommend this place enough - we'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Extra touches - games (indoor and out), bbq starter kit, fancy dress box etc.
Liked least: The fridge is a little small for a large group, but it is manageable.
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 29, 2015
What lovely comments Thank you so much and we would love to welcome you back It is a good house for a celebration isn't it! I am so pleased that we managed to support you in your preparations as sometimes it is difficult to fit things in At the end of day your enjoyment is of paramount importance to us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George120...
Carmarthenshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Needed TLC and de cluttering.”
Reviewed August 14, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Really good party house and plenty of room, in a lovely location,and with a lot of TLC and a make over this place could be fabulous.Despite staying in July the house was cold and we had to go out to buy logs and coal, which we felt these should have been supplied.Also although we did not use up the electric on the Meter, it was rather disconcerting that if it did run out we would have to go out and top it up.also the water wasn't hot enough to bath or shower and the bath in the main bathroom needed replacing.
The kitchen, bar and games room was extremely cluttered and needed a spring clean and re organising.also a bigger fridge needed for large groups.We did however have a good time and our hosts most ameniable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 19, 2015
Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your holiday In winter we do provide logs and coal but in summer we provide charcoal for the BBQ We provide £10 per day electricity which has proven to be more than adequate After all very few people use more than £3650 a year on electric The Victorian bath is due to be upgraded later this year and has been restored since your visit Most guests find the games useful rather than a clutter and many guests have spent pleasurable times into the early hours enjoying their tournaments There are two fridges but we are looking into installing another
We are really sorry that the property didn't live up to your expectations
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold S
Turvey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Roomy & comfortable”
Reviewed July 16, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

After completing the 3 peaks in 24 hours, this was the perfect place to rest and enjoy time with our families.
Very large house giving us room to rest and look after young children, whilst partying into the night in another part of the house.
Kitchen and dining facilities ample to cope with are party.
Great location to visit other parts of north west Wales.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 17, 2015
You had a very energetic weekend Aaron!!! Thank you for your lovely review The house is made for parties
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carol52jo...
Mold, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fabulous party house”
Reviewed July 9, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

we spent a long weekend at plas dorothea with family ranging in age from 2 to 65. we all had a wonderful time. house was very clean and the bar was a great assett. the only negative is, if like us you want to cook the whole weekend another fridge in the kitchen would be very useful. all the family said they would like to return next year

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the chance to spend some quality time with family
Liked least: the nettles in the garden
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2015
Thank you very much for your review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard00...
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great quirky party house in a remote interesting location”
Reviewed April 30, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

It was my 50th and I need to get our adult children, with partners, in one location to celebrate. After a lot of surfing, we found this great place, and a plus for me is that it is at the edge of a slate quarry.

As we were coming from different locations and could not guarantee our arrival time, the owner greeted the first party with a very warm welcome. We arrived later on, to the glow of log fire in the bar and another one in the living room. The owner greeted us and informed us all about the house, quarry and best places to eat and visit.

The bar room is great with, a fridge for all the beer and bubbly, music and disco lights and a dartboard which gave us hours of fun as the night rolled on into the early hours of the following day...

The quarry is on the door step, and is a great place to walk around to help recover from the night before...

On the Sunday the sun came out and we had fun in the garden playing with the games provided.

The house has everything we needed, loads of rooms, big kitchen with a double sized cooker.

We will be back...

p.s. watch out for the toy clown, as he kept on moving around the house and ended up in some funny place at night...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It is so BIG and great location
Liked least: going home
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 1, 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review I am so pleased you enjoyed it as you only turn 50 once lol We really look forward to you coming back
Thanks again and a belated happy 50th birthday
We've noticed people having fun with the clown lol!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kazzamc
liverpool
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Remote, scenic and the house is great for large parties of guests!”
Reviewed March 26, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Plas Dorothea is a great place for families or groups. It's a great location and has some great walks and fantastic views! The main attraction to the house for us was the bar! Felt like we were had our own pub! Log fires and original classic features make this house. Will definately be booking again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing