We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Birthday Celebration”
other travelers have booked this property

Have a relaxing drink after your journey in the bar
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone

Have a relaxing drink after your journey in the bar
Welcome to Plas Dorothea in the foothills of Snowden Your very own little pub with inglenook fireplace and logburner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
59 reviews
Have a relaxing drink after your journey in the bar
Welcome to Plas Dorothea in the foothills of Snowden
Your very own little pub with inglenook fireplace and logburner
Kitchen with 8 burner range cooker and all the facilities you will need
Kitchen with ample cupboard space and dry food store
Entrance hall
Bedroom 1 - Family bedroom double bed with double sofa bed and en-suite
Bedroom 1 - sofa bed in bay window overlooking Talysarn and Pen-y-bryn Estate
Bedroom 1 - En-suite with bath and shower over.
Bedroom 2 - Family room - Double and single bed
Bedroom 3 - Double bed overlooking Mt Snowdon
En-suite bedroom 5
Main bathroom with walk in shower and his and her wash hand basins
Main bathroom
Bedroom 6 - 3 single beds which zip up to create a double and single if required
Bedroom 6 with sofa in bay window
Lounge with NOW tv and open fire
The lounge  also has an additional dining area
Lounge dining area
Dining room and games room
Bedroom 5 - Double bed with on -suite bath and shower over
Bedroom 5
Bedroom 4 - Double bed with en-suite with shower cubicle
Rear garden ideal for just relaxing or for the more energetic ball games
Front paddock with ponies overlooking Nantlle Ridge and Mt. Snowdon
Hot tub on the patio hired locally by our guests
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Caernarfon, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Natasha25...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Birthday Celebration”
Reviewed February 19, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We booked this house for a surprise birthday weekend and it was everything we expected it to be. Delyth greeted us upon our arrival and took us on a tour of the house and showed us how to work everything. The log fires and electric blankets kept us warm throughout the night; this was brilliant as the evenings were very cold due to the time of year. We stayed here for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed every minute. I would definitely recommend this rental to others and I would love to return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave S
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful”
Reviewed February 6, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Warm welcome, including the fire. A brilliant place for our extended family, kids and outdoor fun. Cosy, homely and relaxed holiday, just the place for a real winter break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 7, 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and the children certainly seemed to enjoy their den making. More Bear Grilles in the making!,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isaacmcca...
1 review
“Excellent value for money!”
Reviewed December 7, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Excellent place, well worth the money. Set in a lovely location, perfect for large groups. The owners are very friendly and provided us with everything we needed. I would definitely recommend staying at Plas Dorothea. I am sure that we will stay here again in the future.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 9, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments Isaac It was lovely meeting you and look forward to seeing you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ros P
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely cosy conveniently located place to stay for autumn walks in the Mountains”
Reviewed November 9, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Plas Dorothea. The open fire and wood burner in the bar made everything feel very cosy and inviting after a wet windy day climbing. Easy driving distance to a range of walks as well as the lakes, beach and castle. Linda and Glynn were friendly hosts who were very helpful with information on the local area, popping into help with heating etc. The cooking and dining facilities were great for catering for our party of friends and family, with a co-op and takeaway food in the village on hand if needed. A very jolly time was had by all, including the teenagers and poppy the dog. We look forward to a return visit next autumn.

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 12, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments They are really appreciated and so very glad you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebekah P
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely”
Reviewed November 6, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had a lovely stay, it was very spacious and clean and comfortable. We were a large group and had plenty of space for everyone to gather to eat and socialise. The property itself was beautiful and the location was very picturesque. Having its own bar was a big bonus! The bedrooms were huge and there were plenty of bathrooms for a big group. We were in the area to climb Snowdon and although it was a 45 minute drive, it was well worth it to stay in such a lovely house and the scenery made up for the length of the drive. We would definitely recommend this property and will most likely return in the future as the price compared to the youth hostel was great.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 11, 2014
What a lovely review Ros. Thank you Your group were lovely guests and we look forward to seeing you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elle P
Shropshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely”
Reviewed September 16, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My friends and I had a wonderful short break at Plas Dorothea, we were there for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed our time. The house had a lovely homely feel to it and all 6 of the bedrooms were lovely. The bar especially was a wonderful addition to the house that you wouldn't normally find in a holiday home. The lakes were a short walk from the house and were beautiful to have a swim in with breath taking views.
We would all happily return to Plas Dorothea and would recommend it to anyone going as a large group like us or a family. Thanks to Glynn and Linda for a lovely holiday.

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 13, 2014
THANKS FOR YOUR REVIEW IT REALLY IS APPRECIATED
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizzymcn
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 15, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Perfect for large groups with lovely rooms. Absolutely lovely owners and great facilities! Fabulous location next to a beautiful lake and a small drive to the beach and shops. Excellent holiday overall and great value!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 13, 2014
THANKS FOR YOUR REVIEW IT REALLY IS APPRECIATED
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing