We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Caer Menai Guest House / Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 21 Caernarfon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed August 21, 2010

Very clean, excellent breakfast and great hosts. Very good value

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doglady08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    39
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
46
150
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2010

Great location, very friendly welcome from the owners. Our room was very clean, in fact I would say it was the cleanest B&B we have stayed at. Very nice breakfast in the morning as well. Parking a bit limited on the front, but we got parked ok. All in all I would reccommend to anyone wanting to stop in Caernarfon, the B&B is about a 2 minute walk to the castle.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdK43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2010

We enjoyed our stay very much. The owners are very accommodating; the room was very clean and comfortable; the breakfast couldn't be better. It takes about 5 minutes to walk to the castle entrance. Parking is not easy but it is worth the effort to stay at Cai Menai. It is very good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladypilotYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2010

Lovely stay at the Caer Menai. We were awful guests having just completed the 3 Peaks Challenge so tired, dirty- and presumably worst- late! Despite this, the owners waited up until 11pm for us to finally arrive. Whilst the room was small (we had the smallest room in the place), it was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. Best of all, having learnt that we had just got engaged, the owners surprised us with a champagne present on our return from a walk round town- a very classy touch. If you are staying in Caernarfon- highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Standard, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2010

What a lovely place to stay! and the setting is just magical - only a few streets down from Caernarfon Castle, right within the walled town. Looking out my window to the back garden made me feel like a princess every morning!
Breakfast was lovely and more than one needed, really!
Service and the state of the room was excellent. My tour guide, Irene Laird, booked this B & B for me as part of my tour of Wales and she chose well!
The owners were very attentive and their dog was a sweetie!
I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2010

I can't speak highly enough of this place. Our hosts were the nicest people, and looked after us very well, starting with coffee and cookies on arrival. We stayed in 2 rooms during our week long stay - the owner offered to move us after 2 days from a room on the top floor with a view of the street, to another on the top floor with a view of the water. Both rooms were lovely - spotlessly clean, comfortable beds and very nicely appointed and decorated. The rooms were co-ordinated in terms of color and bed linen and bathroom and towels. Caer Menai oozes charm and comfort, with potted plants and fresh flowers everywhere. The breakfasts were excellent; the free internet access a great touch. Mark, the owner, is very nice and helpful and knows all the best places to go and eat. We would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMatilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
155 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

We stayed at Caer Menai for 2 nights over the Easter weekend. We had room number 7 - with sea view. The room was nicely decorated and very clean - the bed was really comfortable. On arrival, we were welcomed by a very hospitable Mark who offered us a tea with freshly home-made biscuits. Lovely breakfast (served by Mark and his son) and very well-cooked!
Nice details throughout: biscuits & bottles of mineral water in the bedroom, loads of travel guides in the lounge, free wi-fi etc...and all the guests received a chocolate egg on Easter Day! And all of this for £60/night...amazing value for money.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crumpet2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caernarfon hotels
0.1 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
990 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Menai Bank Hotel
Menai Bank Hotel
#7 of 8 in Caernarfon
192 reviews
4.8 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
415 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ty Dre Town House
Ty Dre Town House
#5 of 21 in Caernarfon
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caer Menai Guest House / Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caer Menai Guest House / Bed and Breakfast

Property: Caer Menai Guest House / Bed and Breakfast
Address: 15 Church Street, Caernarfon LL55 1SW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Caer Menai Guest House / Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caer Menai guest house is situated in a quiet cobbled street within the old town walls of Caernarfon, just a few minutes walk from the castle, promenade, shops, restaurants and bars. We have seven letting rooms, a mixture of double, twin and family rooms - all en-suite. All the rooms have a (silent) fridge, complementary drinks tray, bottled water and fresh milk. Large fluffy towels, dressing gowns, slippers and toiletries can also be found in every room. A full cooked breakfast is available to all including fish dishes, porridge and lighter options along with a full buffet of fresh fruit, cereals, pastries and breads. Whilst we do not have a private car park, free parking is available on street as well as 2 free car parks just a few minutes walk away - luggage can be dropped off at the house first. We can assure everyone of a genuinely warm welcome to our home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Caer Menai Guest House / Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caer Menai Guest House / Bed And Breakfast Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing