We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tegfan Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 21 Caernarfon B&B and Inns
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect value for money”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here, I don't normally write reviews, but the fact that I am shows how happy I was with this B&B. I had booked a single room, but got a free upgrade to a double as the previous occupier had made a horrific mess in the room that I was meant to stay in. The room was always kept clean, as was the rest of the house. A sink, kettle, teabags, coffee, sugar, and milk are provided in the room, bed was comfy, and the TV has full freeview with a dvd player. Breakfast was great for the included price. Full fry up, a range of cereals, tea and coffee, juice, fruit, and yogurt.
The location is perfect, very close to anything you would want in Caenarfon. I stayed here to be close to Bangor, but in the end I prefered Caenarfon! Other reviews say that Phill is rude, I did not see that side of him. Yes he is unique, but I found him lovely, and his banter funny.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freepaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    27
    14
    11
    9
See reviews for
25
28
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Egypt
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Very Very friendly hospitality by Mr. Phil.
Cleanness is outstanding in the room, bathrooms and breakfast area.
Perfect complete breakfast with varieties in cereals and fruits!
Great location, inside the city ancient walls and very adjacent to the castle.
Very quiet place.
Nice TV Channels in the room.
Boiler, Tea, Coffee, Still Water in the room for free.
A lot of restaurants and bars in the shopping area 0 minutes walking.

Room Tip: The double room No.1 is good as it is the nearest to the shared bathrooms and the nearest to the sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Feras A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed in the apartment at the back, the size was good for our family of four though set up somewhat piecemeal and they included all of the "stuff" you need in a rental when you are travelling. We had somewhere to park, not always easy to find, and the location was great, walk to everything. Complaints really are only two: cleanliness could be better, eg. duvet and utensil drawers weren't clean and the door to the owners quarters had paper over the glass with small breaks such that you weren't sure someone wasn't looking through! Our experiences with the chap I assume to be the owner were just wierd but the ladies at checkout were excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The owner was lovely if not unusual. We stayed for the 3 nights in the self contained unit at the back of the house. It was on 2 levels with a kitchen (although no stove but you have a 2 burner camping unit), loungeroom and bathroom downstairs and the bedroom upstairs. The bathroom wasn't cleaned properly (the toilet needed to wipe down and hairs in the shower and not from your head), which didn't make us feel comfortable and we didn't cook there which is what we intended to do. Advantages is it is in walking distance from Caermarfen Castle (about 5 mins). There were room upstairs which was the B & B area don't know what those rooms were like. We were able to park out the back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Caernarfon hotels

Barry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Well what can one say about this place. Don't book it if you have no sence of humor.This place is a basic no frills B and B a bit run down. It is clean comfortable in the centre of town and a good rate.breakfast is good well cooked with a selection of cereals but inform the staff the night before if you want to change something as they tend to cook the same each day.Parking is hit and miss in street. I was lucky and parked free on quayside just after the arch where you turn into Church st. five min walk. And now to Phil who runs the place some people regard him rude and not very polite he tends to swear a lot. He is a rough diamond but will do everything to help you and can be quite funny. He seems to do everything to run the house but could do with some help as it seems to much for him. I can understand why some people call him Basil Fawlty. I say take a chance and stay here it can be fun. Watch out for Phil blowing bubbles out of bedroom window and his big lazy cat who lords it over the front step and will not move out of the way

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidmuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2012

we stayed at tegfan for 4 nights,booked a suprior room when we got there we were in a room at the top of the house which was far from suprior,when i booked it said we got the last room and did it show,the bath room was small and my husband is 6ft 3in tall and sitting on the loo with the sink on your knee is not good.breakfast was very good but over all i feel cheated.

Room Tip: make sure you get what you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marge319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We booked the flat and a double room for our one night stay in August - I would never stay here again. A dirty, tired and untidy house - the only good thing about this B & B is the location. I cannot believe some of the reviews I have read & I wonder whether they stayed in the same B & B. We were met by a scruffy and unkept 'owner' - Phil who complained that he knew nothing of both our reservations and that of the of the couple from Sweden who arrived at the same time - some call him 'Basil Fawlty esque' but i found him just rude and obnoxious. The flat/apartment is full of old and smelly furniture and the bed was like sleeping in a crisp packet. The double room was not tidied after the previous guest and the dishes were still in the sink !! We went for breakfast in the morning and admittedly we had made an error in the reservation but did not expect the swearing rant in front of children - not professional and the way to run a business - we went for breakfast elsewhere and checked out as soon as we could.

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.1 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
419 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
0.1 mi away
Ty Dre Town House
Ty Dre Town House
#5 of 21 in Caernarfon
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tegfan Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tegfan Bed and Breakfast

Property: Tegfan Bed and Breakfast
Address: 4 Church Street, Caernarfon LL55 1SW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Tegfan Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tegfan Bed And Breakfast Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing